, St George Stakes - Caulfield Racecourse - Autumn Racing Carnival
horse racing info

St George Stakes

The St George Stakes is a Group 2 Weight-for-age race held each February at Caulfield racecourse in Melbourne during the Melbourne autumn racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1800 metres and is worth $200,000 in prize money. The 2020 St George Stakes was won by Miss Siska from Kings Will Dream with Mirage Dancer third.

Taking place on Blue Diamond Stakes day, the Melbourne Racing Club's major race day of the autumn, the St George Stakes is held alongside feature races including the Group 1 Blue Diamond Stakes, Group 1 Futurity Stakes & Group 1 Oakleigh Plate.

The race has been run as the 'Peter Young Stakes' since the 2011/2012 racing season.

St George Stakes info

Date: Saturday 20th February 2021
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1800 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $200,000
2020 Winner: Miss Siska

The St George Stakes is generally a good quality weight-for-age event that provides the ideal lead up race to the premier weight-for-age distance event of the Melbourne autumn, the Group 1 Australian Cup, which takes place on Super Saturday at Flemington in early March. The imported galloper Manighar (3rd in 2012) went on to win the Australian Cup at his next start.

Horses contesting this race may come via the Group 1 CF Orr Stakes held earlier in the carnival, with Elvstroem (2005) being the last horse to win both races.

Another more than handy lead up race is the Group 3 Carlyon Cup at Caulfield. Miss Siska (2020), Avilius (2019) and Gailo Chop (2018) have all both taken out the Carlyon Cup & St George Stakes double in recent years.

The honour roll of winners for this race sees many a top class galloper's name etched upon it, including horses such as Fiorente (2014), Pompeii Ruler (2007), Lonhro (2004), Northerly (2002-03), Istidaad (1999), Dane Ripper (1998), Durbridge (1994-95), Let's Elope (1992), Vo Rogue (1988-89) and all of them went on to win the Australian Cup.

Miss Siska (2020) captured the Group 3 Carlyon Cup over 1600m at Caulfield before scoring a classy on pace victory in this event for trainer Grahame Begg.

Recent St George Stakes winners include Avilius (2019) and Gailo Chop (2018).

2020 St George Stakes result

1. $4.20 Miss Siska 57.0 Damian Lane
2. $3.10 Kings Will Dream 59.0 Mark Zahra
3. $31.00 Mirage Dancer 59.0 Ben Melham

then followed
4. $3.90 Regal Power 59.0 William Pike
5. $16.00 Harlem 59.0 Damien Oliver
6. $12.00 Odeon 59.0 Craig Williams
7. $41.00 Suzuka Devious 59.0 Michael Dee
8. $51.00 Levendi 59.0 Beau Mertens
9. $9.50 Constantinople 58.5 Glen Boss

Margins: 0.2 len, 0.75 len
Time: 1:49.64

Also held on Blue Diamond Stakes day at Caulfield are the Group 2 Autumn Classic, Group 2 Angus Armanasco Stakes, Group 3 Mannerism Stakes & Zeditave Stakes.

Bet now on the St George Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best St George Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

St George Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Miss Siska Kings Will Dream Mirage Dancer 1:49.6
2019 Avilius Trap For Fools Ace High 1:49.1
2018 Gailo Chop Single Gaze Hartnell 1:48.2
2017 Stratum Star Humidor The United States 1:48.2
2016 Bow Creek Fenway Mourinho 1:48.6
2015 Mourinho Happy Trails Akzar 1:48.0
2014 Fiorente Mourayan Star Rolling 1:50.0
2013 Foreteller Mr Moet Budriguez 1:50.9
2012 Lucas Cranach Illo Manighar 1:48.8
2011 Heart Of Dreams Precedence Spacecraft 1:48.8
2010 La Rocket Heart Of Dreams Miss Maren 1:49.0
2009 Theseo Baughurst Zarita 1:47.8
2008 Princess Coup Sirmione Douro Valley 1:51.0
2007 Pompeii Ruler Marasco Aqua D'Amore 1:49.2
2006 Our Smoking Joe Lad Of The Manor Vroom Vroom 1:50.2
2005 Elvstroem Makybe Diva Casual Pass 1:49.5
2004 Lonhro Sound Journey Mummify 1:50.9
2003 Northerly Fields Of Omagh Mr Casanova 1:51.8
2002 Northerly Old Comrade Piper Star 1:49.2
2001 Cent Home Giovana Kaapstad Way 1:47.1
2000 Royal Voyage Oliver Twist Arena 1:49.1
1999 Istidaad Intergaze Our Unicorn 1:45.3
1998 Dane Ripper Might And Power Rustic Dream 1:48.4
1997 Istidaad Perfect Bound Gold City 1:49.8
1996 Racer's Edge Toil Paris Lane 1:50.7
1995 Durbridge Paris Lane Blevic 2:01.6
1994 Durbridge Excited Angel Our Pompeii 1:47.5
1993 Star Of The Realm Fraar Subzero 1:49.4
1992 Let's Elope Dr Grace Shavano Miss 1:48.5
1991 Sydeston Savage Toss Kingston Rule 1:48.3
1990 King's High Vo Rogue Marwong 1:48.3
1989 Vo Rogue Super Impose Ideal Centremen 1:48.0
1988 Vo Rogue Cossack Warrior King Of Brooklyn 1:47.3