horse racing info

WS Cox Plate Preview

The WS Cox Plate is a Group 1 weight-for-age race held each year at Moonee Valley racecourse during the Melbourne spring racing carnival in October. The race is run over a distance of 2040m and worth over $5,000,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 WS Cox Plate was won by Winx from Benbatl with Humidor third.

The WS Cox Plate is the premier weight-for-age event on the Australian racing calendar and it's widely considered to be the weight-for-age championship of Australasia. It's a race for only the very best horses and is typically won by a quality thoroughbred.

All owners, jockeys and trainers strive to win this race in an attempt to become a part of history for winning the 'race where legends are made'.

Champion mare Winx became only the second galloper to win this race three times when she captured the 2017 Cox Plate, equalling the feats of legendary triple Cox Plate winner Kingston Town (1980-1982).

WS Cox Plate info

Date: Saturday 26th October 2019
Track: Moonee Valley racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2040 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $5,000,000
2018 Winner: Winx
bet now 2019 Cox Plate odds
bet now 2019 Cox Plate betting

The WS Cox Plate was first run in 1922 and the first winner was an imported stallion named Violencello. From humble beginnings where the race was worth only 1,000 pounds it has steadily climbed with the importance of the race to now be worth over $5,000,000 and has built a reputation as one of the great races held on Australian turf.

The WS Cox Plate is known as 'the race where legends are made' and has served up plenty of wonderful memories. Who can forget the roar of the crowd and the classic Bill Collin's quote "Dulcify's going to win by a minute", when the mighty Dulcify shot clear in the straight in 1979 to win by seven lengths and become an immortal of the turf.

That memorable day in 1986 when Bonecrusher and Our Waverly Star went toe to toe well before the home turn to stage one of the most exciting clashes ever witnessed in Australian racing where the legendary Bill Collins again added to the excitement when he uttered the words "and Bonecrusher races into equine immortality" as Bonecrusher went to the line ahead of his New Zealand counterpart.

The WS Cox Plate is full of great moments in racing including the brilliant Sunline, and her seven length win in 2000, along with champion Kingston Town winning three Cox Plates in a row in the early eighties. WInx became the first horse to win the Cox Plate four years in a row when she captured the 2018 Cox Plate.

The Melbourne Cup is the race for the people, while the WS Cox Plate is the race for purists.

Winx (2015-2018) won the Gr1 Turnbull Stakes over 2000m at Flemington before winning this event for the fourth year in a row. Recent WS Cox Plate winners include Adelaide (2014) and Shamus Award (2013).

ladbrokes odds

Enjoy top odds on a variety of horse racing betting markets.

2018 WS Cox Plate result

1. $1.24 Winx 57.0 Hugh Bowman
2. $10.00 Benbatl 59.0 Oisin Murphy
3. $21.00 Humidor 59.0 Damian Lane

then followed
4. $31.00 Avilius 59.0 Glyn Schofield
5. $31.00 Rostropovich 56.0 Ryan Moore
6. $26.00 D'argento 57.5 Kerrin McEvoy
7. $61.00 Savvy Coup 55.5 Chris Johnson
FF $31.00 Kings Will Dream 59.0 John Allen

Margins: 2 len, 2.75 len
Time: 2:03.47

Bet now on the WS Cox Plate

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best WS Cox Plate odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

WS Cox Plate winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Winx Benbatl Humidor 2:03.4
2017 Winx Humidor Folkswood 2:02.9
2016 Winx Hartnell Yankee Rose 2:06.3
2015 Winx Criterion Highland Reel 2:02.9
2014 Adelaide Fawkner Silent Achiever 2:03.7
2013 Shamus Award Happy Trails Fiorente 2:05.2
2012 Ocean Park All Too Hard Pierro 2:04.1
2011 Pinker Pinker Jimmy Choux Rekindled Interest 2:05.3
2010 So You Think Zipping Whobegotyou 2:07.4
2009 So You Think Manhattan Rain Zipping 2:03.9
2008 Maldivian Zipping Samantha Miss 2:06.9
2007 El Segundo Wonderful World Haradasun 2:06.3
2006 Fields Of Omagh El Segundo Pompeii Ruler 2:06.9
2005 Makybe Diva Lotteria Fields Of Omagh 2:09.3
2004 Savabeel Fields Of Omagh Starcraft 2:06.9
2003 Fields Of Omagh Defier Lonhro 2:07.6
2002 Northerly Defier Grandera 2:06.3
2001 Northerly Sunline Viscount 2:05.8
2000 Sunline Diatribe Referral 2:07.7
1999 Sunline Tie The Knot Sky Heights 2:05.4
1998 Might And Power Northern Drake Tycoon Lil 2:03.5
1997 Dane Ripper Filante Vialli 2:07.7
1996 Saintly Filante All Our Mob 2:05.7
1995 Octagonal Mahogany Station Hand 2:06.3
1994 Solvit Rough Habit Redding 2:02.6
1993 The Phantom Chance Solvit Golden Sword 2:02.8
1992 Super Impose Kinjite Slight Chance 2:05.5
1991 Surfers Paradise Super Impose Sydeston 2:03.8
1990 Better Loosen Up Sydeston Canny Lad 2:01.5
1989 Almaarad Stylish Century Empire Rose 2:03.2
1988 Our Poetic Prince Horlicks Bonecrusher 2:06.9
1987 Rubiton Our Poetic Prince Fair Sir 2:02.9
1986 Bonecrusher Our Waverley Star The Filbert 2:07.2
1985 Rising Prince Roman Artist Drawn 2:05.3
1984 Red Anchor Street Cafe King Delamere 2:03.7
1983 Strawberry Road Kiwi Slave Mr. Mcginty 2:09.1
1982 Kingston Town Grosvenor My Axeman 2:05.5
1981 Kingston Town Lawman Binbinga 2:06.7
1980 Kingston Town Prince Ruling Our Paddy Boy 2:07.3
1979 Dulcify Shivaree Lawman 2:04.9
1978 So Called Family Of Man Karaman 2:08.7
1977 Family Of Man Raffindale Vice Regal 2:05.3
1976 Surround Unaware Better Draw 2:04.3
1975 Fury?s Order Kiwi Can Analight 2:20.4
1974 Battle Heights Taras Bulba Bellota 2:09.9
1973 Taj Rossi Swell Time Zambari 2:08.3
1972 Gunsynd All Shot Magnifique 2:01.9
1971 Tauto Igloo Beau Sovereign 2:03.9
1970 Abdul Tails Rough N Tumble 2:05.5