, Alister Clark Stakes | Moonee Valley Racecourse | Melbourne Autumn Carnival
horse racing info

Alister Clark Stakes

The Alister Clark Stakes is a Group 2 race for three-year-old colts and geldings that takes place annually each March at Moonee Valley racecourse in Melbourne during the Melbourne autumn racing carnival. The race is run under set weights & penalty conditions over a distance of 2040 metres and is worth $200,000 in prize money. The 2020 Alister Clark Stakes was taken out by Nonconformist from Adelaide Ace with Diasonic third.

From 1973-1986, the Alister Clark Stakes was run over 1600 metres, while from 1987 to 1997 it was run over the Cox Plate distance of 2040 metres. The distance then reverted back to 1600m up until 2010, before changing back to 2040m from then onwards. It is now run over the same distance as the Moonee Valley Racing Club's major race, the Group 1 WS Cox Plate.

Alister Clark Stakes info

Date: Friday 12th March 2021
Track: Moonee Valley racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2040 metres
Race Type: 3yo C&G - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $200,000
2020 Winner: Nonconformist

The Alister Clark Stakes is a good quality three-year-old race for colts & geldings held on a Friday night under lights during the Moonee Valley autumn racing carnival, one week before the Group 1 William Reid Stakes at the same track.

Over the years the Alister Clark Stakes has unearthed a number of potential stars, with horses such as Titanic Jack (2003), Blevic (1995), Naturalism (1992), Durbridge (1991) and Zabeel (1990) all winning this race.

The Group 2 Autumn Classic at Caulfield and the Group 3 CS Hayes Stakes at Flemington are good lead up races to this event. Global Exchange (2019), Tally (2016) and Spinney (2006) are the most recent Autumn Classic & Alister Clark Stakes double winners, while Lieutenant (2005) is the last winner of the CS Hayes Stakes & Alister Clark Stakes double.

Above average three-year-olds contesting this event might consider heading over to the Adelaide autumn racing carnival for easier black type races and October Date (4th in 2015) managed to win the Group 3 SA Chairmans Stakes at Morphettville after running fourth in the Alister Clark Stakes.

The 2012 Alister Clark Stakes provided the winner of the Group 1 ATC Australian Derby at Randwick when Ethiopia (2nd in 2012) travelled to Sydney the following month to take out the feature three-year-old event for young stayers. Phillippi (2nd in 2013) also tasted feature race sucess in Sydney after running second in this race, winning the Group 2 Tulloch Stakes at Rosehill on Golden Slipper day.

Peter Gelagotis trained 3yo Hvasstan was first past the post in the 2013 Alister Clark Stakes but lost the race due to a positive swab to ibuprofen, which the Racing Appeals and Discplinary Board agreed was accidental. The race was awarded to second placegetter Philippi.

Global Exchange (2019) took out the Autumn Classic over 1800m at Caulfield before scoring the narrowest of victories in this event for the Ciaron Maher & David Eustace stable.

Recent Alister Clark Stakes winners include Cliff's Edge (2018) and Hardham (2017).

2020 Alister Clark Stakes result

1. $3.90 Nonconformist 57.0 Jordan Childs
2. $1.85 Adelaide Ace 57.0 John Allen
3. $13.00 Diasonic 57.0 Jamie Kah

then followed
4. $6.00 Miami Bound 55.0 Damien Oliver
5. $14.00 Think 'n' Fly 57.0 Craig Williams
6. $41.00 Liam's The Boss 57.0 Ms Linda Meech

Margins: 3.25 len, 1.75 len
Time: 2:06.13

Bet now on the Alister Clark Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Alister Clark Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Alister Clark Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Nonconformist Adelaide Ace Diasonic 2:06.1
2019 Global Exchange Declarationofheart Cossetot 2:07.2
2018 Cliff's Edge Levendi Belfast 2:06.2
2017 Hardham Ruthven Farson 2:05.7
2016 Tally Palentino Hardern 2:08.3
2015 Chill Party Stratum Star Maastricht 2:06.1
2014 Pheidon Cadillac Mountain Surge Ahead 2:06.6
2013 Philippi Sheer Talent Gerontius 2:05.6
2012 Highly Recommended Ethiopia Sangster 2:08.6
2011 Domesky Coldens Choice Folding Gear 2:06.6
2010 Linton Take The Rap Offhanded 1:39.4
2009 Pre Eminence Eagle Falls Definitive 1:37.1
2008 Sound Journey Playwright Schilling 1:35.8
2007 Casino Prince Furio Ambitious General 1:36.3
2006 Spinney Langarza Bonny Laird 1:36.7
2005 Lieutenant Volitant Renewable 1:38.9
2004 Speedy King Confectioner Strafed 1:37.8
2003 Titanic Jack Tycoon Ruler Regicide 1:37.7
2002 Royal Code Ebony Night Mr Trickster 1:38.2
2001 Mr Murphy Diamond Dane Fubu 1:31.0
2000 Pins Diatribe Oval Office 1:36.2
1999 Dignity Dancer Mossman Paris Dream 1:36.6
1998 Zonda El Mirada Schubert 1:36.4
1997 Flak Jacket Maximal Captain Moonlight 2:13.4
1996 Scenic Royale Saleous Hurricane Storm 2:06.8
1995 Blevic Baryshnikov Ramleigh 2:02.7
1994 Tristalove Sari Club Galaxy Fair 2:04.8
1993 Sarason Our Pompeii Pine Rad 2:03.1
1992 Naturalism Captain Cook Dark Ksar 2:06.3
1991 Durbridge Triscay Big Dermott 2:03.5
1990 Zabeel Stylish Century Grayden Gambler 2:01.5
1989 Bar Landy King's High Blazing Sword 2:04.5
1988 Flotilla Mr Danamite Imposera 2:03.5