, Rubiton Stakes - Caulfield Racecourse - Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival
horse racing info

Rubiton Stakes

The Rubiton Stakes is a Group 2 sprint race that takes place annually in February at Caulfield racecourse in Melbourne, Victoria. This race is run over a distance of 1100m under set weight & penalties conditions and offers prize money of $200,000. The 2020 Rubiton Stakes was won by Anaheed from Bold Star and All Too Royal in third place.

The Rubiton Stakes is held on Group 1 CF Orr Stakes day, the second biggest raceday of the Melbourne Racing Club's autumn carnival, behind Group 1 Blue Diamond Stakes day. Formerly a Group 3 event, the race was upgraded to Group 2 status for the 2013/2014 racing season.

Rubiton Stakes info

Date: Saturday 6th February 2021
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1100 metres
Race Type: Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $200,000
2020 Winner: Anaheed
bet now 2022 Rubiton Stakes odds

The Rubiton Stakes is a good quality weight-for-age sprint race for the time of the year and has been won by some talented types throughout the years. Classy gallopers such as Eagle Falls (2012), Here De Angels (2010 & 2008), Flavour (1999), Spartacus (1997), Schillaci (1995), Redelva (1991) and Zeditave (1989) have all won this event.

Quality gallopers resuming from a spell are suited to the Rubiton Stakes. It provides an attractive proposition for talented sprinters heading towards upcoming feature sprints during the Melbourne autumn racing carnival. Above average in-form types can also test themselves in this event by tackling better class horses.

The Rubiton Stakes offers the ideal tune-up for the Group 1 Lightning Stakes at Flemington, or Caulfield's premier autumn sprint, the upcoming Group 1 Oakleigh Plate. Eagle Falls (7th in 2011) won the Oakleigh Plate at his next start, while Avenue (2nd in 2011) finished runner-up in the same race. Highly rated sprinter Lankan Rupee (2014) was the last galloper to claim the Rubiton Stakes & Oakleigh Plate double.

Smart weight-for-age sprinters contesting this race might also go on and tackle the prestigious Group 1 William Reid Stakes at Moonee Valley in March, as it is run under the same conditions but over 1200 metres.

Anaheed (2020) resumed from a spell in outstanding style to score a scintillating victory in this event for the Peter & Paul Snowden stable.

Recent Rubiton Stakes winners include Nature Strip (2019) and Super Cash (2017-2018).

2020 Rubiton Stakes result

1. $2.90 Anaheed 54.0 Tim Clark
2. $9.50 Bold Star 58.0 Craig Williams
3. $8.50 All Too Royal 58.0 Jye McNeil

then followed
4. $26.00 Causeway Girl 55.0 Luke Currie
5. $11.00 Admiral's Joker 58.0 Ben Thompson
6. $5.50 Age Of Chivalry 57.0 Damian Lane
7. $14.00 Wild Planet 58.0 Dwayne Dunn
8. $31.00 Runson 57.0 Mark Zahra
9. $5.50 Sartorial Splendor 55.5 Jamie Kah

Margins: 1.25 len, 0.40 len
Time: 1:02.12

Other group races on CF Orr Stakes day include the Group 2 Autumn Stakes, Group 3 Geoffrey Bellmaine Stakes, Group 3 Blue Diamond Prelude (C&G), Group 2 Blue Diamond Prelude (F), Group 3 Carlyon Cup & Boronia Stakes.

Bet now on the Rubiton Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Rubiton Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Rubiton Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Anaheed Bold Star All Too Royal 1:02.1
2019 Nature Strip Jungle Edge Thermal Current 1:03.1
2018 Super Cash Flamberge Merchant Navy 1:04.5
2017 Super Cash I Am A Star Chautauqua 1:02.6
2016 Heatherly Politeness Just A Bullet 1:02.2
2015 Chautauqua Flamberge Atmospherical 1:02.3
2014 Lankan Rupee Iconic First Command 1:02.5
2013 Adebisi Rescue Mission Big Buddie 1:03.3
2012 Eagle Falls First Command Hot Spin 1:03.8
2011 Catapulted Avenue Solar Charged 1:02.2
2010 Here De Angels Lucky Secret Rostova 1:01.7
2009 Mind Your Head =2 Happy Glen =2 Lucky Secret 1:03.4
2008 Here De Angels Let Go Thommo Raid The Royals 1:03.8
2007 Dance The Waves Barabba Road Message Bank 1:02.9
2006 Bomber Bill Whats The Mail Live In Vain 0:56.6
2005 Super Elegant Truly Wicked Sensational Spot 1:03.4
2004 Super Elegant Ruben Step Ahead 1:02.3
2003 Super Elegant Azevedo Sir Chuckle 1:02.9
2002 Intelligent Star Bomber Bill Sudurka 1:01.6
2001 Appoint Bomber Bill Cullen 1:02.4
2000 Miss Pennymoney St Chrisoph Paint 1:02.4
1999 Flavour Theatre Paint 1:02.4
1998 Al Mansour Special Dane Towkay 1:03.9
1997 Spartacus Regal Centre Flavour 1:02.9
1996 Stalk Sequalo Poetic King 0:56.6
1995 Schillaci Alannon Sequalo 0:56.8
1994 Alannon Lady Jakeo Durbridge 0:56.6
1993 Schillaci Tanjian Prince King Marauding 0:55.0
1992 Mavournae Umatilla Sonic Express 0:56.1
1991 Redelva Wrap Around Street Ruffian 0:56.6
1990 Kingston Heritage Strawberry Ranch Princely Heart 0:57.5
1989 Zeditave Clay Hero Caledonian Boy 0:57.1