, Angus Armanasco Stakes - Caulfield Racecourse - Melbourne Autumn Carnival
horse racing info

Angus Armanasco Stakes

The Angus Armanasco Stakes is a Group 2 set weights race for three-year-old fillies that takes place in February each year at Caulfield racecourse in Melbourne during the Melbourne autumn racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1400 metres and offers $200,000 in prize money. The 2020 Angus Armanasco Stakes was won by La Tene from Lady Lupino with Lunar Light third.

Held on Blue Diamond Stakes day, the Melbourne Racing Club's premier race day of the autumn, the Angus Armanasco Stakes takes place alongside the Group 1 Blue Diamond Stakes, Group 1 Futurity Stakes and Group 1 Oakleigh Plate.

Angus Armanasco Stakes info

Date: Saturday 20th February 2021
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: 3yo Fillies - Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $200,000
2020 Winner: La Tene

The Angus Armanasco Stakes is a nice little race for three-year-old fillies that provides the perfect lead up event to the Group 2 Kewney Stakes at Flemington on Super Saturday of Racing in March. Generally assembling a field of above average fillies, the set weights playing field favours the classier fillies engaged and typically the better performed horses will fight out the finish.

The Group 3 Boronia Stakes is the ideal lead up race to this event and both Sabatini (2015) and Spirits Dance (2014) have taken out the Borania Stakes & Angus Armanasco Stakes double in recent times. Fillies contesting this event might also come via the Group 2 Vanity Stakes at Flemington in February and Ballet Society (2005) was the last filly to claim the Vanity Stakes & Kewney Stakes double.

Quality females Miss Finland (2007), Special Harmony (2004) and Champagne (1998) were successful in this event and typically speaking it's a race for more than handy fillies. Although occasionally this race can produce a big race winner as it did when Pinker Pinker (2011) went on to win the Group 1 WS Cox Plate at Moonee Valley the following spring.

La Tene (2020) finished unplaced in the Listed Exford Plate over 1400m at Flemington before scoring a narrow victory in this event for the James Cummings stable.

Recent Angus Armanasco Stakes winners include Qafila (2019) and Summer Sham (2018).

2020 Angus Armanasco Stakes result

1. $18.00 La Tene 57.5 Brad Rawiller
2. $11.00 Lady Lupino 55.0 Craig Williams
3. $11.00 Lunar Light 55.0 Jamie Kah

then followed
4. $14.00 Snapdancer 55.0 Jye McNeil
5. $12.00 Chassis 55.0 Damian Lane
6. $31.00 Westport 56.0 Damien Oliver
7. $4.00 Southbank 55.0 Tim Clark
8. $4.60 Score 55.0 Dwayne Dunn
9. $3.80 Acting 57.5 Ben Melham

Margins: 0.1 len, 1.25 len
Time: 1:22.13

Other group races on Blue Diamond Stakes day include the Group 2 St George Stakes, Group 2 Autumn Classic & Group 3 Mannerism Stakes.

Bet now on the Angus Armanasco Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Angus Armanasco Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Angus Armanasco Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 La Tene Lady Lupino Lunar Light 1:22.1
2019 Qafila Angelic Ruler Zoubo 1:23.0
2018 Summer Sham Palazzo Vecchio Miss Wahoo 1:23.3
2017 Savanna Amour Ellicazoom Oregon's Day 1:22.9
2016 Catch A Fire Mossin' Around Pasadena Girl 1:23.5
2015 Sabatini Fontein Ruby Samartested 1:23.2
2014 Spirits Dance Marianne Metaphorical 1:23.5
2013 Meliora Members Joy Red Fez 1:23.3
2012 Shopaholic Soft Sand Cute Emily 1:23.4
2011 Pinker Pinker Sayahailmary Sistine Angel 1:21.4
2010 Set For Fame Gigas Irish Lights 1:22.5
2009 Gold Water Gallica Miss Scarlatti 1:35.9
2008 Zarita Pleasantsundaygirl El Daana 1:37.9
2007 Miss Finland Causeway Lass Kisumu 1:36.6
2006 Serenade Rose Doubting Fanciful Bella 1:34.8
2005 Ballet Society Astrodame Glen Shian 1:36.8
2004 Special Harmony Deep In The Woods Demerger 1:38.6
2003 La Bella Dama Lashed Dextrous 1:36.2
2002 Elegant Fashion Li Lo Lill Moon Dragon 1:36.7
2001 Rose Archway St Therese Ponton Flyer 1:35.9
2000 I Am A Ripper Danarich Super Sequel 1:38.4
1999 Rose O'War Sunline Visual Displays 1:35.9
1998 Champagne Kensington Palace Greeting 1:38.1
1997 Cheval Place Regal Crown Zeya 1:23.8
1996 Not On Friday Rubidium Miss Margaret 1:23.5
1995 Northwood Plume New Smyrna High Creek 1:23.1
1994 Sovereign Appeal Party Time Lady In Reality 1:23.2
1993 Big Jamaica =1 Gold Design =1 Crazy Neaux 1:25.3
1992 Rockabye Tarare Raise A Rhythm 1:24.0
1991 Tessuti Zilezal Angel Baby 1:23.8
1990 Deira Gamine Tramaurea 1:23.6
1989 Seapost Pray For Colleen Crestkin 1:24.0
1988 Golden Unicorn Strawberry Fair Tennessee Vain 1:23.5