, Caulfield Classic - Caulfield Racecourse - Norman Robinson Stakes
horse racing info

Caulfield Classic

The Caulfield Classic is a Group 3 race for three-year-olds that is held annually each October at Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne during the spring racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 2000 metres and worth $200,000 in prize money. The 2019 Caulfield Classic was won by Thought Of That from Warning with Brilliant Venture third.

Previously known as the Norman Robinson Stakes, a prize money boost for the 2014/2015 racing season and a renaming to the 'Caulfield Classic' makes this event a more viable option for any three-year-olds who contested either the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas or the Group 1 Thousand Guineas the previous week at the same track.

Any three-year-old who wins either the Caulfield Guineas or Thousand Guineas and manages to win the Caulfield Classic the following week will receive a $500,000 bonus.

The Caulfield Classic is one of a number of feature races held on the final day of the Melbourne Racing Club's three-day racing carnival on the same day as the Melbourne Racing Club's premier race, the Gr 1 Caulfield Cup.

Learn more about the Caulfield Cup Carnival including feature races days for the MRC's biggest week of the racing year!

Caulfield Classic info

Date: Saturday 16th October 2021
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: 3yo Open - Set Weights
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $200,000
2019 Winner: Thought Of That

The Caulfield Classic is the first of the middle distance staying events for three-year-old gallopers during the Melbourne spring carnival and is run two weeks before the Group 1 AAMI Victoria Derby at Flemington. Polanski (2013) was the last three-year-old to claim the Victoria Derby after winning this event.

Trainers can use the Caulfield Classic as a test or lead-up race to the longer staying races ahead for any three-year-olds showing staying potential. Raced under set weight conditions, the better horses have an advantage under the weighted scale. History suggests the race itself tends to be won by a handy 3yo rather than a topliner.

Generally speaking, any three-year-olds who previously contested races such as the Gr2 Stutt Stakes at Moonee Valley or the Gr2 Edward Manifold Stakes at Flemington are suited to this event. Three-year-old classic races, the Caulfield Guineas & Thousand Guineas, held the previous Saturday at the same track, may also provide a stepping stone to this race.

The Melbourne Racing Club announced in March 2015 that the following feature races pertain to a bonus also incorporating the Caulfield Classic.

Any three-year-olds who handle the 2000m distance of this race will generally go on and tackle the Victoria Derby at Flemington in a fortnight.

Thought Of That (2019) captured a Maiden race over 1620m at Donald before scoring a classy victory in this event for the Ciaron Maher & David Eustace yard.

Recent Caulfield Classic winners include Thinkin' Big (2018) and Cliff's Edge (2017).

Spring Carnival Guide

Winners and placegetters in this race could possibly head towards the Geelong Classic on Geelong Cup day, the AAMI Vase on Cox Plate day at Moonee Valley, or the AAMI Victoria Derby at Flemington, which are all distance events for three-year-old gallopers.

Extra Brut (6th in 2018) took out the Victoria Derby at his next start, while Chapada (2nd in 2018) and Sikorsky (3rd in 2018) ran third and fourth respectively in that race.

Polanksi (2013) won the AAMI Victoria Derby after winning this race, as did Sangster (2nd in 2011), with Sabrage (2011) finishing third behind him. Prior to that, Retrieve (2010), Pre Eminence (2008) and Headturner (2nd in 2005) all finished third in the Victoria Derby.

It's worth noting that Honorious (2nd in 2012) and Electric Fusion (3rd in 2012) ran unplaced in the AAMI Victoria Derby at Flemington but both managed to place behind Hawkspur in in the Group 1 Queensland Derby at Eagle Farm in Brisbane during the Brisbane winter racing carnival.

2019 Caulfield Classic result

1. $4.20 Thought Of That 57.0 Ms Linda Meech
2. $4.20 Warning 57.0 Martin Harley
3. $31.00 Brilliant Venture 57.0 Jamie Mott

then followed
4. $3.70 Miami Bound 55.0 Damien Oliver
5. $12.00 Huntly Castle 57.0 Jye McNeil
6. $9.00 Creator 57.0 Damian Lane
7. $15.00 Power Scheme 57.0 Brett Prebble
8. $21.00 Miroku 57.0 John Allen
9. $12.00 Serengeti 57.0 Rhys McLeod

Margins: 3.75 len, 2 len
Time: 2:02.88

Bet now on the Caulfield Classic

We recommended Unibet for the best Caulfield Classic odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Caulfield Classic winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Thought Of That Warning Brilliant Venture 2:02.8
2018 Thinkin' Big Chapada Sikorsky 2:06.7
2017 Cliff's Edge Tangled Main Stage 2:02.4
2016 Good Standing Rocketeer Inference 2:04.3
2015 Sacred Eye Lizard Island Etymology 2:03.2
2014 Fontein Ruby Crafty Firehouse Rock 2:03.8
2013 Polanski San Diego Epic Saga 2:02.0
2012 Hvasstan Honorius Electric Fusion 2:03.8
2011 Sabrage Sangster Niagara 2:03.0
2010 Retrieve Almindoro Digital Fortress 2:08.3
2009 Shamoline Warrior Onemorenomore Gathering 2:03.9
2008 Pre Eminence Miss Scarlatti Paddy O'Reilly 2.04.3
2007 Pillar Of Hercules Down Under Boy Villian 2:04.5
2006 Get Square Ulfah Sir Lago 2:03.6
2005 Pendragon Headturner Replicator 2:03.5
2004 Cedar Manor Court Ricardo King Durham 2:04.5
2003 Casual Pass Our Court Face Value 2:04.5
2002 Platinum Scissors Hydrometer Aint Here 2:02.3
2001 Amalfi Grey Song Tully Zeal 2:05.3
2000 Royale Exit Hit The Roof Adolescence 2:01.2
1999 Blackfriars Chief Scout Freemason 2:04.5
1998 Lawyer Sky Heights Arena 2:04.3
1997 Brave Prince Danasuria Tie The Knot 2:03.5
1996 Mustang Ranch Tambour Ebony Grosve 2:04.4
1995 Nothin Leica Dane Catalan Opening Arctic Scent 2:05.2
1994 Punctual Destined Celtic Explosion 2:04.2
1993 Battle Hawk Waikikamukau McGuane 2:02.6
1992 River Hero Skilero Queens Choice 2:07.7
1991 Lady Purpose Star Of The Realm Barrakee 2:00.1
1990 Big Dermott Callao Star Fire Oak 2:03.6
1989 Counterfeit Ice Solid Lemarque 2:01.6
1988 Panneria Yarra Bay Oakwood 2:00.0