horse racing info

Blamey Stakes

The Blamey Stakes is a Group 2 race held each year in March at Flemington racecourse in Melbourne during the Melbourne autumn racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres under set weight & penalty conditions with prize money of $200,000. The 2020 Blamey Stakes was won by Fifty Stars from Secret Blaze with Admiral's Joker third.

Taking place alongside the Group 1 Australian Guineas for three-year-olds, the Blamey Stakes is held one week before two of the VRC's biggest races of the autumn, the Group 1 Newmarket Handicap and Group 1 Australian Cup.

Blamey Stakes info

Date: Saturday 29th February 2020
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: Open - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $200,000
2020 Winner: Fifty Stars

The Blamey Stakes is a good quality race for open horses and the set weight plus penalties conditions of the race tends to favour the better gallopers assembled on the day. Every now and then a top class galloper may find his name on the Blamey Stakes winner's trophy and quality racehorses such as Apache Cat (2007), Durbridge (1994-95), Better Loosen Up (1990-91) and Vo Rogue (1988-89) have all won this race over the years.

Horses who tackled the Group 1 Futurity Stakes at Caulfield in February might find their way to the Blamey Stakes, or perhaps an emerging three-year-old galloper who may want to take on the older horses in a slightly weaker group race than the featured Group 1 races of the autumn. Talented mare Suavito (2015) is the most recent winner of the Futurity Stakes & Blamey Stakes double in the same year.

Classy stayer Green Moon (2012) won this race in the autumn before returning in the spring to win the Group 1 Melbourne Cup on the first Tuesday in November. Sertorious (2nd in 2015) managed to win the Group 3 Easter Cup at Caulfield at his next start.

Fifty Stars (2019-2020) ran fourth in the Group 1 CF Orr Stakes over 1400m at Caulfield before finishing strongly to win this event for the second year in a row for the David & Ben Hayes & Tom Dabernig stable.

Recent Blamey Stakes winners include Humidor (2018) and Palentino (2017).

2020 Blamey Stakes result

1. $2.60 Fifty Stars 58.0 Craig Williams
2. $21.00 Secret Blaze 57.0 Jamie Kah
3. $6.50 Admiral's Joker 58.0 Steven Vella

then followed
4. $12.00 So Si Bon 57.0 Luke Nolen
5. $12.00 Galaxy Raider 55.0 Teodore Nugent
6. $8.50 Ringerdingding 57.0 John Allen
7. $4.80 Night's Watch 55.0 Damien Oliver
8. $18.00 Guizot 55.0 Jordan Childs
9. $61.00 Gallic Chieftain 58.0 Damian Lane

Margins: 1.5 ken, 0.3 len
Time: 1:34.54

Bet now on the Blamey Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Blamey Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Blamey Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Fifty Stars Secret Blaze Admiral's Joker 1:34.5
2019 Fifty Stars So Si Bon Cool Chap 1:35.8
2018 Humidor Cool Chap Hellova Street 1:36.8
2017 Palentino Tosen Stardom Harlem 1:35.4
2016 He Or She The United States Stratum Star 1:34.9
2015 Suavito Sertorius Kourkam 1:36.9
2014 Lidari Foundry Sertorius 1:38.1
2013 =1 Budriguez =1 Puissance De Lune Wall Street 1:36.3
2012 Green Moon Pied A Terre Wall Street 1:35.8
2011 Whobegotyou Dao Dao Fanjura 1:36.5
2010 Lord Tavistock Vigor Dao Dao 1:36.3
2009 Largo Lad Playright Just Look 1:38.1
2008 The Fuzz Barlinnie Orange County 1:36.9
2007 Apache Cat Bon Hoffa Molotov 1:37.7
2006 Rosden Great Is Great Roman Arch 1:33.8
2005 Grey Song Roman Arch Gallic 1:33.9
2004 Gold Wells Lord Erin Pretorius 1:36.2
2003 Walk On Air Mr Murphy Mr Magoo 1:35.1
2002 Tears Royal Weasel Will Consular 1:37.2
2001 Market Price Emission Second Coming 1:37.4
2000 Oliver Twist Royal Voyage Noircir 1:35.2
1999 Thackeray Prime Address Zuccherino 1:35.3
1998 Willoughby Rustic Dream Royal Blue 1:36.4
1997 Zuccherino Saleous Istidaad 1:35.9
1996 Racer's Edge Starstruck Paris Lane 1:35.7
1995 Durbridge Station Hand Starstruck 1:34.2
1994 Durbridge Our Pompeii Credit Account 1:34.9
1993 Prince Salieri Jolly Old Mac Mannerism 1:35.2
1992 Shiva's Revenge Shavano Miss Dr Grace 1:34.3
1991 Better Loosen Up Vo Rogue Kingston Rule 1:35.4
1990 Better Loosen Up Super Impose Vo Rogue 1:37.6
1989 Vo Rogue Marwong Apollo Run 1:35.9
1988 Vo Rogue Bonhomie Cossack Warrior 1:34.0