horse racing info

Geoffrey Bellmaine Stakes

The Geoffrey Bellmaine Stakes is a Group 3 race for Fillies & Mares only that takes place each February at Caulfield racecourse in Melbourne during the the Melbourne autumn racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres under set weights & penalty conditions and offers prizemoney of $150,000. The 2019 Geoffrey Bellmaine Stakes was won by Princess Of Queens from Fuhryk with I Am A Star third.

Previously a listed race until promoted to Group 3 status in 2007, the Geoffrey Bellmaine Stakes is held on Gr1 CF Orr Stakes day, the second biggest race day of the Melbourne Racing Club's autumn carnival, after Gr1 Blue Diamond Stakes day.

Geoffrey Bellmaine Stakes info

Date: Saturday 9th February 2019
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Fillies & Mares - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $150,000
2019 Winner: Princess Of Queens

The Geoffrey Bellmaine Stakes is a race for females only and the set weight & penalty conditions of the race advantages the better performed mares involved. Mares contesting this event may consider going on to similar mares races during the autumn, including the Gr3 Mannerism Stakes at Caulfield later in the month. Tycoon Tara (2015) is the last mare to win the Bellmaine Stakes & Mannerism Stakes double while Bonaria (3rd in 2014) won the Manneriism Stakes after finishing third in this race.

Generally not a race for superstars, the Geoffrey Bellmaine Stakes typically assembles a more than handy field of mares, where the winner is simply a more than handy type, rather than anything special. Griante (4th in 2015) travelled to Sydney the following month to win the Gr3 Wenona Girl Handicap at Randwick during the Sydney autumn racing carnival.

Princess Of Queens (2019) ran fourth in the Gr2 Australia Stakes over 1200m at Moonee Valley for the Mick Price stable before proving too classy for her rivals in this event.

Recent Geoffrey Bellmaine Stakes winners include Prussian Vixen (2017-2018) and Tuscan Sling (2016).

2019 Geoffrey Bellmaine Stakes result

1. $4.40 Princess Of Queens 56.0 Dwayne Dunn
2. $9.50 Fuhryk 55.0 Craig Williams
3. $4.60 I Am A Star 59.0 Ben Melham

then followed
4. $14.00 Spanish Reef 59.0 Mark Zahra
5. $4.80 Just Hifalutin 55.0 Luke Currie
6. $5.00 Teleplay 58.0 Michael Dee
7. $21.00 Queen Annabel 55.0 Beau Mertens
8. $17.00 Bellaria 55.0 Kerrin McEvoy
9. $21.00 Prussian Vixen 58.0 Jake Noonan

Margins: 0.20 len, 0.75 len
Time: 1:10.57

A number of group races are held on CF Orr Stakes Day alongside the Geoffrey Bellmaine Stakes, including the Gr2 Autumn Stakes, Gr3 Rubiton Stakes, Gr3 Blue Diamond Prelude (C&G), Gr2 Blue Diamond Prelude (F), Gr3 Carlyon Cup & Gr3 Boronia Stakes.

Bet now on the Geoffrey Bellmaine Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Geoffrey Bellmaine Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Geoffrey Bellmaine Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Princess Of Queens Fuhryk I Am A Star 1:10.5
2018 Prussian Vixen Flippant Petition 1:11.0
2017 Prussian Vixen Silent Sedition Ameristralia 1:09.5
2016 Tuscan Sling Azkadellia Choose 1:09.7
2015 Tycoon Tara Bonaria Politeness 1:09.4
2014 A Time For Julia Danestroem Bonaria 1:09.8
2013 There's Only One Loveyamadly Koonoomoo 1:10.1
2012 Psychologist Slow The Flow Let's Be Happy 1:10.4
2011 Beaded Varenna Miss Das Machen 1:08.9
2010 Velocitea Valentine Miss Margham 1:08.2
2009 Annesong Delyara Prima Nova 1:10.4
2008 Lucky Diva Bella Cassani Star Rose 1:09.9
2007 Coniston Gem Hanna Rossa Lucky Diva 1:09.0
2006 Beautiful Gem Truly Wicked Umber 1:09.6
2005 Glamour Puss Umber Kalamata 1:09.6
2004 Given Royal Sash Size Her Up 1:09.5
2003 Skewiff Special Grange Card Queen 1:09.4
2002 Napping Spurn Limerick Lady 1:11.0
2001 Rose Archway Harping White Hart Lane 1:36.4
2000 Super Sequel Stutter Nordane 1:23.7