, Kewney Stakes - Flemington Racecourse - Super Saturday of Racing
horse racing info

Kewney Stakes

The Kewney Stakes is a Group 2 race for three-year-old fillies held annually each March at Flemington racecourse in Melbourne during the Melbourne autumn racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1400 metres under set weight conditions with prize money of $200,000. The 2020 Kewney Stakes was won by Rubisaki from Pretty Brazen with Fascino third.

Taking place on Super Saturday of Racing at Flemington, the Victoria Racing Club's premier race day of the autumn, the Kewney Stakes is held alongside two $1,000,000 races, the Group 1 Newmarket Handicap and Group 1 Australian Cup.

Kewney Stakes info

Date: Saturday 6th March 2021
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: 3yo Fillies - Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $200,000
2020 Winner: Rubisaki

The Kewney Stakes is the premier three-year-old fillies event held at Flemington during the autumn racing carnival and the race tends to attract the better class fillies going around. The weighted conditions of the race favours the more talented fillies and they will generally figure in the finish.

Fillies only races like the Group 3 Vanity Stakes at Flemington and Group 2 Angus Armanasco Stakes at Caulfield are excellent lead up races to this event. Solicit (2014) is the last filly to capture the Vanity Stakes & Kewney Stakes double while Zarita (2008) is the most recent winner of the Angus Armanasco Stakes & Kewney Stakes double.

The upcoming Sydney autumn racing carnival & Adelaide racing carnival could be on the horizon for fillies contesting the Kewney Stakes. Faint Perfume (2010) went to Sydney to take out the Group 1 Storm Queen Stakes at Rosehill before going on to run second in the Group 1 ATC Oaks at Randwick.

Gallica (2009) won the Group 1 Australasian Oaks at Morphettville after winning this race and the Kewney Stakes often produces fillies who go on to better things at the highest level.

Rubisaki (2020) took out the Inglis Sprint over 1200m at Warwick Farm in Sydney before heading south to Melbourne to win this event in classy style for the Patrick Payne stable.

Recent Kewney Stakes winners include Spanish Whisper (2019) and Bella Martini (2018).

2020 Kewney Stakes result

1. $3.00 Rubisaki 55.5 Billy Egan
2. $5.50 Pretty Brazen 55.5 Jamie Kah
3. $21.00 Fascino 55.5 Craig Williams

then followed
4. $7.50 Tenley 55.5 Damian Lane
5. $41.00 Score 55.5 Regan Bayliss
6. $18.00 La Tene 55.5 Dwayne Dunn
7. $31.00 Mrs Beckham 55.5 Chris Symons
8. $7.00 How Womantic 55.5 Jye McNeil
9. $71.00 Selica 55.5 Ben Thompson
10. $51.00 La Falaise 55.5 Ben Melham
11. $41.00 Rich Hips 55.5 Michael Dee
12. $61.00 Chassis 55.5 John Allen
13. $13.00 Southbank 55.5 William Pike
14. $16.00 Sassy Salitage 55.5 Glen Boss

Margins: 1.25 len, 0.50 len
Time: 1:22.91

Other group races held alongside the Kewney Stakes on Super Saturday of Racing at Flemington include the Group 2 VRC Sires Produce Stakes and Group 3 Matron Stakes.

Bet now on the Kewney Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Kewney Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Kewney Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Rubisaki Pretty Brazen Fascino 1:22.9
2019 Spanish Whisper Victory Kingdom Angelic Ruler 1:22.0
2018 Bella Martini Shokora Palazzo Vecchio 1:22.3
2017 I Am A Star Ellicazoom Kenedna 1:22.4
2016 Badawiya Don't Doubt Mamma Egypt 1:22.9
2015 Wawail Sabatini Vezalay 1:23.2
2014 Solicit Marianne Suavito 1:22.6
2013 Flying Snitzel Norzita Red Fez 1:22.9
2012 Empress Rock Assertive Eagle Bliss Street 1:22.5
2011 Do Ra Mi Brazilian Pulse Divorces 1:22.2
2010 Faint Perfume Response No Evidence Needed 1:23.3
2009 Gallica Gold Water Lamarr 1:36.3
2008 Zarita Absolut Glam Bashful Girl 1:36.7
2007 Anamato Catechuchu Flame Of Sydney 1:35.2
2006 Doubting Serenade Rose Empress Lily 1:37.8
2005 Ballet Society Kylikwong Astrodame 1:35.1
2004 Special Harmony Country Lodge Sky Cuddle 1:35.5
2003 Lashed Umaris Tarcoola Diamond 1:36.2
2002 Elegant Fashion Bridal Hill Gold Lottey 1:34.9
2001 Ponton Flyer St Therese Flying Spice 1:35.2
2000 Umaline Grand Echezeaux Brulant 1:34.1
1999 Sunline Rose O'War Lady Elsie 1:34.5
1998 Rose Of Danehill Kensington Palace Champagne 1:35.6
1997 Regal Crown Danendri Suria 1:36.2
1996 Eureka Jewel Tripping Not On Friday 1:36.5
1995 Northwood Plume Nawadder Pure Whiskey 1:36.3
1994 Tristalove Swift Falcon Alcove 1:36.5
1993 Orsay Peta's Potion Klokka 1:35.3
1992 Tarare Raise A Rhythm Rockabye 1:36.5
1991 Mannerism Berberia =2 Tisolde =2 1:36.3
1990 Reganza Hermoso Lady Of Perfection 1:36.3
1989 Pray For Colleen Sober Dancer Crestkin 1:37.6
1988 Tennessee Vain Bianco Flyer Sound Gold 1:37.5