horse racing info

Caulfield Cup

The Caulfield Cup is a Group 1 open handicap race that takes place in October each year at Caulfield racecourse in Melbourne, Victoria. The race is run over a distance of 2400 metres and worth $5,000,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Caulfield Cup was won by Best Solution from Homesman with The Cliffsofmoher third.

The Caulfield Cup is become one of the world's richest handicap races over a distance of 2400 metres and is Australia's second biggest Cup race after the Melbourne Cup. The race itself is the premier race of the three day Caulfield racing carnival, with the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas and Group 1 Thousand Guineas taking place on the preceding Saturday.

The Caulfield racing carnival in October, especially the Caulfield Cup, signals the beginning of big time racing in Melbourne, as spring racing only gets bigger and better with the running of the Gr1 WS Cox Plate one week later and the AAMI Victoria Derby the following week.

Caulfield Cup info

Date: Saturday 19th October 2019
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2400 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $5,000,000
2018 Winner: Best Solution
2018 Crowd: 22,000
bet now 2019 Caulfield Cup odds
bet now 2019 Caulfield Cup betting

The Caulfield Cup also combines with the Melbourne Cup to form the major Cup's double of the Melbourne spring racing carnival in Victoria. Bookmakers provide doubles betting markets well in advance of the Caulfield Cup and punters outlay huge amounts of money trying to find the winner of both races, hoping to land a big multiple double result.

The Caulfield Cup has been won by some of our very best thoroughbreds including the brilliant Might and Power who streeted the field to win as he liked in 1997, and the great Western Australian galloper Northerly who carried 58 kilograms to win in 2002.

Best Solutions (2018) won the Gr1 Preis Von Baden over 2400m at Baden-Baden in Germany before heading to Australia to outgun his rivals in this event for Newmarket trainer Saeed Bin Suroor.

Recent Caulfield Cup winners include Boom Time (2017) and Jameka (2016).

ladbrokes odds

Enjoy top odds on a variety of horse racing betting markets.

Spring Carnival Guide

The Caulfield Cup is an important lead up race to the Melbourne Cup and often those horses who win or run well over the 2400 metres of the Caulfield race will feature prominently when they contest the great race on the first Tuesday in November.

In recent times four horses have won the big Cup's double including Let's Elope (1991), Doriemus (1995), Might and Power (1997) and Ethereal (2001). It pays to keep a keen eye on those horses contesting the Caulfield Cup as there may be a potential Melbourne Cup winner running around.

Chris Waller mare Dear Demi (3rd in 2013) and ran third in the Gr1 Mackinnon Stakes at Flemington on Derby Day following her third placing in the Caulfield Cup.

Alcopop (2nd in 2012) managed to win the Mackinnon Stakes at his next start and Jakkalberry (13th in 2012) flashed home to run third in the Melbourne Cup at Flemington.

Caulfield Cup runner-up Green Moon (2nd in 2011) won the Melbourne Cup the following year, while while Viewed (2009) won this race after taking out the Melbourne Cup the previous spring.

2018 Caulfield Cup result

1. $12.00 Best Solution 57.5 Pat Cosgrave
2. $9.50 Homesman 53.0 Ben Melham
3. $6.50 The Cliffsofmoher 56.5 Hugh Bowman

then followed
4. $26.00 Duretto 54.5 Dwayne Dunn
5. $16.00 The Taj Mahal 55.0 James McDonald
6. $5.50 Kings Will Dream 53.0 Craig Williams
7. $7.50 Youngstar 51.5 Kerrin McEvoy
8. $18.00 Gallic Chieftain 52.5 Dean Yendall
9. $101.00 Vengeur Masque 54.0 Patrick Moloney
10. $31.00 Ventura Storm 54.0 Regan Bayliss
11. $16.00 Red Verdon 54.0 Zac Purton
12. $51.00 Sound 55.5 Jordan Childs
13. $26.00 Chestnut Coat 55.5 Yuga Kawada
14. $101.00 Sole Impact 53.0 Ryusei Sakai
15. $19.00 Ace High 55.0 Damien Oliver
16. $18.00 Night's Watch 52.0 Ben Allen
17. $101.00 Mighty Boss 53.5 Tim Clark
18. $31.00 Jon Snow 55.5 Damian Lane

Margins: 0.1 len, 1.75 len
Time: 2:33.72

Bet now on the Caulfield Cup

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Caulfield Cup odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Caulfield Cup winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Best Solution Homesman The Cliffsofmoher 2:33.7
2017 Boom Time Single Gaze Johannes Vermeer 2:27.6
2016 Jameka Scottish Exospheric 2:28.8
2015 Mongolian Khan Trip To Paris Our Ivanhowe 2:27.7
2014 Admire Rakti Rising Romance Lucia Valentina 2:32:1
2013 Fawkner Dandino Dear Demi 2:29.1
2012 Dunaden Alcopop Lights Of Heaven 2:28.8
2011 Southern Speed Green Moon Tullamore 2:28.4
2010 Descarado Harris Tweed Monaco Consul 2:35.6
2009 Viewed Roman Emperor Vigor 2:29.7
2008 All The Good Nom Du Jeu Barbaricus 2:27.4
2007 Master O'reilly (nz) Douro Valley Princess Coup 2.26.1
2006 Tawqeet (usa) Aqua Damore Delta Blues 2.27.6
2005 Railings Eye Popper Mummify 2.27.9
2004 Elvstroem Makybe Diva Grey Song 2.31.3
2003 Mummify Grey Song Distinctly Secret 2.25.9
2002 Northerly Fields Of Omagh Republic Lass 2.30.3
2001 Ethereal (nz) Sky Heights Celestial Show 2.30.9
2000 Diatribe Kaapstad Way Fairway 2.25.3
1999 Sky Heights (nz) Laebeel Inaflury 2.30.1
1998 Taufans Melody Lisas Game Tie The Knot 2.30.1
1997 Might & Power (nz) Doriemus Catalan Opening 2.26.2
1996 Arctic Scent Circles Of Gold Iron Horse 2.30.3
1995 Doriemus (nz) Count Chivas Beaux Art 2.28.1
1994 Paris Lane Alcove Tenor 2.26.5
1993 Fraar (ire) Air Seattle The Phantom 2.28.0
1992 Mannerism Veandercross Aquidity 2.34.9
1991 Lets Elope (nz) Ivory Way Royal Creation 2.30.3
1990 Sydeston Water Boatman Shuzohra 2.31.6
1989 Cole Diesel Nayrizi The Phantom 2.27.2
1988 Imposera (nz) Congressman Authaal 2.29.4
1987 Lord Reims (nz) Beau Zam Cossack Warrior 2.36.0
1986 Mr Lomondy (nz) At Talaq Our Sophia 2.30.1
1985 Tristarc (nz) Our Sophia Lacka Reason 2.30.9
1984 Affinity (nz) Bounty Hawk Al Dwain 2.29.7
1983 Hayai (nz) Cossack Prince La Cocotte 2.38.8
1982 Gurners Lane (nz) Gala Mascot Veloso 2.32.5
1981 Silver Bounty (nz) No Peer Deck The Halls 2.27.1
1980 Ming Dynasty Hyperno Kingston Town 2.28.7
1979 Mighty Kingdom Warri Symbol Sonstone 2.29.9
1978 Taksan (nz) Arwon Fathers Day 2.27.5
1977 Ming Dynasty Unaware Salamander 2.28.5
1976 How Now Battle Heights Van Der Hum 2.36.7
1975 Analight (nz) Leica Lover Suleiman 2.30.0