horse racing info

CS Hayes Stakes

The CS Hayes Stakes is a Group 3 race for three-year-old colts & geldings that takes place in February each year at Flemington racecourse in Melbourne during the Melbourne autumn racing carnival. The race is run under set weights & penalty conditions over a distance of 1400 metres with prizemoney of $150,000. The 2019 CS Hayes Stakes was taken out by The Inevitable from Age Of Chivalry with O'Tauto third.

Formerly known as 'The Debonair', the CS Hayes Stakes is named after legendary South Australian trainer Colin S. Hayes and is held on Gr1 Lightning Stakes day, alongside the female equivalent of this race, the Gr3 The Vanity Stakes for fillies.

CS Hayes Stakes info

Date: Saturday 16th February 2019
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: 3yo C&G - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $150,000
2019 Winner: The Inevitable

The CS Hayes Stakes generally attracts above average three-year-olds and the set weights & penalty conditions of the race typically favours the better performed gallopers going around during the autumn. Colts & geldings contesting this race may consider going on to stronger 3yo races like the Gr1 Australian Guineas on Super Saturday of Racing at Flemington or the Gr2 Alister Clarke Stakes at Moonee Valley, both races held in March.

Dash For Cash (2002) was the last galloper to win the CS Hayes Stakes & Australian Guineas in the same year while Lieutenant (2005) took out the most recent CS Hayes Stakes & Alistair Clarke Stakes double. Palentino (2011) went on to win the Australian Guineas after finishing runner-up in this race.

The Inevitable (2019) took out the Listed Tasmanian Guineas over 1600m at Hobart in Tasmania before crossing the Tasman to win this event in exciting fashion for trainer Scott Brunton.

Recent CS Hayes Stakes winners include Grunt (2018) and Hey Doc (2017).

2019 CS Hayes Stakes result

1. $11.00 The Inevitable 56.0 Ms Sigrid Carr
2. $8.00 Age Of Chivalry 55.0 Damian Lane
3. $10.00 O'Tauto 55.0 Dwayne Dunn

then followed
4. $9.00 Ranier 57.5 Craig Williams
5. $51.00 Expansion 55.0 Stephen Baster
6. $15.00 Scottish Rogue 55.0 Luke Currie
7. $7.00 Chapada 55.0 Damien Oliver
8. $4.40 Adana 55.0 James McDonald
9. $91.00 Stars Of Carrum 57.5 Ben Melham
10. $8.00 Extra Brut 57.5 Michael Walker
11. $41.00 Starouz 55.0 Beau Mertens
12. $26.00 Vassilator 56.0 Jamie Kah
13. $31.00 More Sundays 55.0 Regan Bayliss
14. $13.00 Performer 57.5 Corey Brown
15. $31.00 Mickey Blue Eyes 56.0 Luke Nolen

Margins: 0.1 len, 2 len
Time: 1:21.99

Bet now on the CS Hayes Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best CS Hayes Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

CS Hayes Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 The Inevitable Age Of Chivalry O'Tauto 1:21.9
2018 Grunt Cliff's Edge Muraaqeb 1:21.5
2017 Hey Doc Malaise Land Of Plenty 1:22.8
2016 Tivaci Palentino Tulsa 1:22.7
2015 Wandjina Disposition Stratum Star 1:22.2
2014 Hucklebuck Prince Harada The Quarterback 1:22.9
2013 Sheer Talent Force Command Hosting 1:22.6
2012 That's The One Decircles Instinction/Highly Rec 1:22.0
2011 Bullbars Startsmeup Spirited Eagle 1:23.9
2010 Take The Rap Encosta Belief Extra Zero 1:23.2
2009 Fair Trade Cavalaire Bay Excelltastic 1:22.5
2008 Playwright Schilling Viatorian 1:23.6
2007 Wordsmith General Albert Mondano 1:10.8
2006 Minson Langarza Zigotto 1:21.6
2005 Lieutenant Mr Martini Barely A Moment 1:24.2
2004 Starcraft Under The Bridge Elvstroem 1:24.0
2003 Innovation Girl Delago Brom Tycoon Ruler 1:22.7
2002 Dash For Cash All Courage Royal Code 1:22.6
2001 Kosta Zoff Skalato Crop 1:22.3
2000 Crawl Pins Kapuna 1:22.7
1999 Mossman Marstic Radiant Sword 1:23.9
1998 Encounter Kilkea Second Coming 1:23.3
1997 Mouawad Alfa Toledo 1:21.8
1996 El Qahiras Son Scenic Royale Jacoby 1:23.1
1995 Rullene Don Pasquale Blevic 1:25.7
1994 Mahogany Mr Mutual Respect Lets Cut Loose 1:24.8
1993 McBrave Redding From The Park 1:22.0
1992 Coolong Road Jolly Old Mac Dappers Hope 1:22.9
1991 The Strategist Sealed Bid Trisette 1:24.6
1990 Zabeel Nosey Knight Zaparri 1:12.1
1989 Tin Woodman Speeding Fine Vitalic 1:21.9
1988 Spacecraft Sky Chase Uncle Sid 1:23.4