horse racing info

AAMI Victoria Derby

The AAMI Victoria Derby is a Group 1 classic race for three-year-old gallopers that takes place at Flemington racecourse each year during the Melbourne spring racing carnival in late October or early November. The race is run over a distance of 2500 metres under set weight conditions and worth $2,000,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 AAMI Victoria Derby was won by Extra Brut from Stars Of Carrum with Chapada third.

AAMI Victoria Derby day is held on the first day of the four-day Melbourne Cup Carnival at Flemington, three days before Melbourne Cup day the following Tuesday.

Derby day is one of the elite days of horse racing in Australia each year with every race a group event and features three more Group 1 races alongside the Derby. These are the Cantala Stakes, Coolmore Stud Stakes and Empire Rose Stakes, with around $5,000,000 total prizemoney on offer for the day.

AAMI Victoria Derby info

Date: Saturday 2nd November 2019
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2500 metres
Race Type: 3yo - Set Weights
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $2,000,000
2018 Winner: Extra Brut
2018 Crowd: 91,194
victoria derby 2019 Victoria Derby odds

The AAMI Victoria Derby is one of the great classic races on the racing calendar each year and the premier staying event for three-year-olds during the Melbourne Cup carnival at Flemington. Colts & geldings have had a mortage on the race over the years with Frances Tressady the last female to win the race way back in 1923. The Gr1 VRC Oaks is the fillies equivalent of this race and takes place on the Thursday following the Derby.

Derby day is a huge event on the social calendar with Flemington racecourse the place to be on the first day of the Flemington four-day spring carnival and Derby day crowds have topped 115,000 people for the last four years. A record crowd of 129,089 racing fans attended in 2006 which makes Derby Day the most popular day crowd wise in recent times for the Flemington carnival.

The traditional lead up race to the Derby is the Gr2 AAMI Vase which is run over 2040 metres at Moonee Valley the previous Saturday on Gr1 WS Cox Plate day and Efficient (2006) was the last 3yo to win the AAMI Vase & AAMI Victoria Derby double.

The AAMI Vase has proven the best guide to the Victoria Derby in recent times as a high number of winners have come via the Moonee Valley middle distance race, with Tarzino (2015) the most recent. Efficient (2006), Plastered (2004), Helenus (2002), Blevic (1994) and Raveneaux (1986) all won the AAMI Vase on their way to taking out the AAMI Victoria Derby.

Extra Brut (2018) ran sixth in the Gr3 Caulfield Classic over 2000m at Caulfield before proving the superior stayer on the day for leading trainer Darren Weir.

Recent Victoria Derby winners include Ace High (2017) and Prized Icon (2016).

ladbrokes odds

Enjoy top odds on a variety of horse racing betting markets.

Spring Carnival Guide

The VRC AAMI Victoria Derby is one of the oldest classic events in Australia being first run in 1855 and many Derby winners and placegetters have gone on to become quality horses who have gone on to win a number of big races of the Australian turf.

Fiveandahalfstar (2012) went on to have further success the next autumn, finishing runner-up in the Gr1 Australian Cup at Flemington and Gr1 Ranvet Stakes at Rosehill before winning the Gr1 The BMW at Rosehill.

Lion Tamer (2010) returned the following spring to win the Gr1 Underwood Stakes at Caulfield, while Rekindled Interest (5th in 2010) also returned the following spring to win the won the Gr2 Feehan Stakes at Moonee Valley before finishing third in the WS Cox Plate at the same track.

Monaco Consul (2009) ran third in the 2010 Caulfield Cup the following spring at Caulfield while Whobegotyou (2nd in 2008) has won a number of group races, including the Feehan Stakes for the past two years, since finishing runner-up in the Derby

Efficient (2006) went on to win the 2007 Melbourne Cup in brilliant style and in doing so became the first horse since the mighty Phar Lap (1930) to win the Melbourne Cup the year after winning the Derby.

In earlier times, Elvstroem (2003) came back the following spring as a 4yo to take out the 2004 Caulfield Cup in great fashion, while the brilliant Dulcify (1978) and Red Anchor (1984) both went on to win the WS Cox Plate after winning the Derby. Nothin' Leica Dane (1995) backed up the following Tuesday to run second in the Melbourne Cup.

2018 AAMI Victoria Derby result

1. $10.00 Extra Brut 55.5 John Allen
2. $18.00 Stars Of Carrum 55.5 Ben Melham
3. $16.00 Chapada 55.5 James McDonald

then followed
4. $31.00 Sikorsky 55.5 Luke Nolen
5. $18.00 Home Ground 55.5 Hugh Bowman
6. $6.00 Aramayo 55.5 Tye Angland
7. $21.00 Savvy Oak 55.5 Mark Zahra
8. $61.00 Visao 55.5 Damian Lane
9. $10.00 Farooq 55.5 Kerrin McEvoy
10. $17.00 Mickey Blue Eyes 55.5 Regan Bayliss
11. $71.00 Grinzinger Star 55.5 Damien Oliver
12. $2.90 Thinkin' Big 55.5 Tim Clark
13. $12.00 Savoie 55.5 Dean Yendall
14. $201.00 Tolemac 55.5 Michael Dee
15. $101.00 Seberate 55.5 Cory Parish
16. $101.00 Louie The Legend 55.5 Dwayne Dunn

Margins: 1 len, 2 len
Time: 2:34.31

Bet now on the Victoria Derby

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Victoria Derby odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Victoria Derby winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Extra Brut Stars Of Carrum Chapada 2:34.3
2017 Ace High Sully Astoria 2:37.5
2016 Prized Icon Sacred Elixir Inference 2:36.1
2015 Tarzino Etymology Kia Ora Koutou 2:38.3
2014 Preferment Bondeiger Nozomi 2:37.8
2013 Polanski Complacent Thunder Fantasy 2:38.6
2012 Fiveandahalfstar Super Cool Rawnaq 2:35.9
2011 Sangster Induna Sabrage 2:40.3
2010 Lion Tamer Praecido Retrieve 2:46.4
2009 Monaco Consul Extra Zero Viking Legend 2:41.6
2008 Rebel Raider Whobegotyou Pre Eminence 2:36.9
2007 Kibbutz Littorio Marching 2:40.9
2006 Efficient Gorky Park Teranaba 2:38.3
2005 Benicio Duelled Headturner 2:37.0
2004 Plastered Savabeel Count Ricardo 2:35.4
2003 Elvstroem Kempinsky Our Bahare 2:38.9
2002 Helenus Hydrometer Aint There 2:40.5
2001 Amalfi Zarek Pentastic 2:34.6
2000 Hit The Roof Universal Prince Falls The Shadow 2:39.0
1999 Blackfriars Shogun Lodge Diatribe 2:36.3
1998 Arena Sky Heights Lawyer 2:35.1
1997 Second Coming Tie The Knot Kalastaire 2:36.3
1996 Portland Player Alfa Ebony Grosve 2:35.2
1995 Nothin Leica Dane Octagonal Donar 2:36.5
1994 Blevic Danewin Stony Bay 2:35.7
1993 Mahogany Shelved Waikikamukau 2:34.9
1992 Redding Muirfield Village Raising Kentucky 2:40.0
1991 Star Of The Realm Naturalism Ready To Explode 2:33.6
1990 Fire Oak Centro Lord Revenir 2:35.8
1989 Stylish Century Zamoff Dr. Grace 2:34.2
1988 Kings High Sir Midas Big Grey Roo 2:36.1
1987 Omnicorp All Ashore Ascot Lane 2:38.9
1986 Raveneaux Drought Imprimataur 2:36.6
1985 Handy Proverb Acumen Born To Be Queen 2:36.4
1984 Red Anchor National Gallery Clovelly Bay 2:35.9
1983 Bounty Hawk Cobbobonee Albany Bay 2:38.5
1982 Grosvenor Cossack Prince Veloso 2:35.9
1981 Brewery Boy Birchwood Binbinga 2:36.2
1980 Sovereign Red Real Force Our Paddy Boy 2:38.4
1979 Big Print Kingston Town Runaway Kid 2:35.0
1978 Dulcify Karaman Turf Ruler 2:37.5
1977 Stormy Rex Jury Lefroy 2:35.5
1976 Unaware Salamander Family Of Man 2:36.1
1975 Galena Boy Romantic Archer Gold And Black 2:44.4
1974 Haymaker Pyramul Fortunate 2:44.4
1973 Taj Rossi Leica Lover Craig Win 2:39.4
1972 Dayana Sobar Longfella 2:29.9
1971 Classic Mission Column Altai Khan 2:32.5
1970 Silver Sharpe Gay Icarus Royal Show 2:30.5