, William Reid Stakes | Moonee Valley Racecourse | Group 1 Race
horse racing info

William Reid Stakes

The William Reid Stakes is a Group 1 Weight-for-age race held each year in March at Moonee Valley racecourse in Melbourne. It is run over the sprint distance of 1200 metres and is worth $500,000 in prize money. The 2020 William Reid Stakes was won by Loving Gaby from Gytrash with Bivouac third.

From 1996 to 2010 the race was run as the 'Australia Stakes', but reverted back to its original name of the 'William Reid Stakes' since the 2010/2011 racing season.

William Reid Stakes info

Date: Friday 19th March 2021
Track: Moonee Valley racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $500,000
2020 Winner: Loving Gaby
bet now William Reid Stakes odds

The William Reid Stakes is a good horse's race and attracts high quality weight-for-age sprinters every year, who may come from races like the Group 1 Oakleigh Plate at Caulfield in February or the Group 1 Newmarket Handicap on Super Saturday at Flemington earlier in March.

Horses tackling this event may have previously contested the weight-for-age Group 1 Lightning Stakes on their way to this race and in recent times both Apache Cat (2008) and Miss Andretti (2007) won the Lightning Stakes before being going on to win the William Reid Stakes. Sunlight (2019) is the last galloper to capture the Newmarket Handicap & William Reid Stakes double. Spirit Of Boom (2014) finished second behind Lankan Rupee in both the Oakleigh Plate and the Newmarket Handicap before scoring a narrow victory in the William Reid Stakes.

Over the years some champion sprinters have won this race, including Black Caviar (2011 & 2013), Apache Cat (2008-09) & Miss Andretti (2007) most recently, while horses of the calibre of Hareeba (1995), Redelva (1991) and Zeditave (1989) have saluted in this event in the not so distant past.

Champion sprinter Manikato won this race five years in succession from 1979-1983 in a feat that is unlikely to ever be equalled and the Gr 1 Manikato Stakes in September at Moonee Valley is named in honour of the great galloper.

Female jockey Katelyn Mallyon captured her first first Group 1 victory when she guided Silent Sedition (2017) to victory in the William Reid Stakes.

Sunlight (2019) took out the Newmarket Handicap over 1200m at Flemington before proving too classy for her rivals in this event for the Tony McEvoy stable.

Recent William Reid Stakes winners include Hellbent (2018) and Silent Sedition (2017).

2020 William Reid Stakes result

1. $5.50 Loving Gaby 54.0 Craig Williams
2. $15.00 Gytrash 58.5 Mark Zahra
3. $2.10 Bivouac 56.0 Hugh Bowman

then followed
4. $13.00 Pippie 56.5 Ben Melham
5. $21.00 Mystic Journey 56.5 Anthony Darmanin
6. $8.00 Exceedance 56.0 Tommy Berry
7. $31.00 Vital Silver 58.5 Jye McNeil
8. $41.00 Embrace Me 56.5 Damien Oliver
9. $14.00 Scales Of Justice 58.5 Dean Yendall
10. $101.00 Rock Magic 58.5 Michael Dee
11. $26.00 Zoutori 58.5 Damian Lane

Margins: 1.25 len, 1.5 len
Time: 1:09.44

The Group 2 Sunline Stakes and Group 3 Alexandra Stakes are also held on William Reid Stakes night at Mooney Valley.

Bet now on the William Reid Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best William Reid Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

William Reid Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Loving Gaby Gytrash Bivouac 1:09.4
2019 Sunlight Spright Ellicazoom 1:09.7
2018 Hellbent Thronum Catchy 1:09.3
2017 Silent Sedition Hellbent Star Turn 1:10.1
2016 Flamberge Holler Japonisme 1:09.8
2015 Lucky Hussler Vain Queen Griante 1:10.3
2014 Spirit Of Boom Fontelina Unpretentious 1:11.1
2013 Black Caviar Karuta Queen Fawkner 1:11.0
2012 Foxwedge Hay List Buffering 1:10.2
2011 Black Caviar Crystal Lily Hinchinbrook 1:10.0
2010 Turffontein Wanted Sniper's Bullet 1:11.6
2009 Apache Cat Vormista Time Thief 1:09.6
2008 Apache Cat Stanzout Monet Rules 1:09.6
2007 Miss Andretti Any Suggestion Rewaaya 1:10.2
2006 Virage De Fortune Rewaaya Undue 1:10.0
2005 Cape Of Good Hope Super Elegant Spark Of Life 1:10.3
2004 Regimental Gal Our Egyptian Raine Legally Bay 1:10.3
2003 Yell Dash For Cash Spinning Hill 1:10.5
2002 Toledo Show A Heart North Boy 1:11.8
2001 Bomber Bill Scenic Warrior Nina Haraka 1:11.4
2000 Miss Pennymoney Redoutes Choice St Chrisoph 1:10.7
1999 Grand Archway Theatre Flavour 1:10.9
1998 Stella Cadente Al Mansour Spartacus 1:11.7
1997 Spartacus Mahogany Khaptingly 1:10.3
1996 Strategic Ranchos Coup Brawny Spirit 1:11.0
1995 Hareeba Spanish Mix Schillaci 1:07.9
1994 Lady Jakeo Hareeba Primacy 1:09.1
1993 Spanish Mix Schillaci Tanjian Prince 1:08.8
1992 Wrap Around Storaia Jakpil 1:09.2
1991 Redelva Mister Till With Me 1:09.6
1990 Lightning Bend Strawberry Ranch Stylish Century 1:09.0
1989 Zeditave Vo Rogue Special 1:09.5
1988 Vo Rogue Military Plume Groucho 1:09.9