horse racing info

Australian Guineas

The Australian Guineas is a Group 1 race for three-year-olds held each year in March at Flemington racecourse in Melbourne, Victoria. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres under set weight conditions and offers prize money of $750,000. The 2019 Australian Guineas was won by Mystic Journey from Hawkshot with Amphitrite third.

Held on the first day of the two-day VRC autumn carnival, the Australian Guineas is the only Group 1 race for three-year-olds during the Melbourne autumn racing carnival and takes place one week before Super Saturday of Racing at Flemington, where the Group 1 Newmarket Handicap & Group 1 Australian Cup are the highlights of the day.

Australian Guineas info

Date: Saturday 29th February 2020
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: 3yo - Set Weights
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $750,000
2019 Winner: Mystic Journey
bet now Australian Guineas odds

The Australian Guineas is the premier mile event for three-year-old gallopers during the autumn racing carnival and always assembles the best 3yo gallopers around at the time. Since its inception in 1986, the Australian Guineas has grown to become a prestigious event on the racing calendar for three-year-olds looking for ultimate black type success.

The Group 3 CS Hayes Stakes for colts & geldings & Group 3 The Vanity Stakes for fillies are widely recognised as the ideal lead-up races to this event. Grunt (2017), Hey Doc (2017) and Wandjina (2015) have all claimed the CS Hayes Stakes and Australian Guineas double in recent years. Classy fillies Shamrocker (2011) and Mosheen (2012) ran fourth & second respectively in The Vanity Stakes before tasting success in the Australian Guineas.

The 2009 Australian Guiineas produced multiple group winners throughout the rest of the racing year and proved to be a pivotal running of the race for future group race winners. Set For Fame (2nd in 2010) managed to win the Group 2 Caulfield Sprint the following spring, while Linton (3rd in 2010) was successful in the Group 2 Herbert Power Stakes.

Generally any three-year-olds who perform well in this event tend to go on to bigger and better things as older horses and quite often win something of note later in their career. Smart galloper Shamus Award (2014) took out the Group 1 WS Cox Plate the following spring after winning this race as a three-year-old.

Grunt (2018), like Hey Doc (2017) the previous year, took out the CS Hayes Stakes over 1400m at Flemington before scoring a strong finishing victory in this event and recent Australian Guineas winners include Palentino (2016) and Wandjina (2015).

2019 Australian Guineas result

1. $4.00 Mystic Journey 54.5 Anthony Darmanin
2. $7.00 Hawkshot 56.5 Mark Zahra
3. $4.20 Amphitrite 54.5 Craig Williams

then followed
4. $7.50 Ringerdingding 56.5 John Allen
5. $26.00 Dealmaker 56.5 Michael Dee
6. $19.00 Long Leaf 56.5 Jamie Kah
7. $26.00 Declarationofheart 56.5 Damian Lane
8. $11.00 The Inevitable 56.5 Ms Sigrid Carr
9. $31.00 Stars Of Carrum 56.5 Ben Melham
10. $41.00 O'tauto 56.5 Dwayne Dunn
11. $201.00 Performer 56.5 Stephen Baster
12. $41.00 Ranier 56.5 Craig Newitt
13. $16.00 Extra Brut 56.5 Michael Walker
14. $41.00 Adana 56.5 Luke Nolen
15. $101.00 Scottish Rogue 56.5 Luke Currie
16. $31.00 Chapada 56.5 Damien Oliver

Margins: 2.25 len, 0.45 len
Time: 1:35.79

The Group 3 Frances Tressady Stakes and Group 3 Shaftesbury Avenue Hcp also take place on Australian Guineas day at Flemington.

Bet now on the Australian Guineas

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Australian Guineas odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Australian Guineas winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Mystic Journey Hawkshot Amphitrite 1:35.7
2018 Grunt Peaceful State Bring Me Roses 1:34.9
2017 Hey Doc Prized Icon Snitzson 1:34.0
2016 Palentino Tarzino Risque 1:35.2
2015 Wandjina Alpine Eagle Stratum Star 1:35.1
2014 Shamus Award Criterion Thunder Fantasy 1:36.4
2013 Ferlax You're So Good Sheer Talent 1:35.0
2012 Mosheen Strike The Stars Mister Milton 1:37.0
2011 Shamrocker Bullbars Playing God 1:35.3
2010 Rock Classic Set For Fame Linton 1:36.8
2009 Heart Of Dreams Von Costa De Hero Lucky Thunder 1:35.8
2008 Light Fantastic Marching Playwright 1:36.4
2007 Miss Finland Casino Prince Jokers Wild 1:36.0
2006 Apache Cat Darcy Brahma Thin And Crispy 1:34.0
2005 Al Maher Danehill Express Econsul 1:34.4
2004 Reset Starcraft Under The Bridge 1:34.5
2003 Delago Brom Tycoon Ruler Thorn Park 1:35.9
2002 Dash For Cash Royal Code Ustinov 1:35.3
2001 Mr Murphy Neptunes Journey Outgate 1:34.4
2000 Pins Freemason Hades 2:02.3
1999 Dignity Dancer Mossman Lease 1:59.0
1998 Gold Guru Zonda Il Don 2:00.5
1997 Mouawad O'Reilly Tarnpir Lane 1:36.5
1996 Flying Spur Saleous Video Prince 1:34.9
1995 Baryshnikov Hurricane Sky St Covet 1:34.6
1994 Mahogany Pride Of Rancho Mr Mutual Respect 1:34.9
1993 Kennys Best Pal Sarason From The Park 1:35.0
1992 Jolly Old Mac Naturalism Laranto 1:34.0
1991 Triscay My Eagle Eye Centro/Durbridge 1:35.8
1990 Zabeel Ark Regal Academian 1:37.3
1989 Kings High Vitalic Sir Midas 1:35.9
1988 Flotilla Sky Chase Spacecraft 1:35.2