, Autumn Classic - Caulfield Racecourse - Melbourne Autumn Carnival
horse racing info

Autumn Classic

The Autumn Classic is a Group 2 race for three-year-olds that takes place late February at Caulfield racecourse in Melbourne during the Melbourne autumn racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1800 metres and has prize money of $200,000. The 2020 Autumn Classic was won by Adelaide Ace from Nonconformist with Legion Of Merit third.

Taking place on the Melbourne Racing Club's major race day of the autumn, Blue Diamond Stakes day, the Autumn Classic is held alongside the Group 1 Blue Diamond Stakes, Group 1 Futurity Stakes and Group 1 Oakleigh Plate.

Autumn Classic info

Date: Saturday 20th February 2021
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1800 metres
Race Type: 3yo - Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $200,000
2020 Winner: Adelaide Ace

The Autumn Classic is a handy race for three-year-olds that tends to attract above average types and gives them the chance to race over further than a mile in the autumn. The race will usually attract competitors that may head on to a race like the Group 2 Alister Clark Stakes at Moonee Valley in March. Global Exchange (2019) is the last winner of the Autumn Classic & Alister Clark Stakes double.

The better 3yo gallopers might head north to the Sydney autumn racing carnival for the big prize money on offer against their own age, or they may consider tackling stronger class open races over 2000m like the Group 1 Australian Cup in March or the Group 3 Easter Cup in April.

Over the years some quality types have won this race, including Elvstroem (2004), Dignity Dancer (1999), Triscay (1991) and Stylish Century (1990). In recent times the Autumn Classic has been taken out by more than handy types rather than the elite and typically the winner will just be an above average three-year-old.

Adelaide Ace (2020) ran third in the Group 2 Autumn Stakes over 1400m at Caulfield before leading his rivals a merry dance to win this event in smart style for the Lyndsey Smith stable.

Recent Autumn Classic winners include Global Exchange (2019) and Valiant Spirit (2018)..

2020 Autumn Classic result

1. $2.50 Adelaide Ace 57.0 John Allen
2. $5.50 Nonconformist 57.0 Jordan Childs
3. $21.00 Legion Of Merit 57.0 Billy Egan

then followed
4. $26.00 Influential Jack 57.0 Damian Lane
5. $10.00 Think 'n' Fly 57.0 Mark Zahra
6. $26.00 Hi Stranger 57.0 Jye McNeil
7. $18.00 Rebel Racer 57.0 Craig Williams
8. $3.60 Miami Bound 55.0 Damien Oliver
9. $41.00 Antagoniser 57.0 Dean Yendall

Margins: 1.25 len, 3 len
Time: 1:48.96

Other group races on Blue Diamond Stakes day include the Group 2 St George Stakes, Group 2 Angus Armanasco Stakes & Group 3 Mannerism Stakes.

Bet now on the Autumn Classic

We recommended Unibet for the best Autumn Classic odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Autumn Classic winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Adelaide Ace Nonconformist Legion Of Merit 1:48.9
2019 Global Exchange Cossetot Aramayo 1:48.7
2018 Valiant Spirit Astoria Mr So And So 1:49.4
2017 Farson Cliff Hanger Captain Rhett 1:49.4
2016 Tally Flying Light Top Ravine 1:49.1
2015 Alpine Eagle Minnesinger Firehouse Rock 1:48.4
2014 Vilanova Countersnip Alpha Beat 1:51.0
2013 Super Cool Fiveandahalfstar Subiaso 1:49.8
2012 Upbeat Flashy Fella Ethiopia 1:50.0
2011 Folding Gear Elusive King Almindoro 1:48.1
2010 Extra Zero Absolute Faith Money Rocks 1:50.6
2009 Stokehouse Excelltastic Zapurple 1:49.7
2008 Brom Brom Allanthus Buca Di Bacco 1:51.4
2007 Ambitious General Danever Furio 1:48.9
2006 Spinney Silver Ninja Cinderella Man 1:48.1
2005 Renewable Stella Grande Dizelle 1:50.1
2004 Elvstroem Delzao Strafed 1:49.1
2003 Natural Blitz Glefti Gallic 1:49.4
2002 Don Eduardo Royal Code All Courage 1:49.4
2001 Fubu Neptunes Journey Inspire 1:47.5
2000 Pins Oval Office Crawl 1:50.6
1999 Dignity Dancer Danske Mossman 1:47.5
1998 Gold Guru El Mirada Zonda 1:48.9
1997 Silver Glade Joegah Tampir Lane 1:50.9
1996 Iron Horse Scenic Royale Video Prince 1:49.3
1995 Hurricane Sky St Covet Baryshnikov 1:49.5
1994 Waikikamukau Mapperleys Star Sari Club 1:47.3
1993 Redding Air Seattle Imposing Bull 1:49.0
1992 Laranto Famous Nick Ready To Explore 1:49.8
1991 Triscay Durbridge My Eagle Eye 1:48.4
1990 Stylish Century Zabeel Western Frontier 1:48.2
1989 Kings High Livistona Lane Outgun 1:47.7
1988 Mr Danamite Lygon Arms Spacecraft 1:55.9