, Carlyon Cup - Caulfield Racecourse - Melbourne Autumn Carnival
horse racing info

Carlyon Cup

The Carlyon Cup is a Group 3 set weight & penalties race for open horses that takes place each February at Caulfield racecourse in Melbourne, Victoria. This race is run over a distance of 1600 metres and worth $150,000 in prize money. The 2020 Carlyon Cup was taken out by Miss Siska from Odeon with Guizot third.

One of the time-honured races of the Melbourne Racing Club, the Carlyon Cup is held on the club's second biggest race day of the autumn, Group 1 CF Orr Stakes day at Caulfield.

Carlyon Cup info

Date: Saturday 6th February 2021
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: Open - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000
2020 Winner: Miss Siska

The Carlyon Cup is a more than handy race held during the Melbourne autumn racing carnival that attracts above average horses. Some quality types have saluted in this event over the years including Apache Cat (2007), Northerly (2001), Veeandercross (1993), and the great miler Super Impose (1989).

Run under set weight plus penalties conditions, the Carlyon Cup tends to favour the better performed gallopers going around. Horses tackling this race may continue on to better races ahead like the Group 2 Blamey Stakes at Flemington, which is run under similar conditions on Group 1 Australian Cup day in March

The upcoming Group 2 St George Stakes at the same track on Blue Diamond Day may be on the agenda for horses contesting this race. Avilius (2019) and Gailo Chop (2018) have both captured the Carlyon Cup and St George Stakes double in recent years, while Chris Waller's Foreteller (5th in 2013) managed to win the St George Stakes after finishing fifth in the Carlyon Cup.

Miss Siska (2020) resumed from a spring spell to score a first-class victory in this event for the Grahame Begg stable.

Recent Carlyon Cup winners include Avilius (2019) and Gailo Chop (2018).

2020 Carlyon Cup result

1. $2.20 Miss Siska 55.0 Damian Lane
2. $4.20 Odeon 58.0 Craig Williams
3. $4.80 Guizot 57.0 Jordan Childs

then followed
4. $19.00 Harlem 60.0 Mark Zahra
5. $21.00 Levendi 57.0 Beau Mertens
6. $18.00 Duca Valentinois 58.0 Brad Rawiller
7. $51.00 Inverloch 57.0 Ms Linda Meech
8. $41.00 Valentino Rossa 57.0 Jye McNeil
9. $21.00 Tinkermosa 56.5 Michael Dee
10. $71.00 Maclairey 57.0 Fred W Kersley

Margins: 1.25 len, 0.75 len
Time: 1:36.44

Other group races on CF Orr Stakes day include the Group 2 Autumn Stakes, Group 3 Rubiton Stakes, Group 3 Geoffrey Bellmaine Stakes, Group 3 Blue Diamond Prelude (C&G), Group 2 Blue Diamond Prelude (F) & Group 3 Boronia Stakes.

Bet now on the Carlyon Cup

We recommended Unibet for the best Carlyon Cup odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Carlyon Cup winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Miss Siska Odeon Guizot 1:36.4
2019 Avilius Sikandarabad Night's Watch 1:37.0
2018 Gailo Chop Harlem Lord Fandango 1:38.2
2017 Burning Front Humidor Tally 1:36.0
2016 Burning Front Red Excitement Dances On Stars 1:36.9
2015 Smokin' Joey Jacquinot Bay Backstedt 1:35.6
2014 Chase The Rainbow Star Rolling Pakal 1:37.7
2013 Budriguez Invest Lord Of Brazil 1:36.1
2012 Manighar Shadowfax Veewap 1:37.1
2011 Lord Pyrus Voile Rouge Its Prince 1:22.5
2010 Rightfully Yours Road To Rock Delayedreaction 1:23.0
2009 Time Matters Marching Playright 1:23.6
2008 Publishing Stillme The Fuzz 1:23.7
2007 Apache Cat Bon Hoffa Lucky Unicorn 1:22.2
2006 Live In Vain Beautiful Gem Niconero 1:22.3
2005 Niagara Falls Lad Of The Manor Roman Arch 1:36.7
2004 La Sirenuse Regal Roller Makybe Diva 1:36.2
2003 No Deposit Walk On Air Old Man 1:35.6
2002 Piper Star The Secondmortgage It's Platonic 1:38.0
2001 Northerly Oval Office Knockroe 1:35.1
2000 Skoozi Please Old Man Streak 1:39.0
1999 Thackery Zuccherino Royal Blue 1:47.7
1998 Delinquent Willoughby Marble Halls 1:47.6
1997 Peep On The Sly Miss Tessla Waikikamukau 1:48.5
1996 Toll Circles Of Gold Campaign Warrior 1:34.1
1995 Starstruck Corregidor Mapperley's Star 1:50.4
1994 Station Hand Hear That Bell Our Tristalight 2:00.4
1993 Veandercross Native Neptune Springhill Lad 2:01.5
1992 Cool Credit Ali Boy Lord Revenir 2:02.2
1991 Prince Salieri Luisant Bijou Favoured Boy 1:58.7
1990 Marwong Kingston Rule Power Of Destiny 1:59.3
1989 Super Impose Dandy Andy Apollo Run 1:59.2
1988 Black Charleston Bahrain Happy View 2:03.0