horse racing info

Easter Cup

The Easter Cup is a Group 3 open handicap race held annually in late March or early April on Easter Saturday at Caulfield racecourse in Melbourne. The race is run over a distance of 2000 metres and has prize money of $150,000. The 2018 Easter Cup was won by Shoreham from Odeon with Life Less Ordinary third.

The Group 3 Victoria Handicap is held on the same day as the Easter Cup and these two races are the only two group races that take place during the Easter period time in Melbourne.

Easter Cup info

Date: Saturday 18th April 2020
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000
2018 Winner: Shoreham

The Easter Cup is a middle distance staying race that takes place at Easter and more often than not the race simply attracts a field of handy horses, rather than a top class affair, as most of the elite gallopers will be in Sydney at this time of year for the big money races on offer at the Sydney autumn racing carnival.

Occasionally a top class galloper will make their way to the Easter Cup and 2008 WS Cox Plate winner Maldivian won this race in 2007 beating the handy stayer Douro Valley, who then went on to run second in that year's Caulfield Cup.

Shoreham (2018) finished third in a BM90 race over 2000m at Mornington before scoring an impressive victory in this event and recent Easter Cup winners include Observational (2017) and Leebaz (2016).

2018 Easter Cup result

1. $61.00 Shoreham 54.0 Daniel Moor
2. $2.90 Odeon 55.5 Chris Symons
3. $4.20 Life Less Ordinary 54.0 Damian Lane

then followed
4. $5.50 Berisha 55.5 Dwayne Dunn
5. $11.00 Fastnet Dragon 54.0 Ms Linda Meech
6. $15.00 Golden Mane 54.0 Jamie Kah
7. $31.00 Montoya's Secret 54.0 Ben Thompson
8. $21.00 Jacquinot Bay 54.0 Cory Parish
9. $5.50 Steps 55.0 Andrew Mallyon

Margins: 1 len, 1.25 len
Time: 2:01.72

Bet now on the Easter Cup

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Easter Cup odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Easter Cup winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Shoreham Odeon Life Less Ordinary 2:01.7
2017 Observational Second Bullet Double Bluff 2:01.1
2016 Leebaz Guardini Observational 2:02.1
2015 Sertorius Escado Shoreham 2:01.4
2014 Our Voodoo Prince Akzar Stipulate 2:04.0
2013 Jet Away Folding Gear Whisper Downs 2:03.8
2012 Folding Gear Viking Hero Shewan 2:01.5
2011 Paddy O'Reilly Fanjura Launay 2:02.7
2010 Fanjura Light Vision Hissing Sid 2:02.0
2009 Miss Maren Raffaello Light Vision 2:03.9
2008 Like It Is Sand Sweeper Come Fly With Me 2:03.4
2007 Maldivian Douro Valley Spinney 2:02.8
2006 Casual Pass Rubijon Our Spur 2:02.2
2005 Show Barry Lord Erin Pretorius 2:00.4
2004 Tall Timbers Sweet Corn Domine 2:02.9
2003 Bush Padre Gunnamatta Lodger 2:03.3
2002 Thong Classic Adolescence Aquiver 2:01.0
2001 Adolescence Flushed Mr Prudent 2:00.9
2000 Litmus Lady Elsie Royal Caliph 2:03.0
1999 Il Don Royal Caliph Vonanne 2:01.8
1998 Vonanne Miss Tessla Sunny Lane 2:03.3
1997 True Identity Royal Line Bluestone 2:01.9
1996 Sober Suit Toil Cushman 2:04.4
1995 Regal Half Toil Bullwinkle 2:02.9
1994 Idea State Taj Sari Club 2:01.7
1993 Coolong Road Mamzelle Perdu Springhill Lad 2:01.6
1992 Mantlepiece London Bridge Mamzelle Perdu 2:13.0
1991 Ideal Centreman Mantlepiece Gamine 2:03.3
1990 Lord Palmeston Go Timmy Reputed 2:02.6
1989 Go Timmy Kalahari Dial Tone 2:09.0
1988 King Of Brooklyn Black Charleston Hallstrong 2:00.9