, The Vanity Stakes Preview - Flemington Racecourse - January
horse racing info

The Vanity Stakes

The Vanity Stakes is a Group 3 race for three-year-old fillies that takes place in February each year at Flemington racecourse in Melbourne. The race is run under set weights and penalty conditions over a distance of 1400 metres with $150,000 in prize money. The 2020 Vanity Stakes was won by Bonvicini from Pretty Brazen with Meuse third.

Held on Group 1 Lightning Stakes day during the Melbourne autumn racing carnival, The Vanity Stakes is the female equivalent of the Group 3 CS Hayes Stakes for colts & geldings which is held on the same day.

The Vanity Stakes info

Date: Saturday 13th February 2021
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: 3yo Fillies - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000
2020 Winner: Bonvicini

The Vanity Stakes attracts good quality fillies who go on to be competitive in similar type races for the same sex. The set weights & penalty conditions of the race favours the better performed females engaged and most of the time the more talented gallopers will figure in the finish due to the wieghted conditions of the race.

Classier fillies contesting the Vanity Stakes will most likely consider tackling the Group 2 Kewney Stakes on Super Saturday of racing at Flemington in March for the good prize money on offer and Solicit (2014) is the most recent filly to take out the Vanity Stakes & Kewney Stakes double. Do Ra Mi (2nd in 2011) won the Kewney Stakes later in the carnival after running second in this event.

In recent times The Vanity Stakes has produced multiple Group 1 winners, including Southern Speed (2011), who went on to win the Group 1 Caulfield Cup at Caulfield in the spring, while Shamrocker (4th in 2011) and Mosheen (2nd in 2012), both took out the Australian Guineas against the males at Flemington. Absolutely (6th in 2011) travelled to Sydney to win the Group 1 ATC Australian Oaks at Randwick in April.

Bonvicini (2020) resumed from a spell to score a fast finisng victory in this event for Caulfield traing duo Ciaron Maher & David Eustace.

Recent Vanity Stakes winners include Amphitrite (2019) and Rimraam (2018).

2020 Vanity Stakes result

1. $26.00 Bonvicini 56.5 Kerrin McEvoy
2. $3.60 Pretty Brazen 57.5 Luke Currie
3. $8.00 Meuse 56.0 James McDonald

then followed
4. $18.00 Fascino 57.5 Mark Zahra
5. $2.20 Katalin 55.0 Craig Williams
6. $10.00 Parmie 56.0 Ms Linda Meech
7. $21.00 Lunar Light 55.0 Jamie Kah
8. $19.00 Swing And Boom 55.0 Damien Oliver
9. $81.00 Feign 55.0 Brett Prebble
10. $41.00 Lady D’Oro 55.0 Jye McNeil

Margins: 1 len, 0.75 len
Time: 1:22.51

Bet now on the The Vanity Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best The Vanity Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

The Vanity Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Bonvicini Pretty Brazen Meuse 1:22.5
2019 Amphitrite Verry Elleegant Fundamentalist 1:22.1
2018 Rimraam Bring Me Roses Shokora 1:22.0
2017 Kenedna Extra Olives Harlow Gold 1:23.3
2016 Don't Doubt Mamma Egypt Perfect Reflection 1:22.7
2015 Sweet And Speedy Set Square Wawail 1:24.1
2014 Solicit Critical Angel Girl In Flight 1:22.4
2013 Alzora You're So Good Petite Diablesse 1:22.5
2012 Shopaholic Angel Of Mercy Great Dame 1:22.7
2011 Southern Speed Do Ra Mi Count Your Fingers 1:24.1
2010 Tallow Misty Blue Absolute Faith 1:23.5
2009 Romneya Rapid Sensation Sparks Fly 1:22.9
2008 Misidora Pleasantsundaygirl Zarita 1:22.4
2007 Universal Queen Catechuchu My Only Hope 1:09.9
2006 Pure Joy Be Delicious Expensively 1:21.5
2005 Ballet Society Hollow Bullet Twisted Heart 1:24.1
2004 Country Lodge Dane Tryst Deep In The Woods 1:22.0
2003 Dextrous Lashed Ribe 1:22.3
2002 Gold Lottey Gradual Born Priceless 1:23.2
2001 Lan Kwai Fong Dandify Ponton Flyer 1:22.0
2000 Forest Express Shizu The Golden Dane 1:21.9
1999 Rose O'War Northern Song Lady Elsie 1:22.9
1998 Greeting La Volta Kensington Palace 1:23.6
1997 Akarana Superb Lady Cheval Place 1:23.1
1996 Saleous Autumn Moments Rubidium 1:23.4
1995 No Mischief Tristavente Dantain 1:26.1
1994 Balm In Gilead Burette Lady Jakeo 1:24.8
1993 Classy Twig Peta's Potion Flowing Style 1:22.3
1992 Northern Bisque South Eastern Star Rags No More 1:23.5
1991 Irish Spree Astro Franco Banzette 1:25.4
1990 Dancer's Choice Reganza Relationship 1:11.7
1989 Very Droll Rich Habit Catagor 1:22.8
1988 Tennessee Vain In Wonderland Solarein 1:24.1