, Spring Champion Stakes - Randwick Racecourse - Spring Racing Carnival
horse racing info

Spring Champion Stakes

The Spring Champion Stakes is the premier Group 1 staying race for three-year-olds during the Sydney spring and takes place at Randwick racecourse in October each year. The race is run over a distance of 2000 metres under set weight conditions and worth $1,000,000 in prize money. The 2020 Spring Champion Stakes was won by Montefilia from Lion's Roar with Bucharest third.

Held on Group 1 Epsom Handicap day in recent years, the Australian Turf Club turned the Spring Champion Stakes into a standalone meeting from the 2013/2014 racing season. It's held one week after the Epsom, during the Sydney spring racing carnival in New South Wales.

Spring Champion Stakes info

Date: Saturday 9th October 2021
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: 3yo - Set Weights
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $1,000,000
2020 Winner: Montefilia
spring champion stakes 2020 Spring Champion Stakes odds

The Spring Champion Stakes is a good horse's race and tends to attract quality three-year-olds every year for the running of this middle distance race over 2000m. Logical lead up races to the Spring Champion Stakes include the Group 3 Gloaming Stakes at Rosehill or the listed Dulcify Quality at Randwick earlier in the carnival

The Gloaming Stakes is traditionally the best guide to this event and Shadow Hero (2019), Ace High (2017), Vanbrugh (2015), Complacent (2013) and It's a Dundeel (2012) have all taken out the Gloaming Stakes and Spring Champion Stakes double in recent years. Doctor Doom (2011) finished second in the Gloaming Stakes beforehand, while the 2010 Gloaming Stakes placegetters all filled the placings again in this race.

The Spring Champion Stakes has been a springboard for many fine three-year-olds over the years who've gone on to become top class gallopers after winning this race. Quality racehorses to salute in this event include It's A Dundeel (2012), Universal Prince (2000), Dignity Dancer (1998), Tie The Knot (1997), Nothin' Leica Dane (1995), Kinjite (1991), St. Jude (1990), Stylish Century (1989), and champion galloper Kingston Town (1979).

Classy galloper Yankee Rose (2016) became the first filly to win this race when she defeated Swear and Prized Icon in the 2016 edition.

New Zealander Monaco Consul (2009) travelled to Melbourne later in the month to win the Group 1 AAMI Victoria Derby at Flemington, as did Ace High (2017) eight years later.

Shadow Hero (2019) took out the Gloaming Stakes over 1800m at Rosehill before running home strongly to win this event in classy style for Warwick Farm trainer Mark Newnham.

Recent Spring Champion Stakes winners include Maid Of Heaven (2018) and Ace High (2017).

2019 Spring Champion Stakes result

1. $1.90 Shadow Hero 56.5 Joshua Parr
2. $3.10 Castelvecchio 56.5 Brenton Avdulla
3. $41.00 Battenburg 56.5 Ms Rachel King

then followed
4. $8.00 Just Thinkin’ 56.5 Tim Clark
5. $13.00 Quick Thinker 56.5 Nash Rawiller
6. $101.00 Sirmaze 56.5 Adam Hyeronimus
7. $101.00 Sciconic 56.5 Glen Boss
8. $51.00 Persan 56.5 Glyn Schofield
9. $201.00 Rent A Rock 56.5 Robbie Dolan
10. $71.00 Rhaegar 56.5 Jason Collett
11. $151.00 Dummy Run 56.5 Martin Harley

Margins: 1 len, 0.1 len
Time: 2:00.79

Bet now on the Spring Champion Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Spring Champion Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Spring Champion Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Montefilia Lion's Roar Bucharest 2:01.4
2019 Shadow Hero Castelvecchio Battenburg 2:00.7
2018 Maid Of Heaven Aramayo Thinkin' Big 2:05.5
2017 Ace High Tangled Sully 2:03.9
2016 Yankee Rose Swear Prized Icon 2:02.4
2015 Vanbrugh I'm Belucci Man Of Choice 2:02.8
2014 Hampton Court First Seal Sweynesse 2:00.1
2013 Complacent Criterion Savvy Nature 2:03.3
2012 It's a Dundeel Proisir Honorius 2:02.6
2011 Doctor Doom Darci Be Good Sangster 2:05.8
2010 Erewhon Retrieve Praecido/Shootoff 2:02.9
2009 Monaco Consul Gathering Viking Legend 2:09.9
2008 Sousa Predatory Pricer Excelltastic 2:06.2
2007 Race Not Run
2006 Teranaba All Black Gold He's No Pie Eater 2:04.5
2005 Hotel Grand Pendragon Duelled 2:04.8
2004 Savabeel Outback Prince Cedar Manor 2:07.2
2003 Niello November Dreaming Tsuimai 2:03.4
2002 Platinum Scissors Soprana Maskerado 2:04.3
2001 Viking Ruler Evander Silver Baron 1:49.5
2000 Universal Prince Falls The Shadow Go Bint 2:05.1
1999 Fairway Shogun Lodge Liberty Hall 2:02.3
1998 Dignity Dancer Lawyer Arena 2:00.4
1997 Tie The Knot Brave Prince El Mirada 2:05.4
1996 Magic Of Sydney Ebony Grosve Dual Dilemma 2:04.0
1995 Nothin' Leica Dane Super Slew Catalan Opening 2:03.2
1994 Danewin Brave Warrior Stay Tuned 2:04.3
1993 Fraternity Zaremba Constant Flight 2:05.1
1992 Coronation Day Muirfield Village Palate 2:02.5
1991 Kinjite Zinders Beowulf 2:02.5
1990 St. Jude Fire Oak What A Hit 2:04.7
1989 Stylish Century Stargazer Procol Harum 2:02.4
1988 Sakana Run Straight Run Shipwreck 2:03.9
1987 Beau Zam Nickson Hit Again Benny 2:02.4
1986 Imprimatur Drought Tristram 2:05.6
1985 Easter Indian Raj Handy Proverb 2:05.5
1984 Luck's A Lottery Black Ivory Clovelly Bay 2:05.4
1983 Sir Dapper Been There Tri-Flow 2:13.1
1982 Veloso Grosvenor Cossack Prince 2:04.0
1981 Best Western Brewery Boy Rare Form 2:02.8
1980 Prince Majestic Cosmic Planet Palaban 2:03.7
1979 Kingston Town Mighty Kingdom Young Shaun 2:03.4
1978 Just A Steal March To Glory Cafe 2:08.8
1978 Lefroy So Called Belmura Lad 2:07.4
1977 Sir Silver Lad Salamander Ming Dynasty 2:03.5
1976 Cheyne Walk Lord Dudley Denise's Joy 2:02.7
1975 Taras Bulba Cap D'Antibes Major Battle 2:04.5
1974 Asgard Bush Win Taj Rossi 2:07.9
1973 Gold Brick Bachelor Baron Idolou 2:02.9
1972 Latin Knight All Shot Egyptian 2:03.6
1971 Gay Icarus Baguette Gunsynd 2:04.0