horse racing info

Myer Classic

The Myer Classic is a Group 1 weight-for-age race for fillies & mares held annually at Flemington during the Melbourne spring racing carnival in late October or early November. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres and worth $500,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Myer Classic was won by Shillelagh from Bring Me Roses with Fundamentalist third.

This quality females only race is held on Derby Day on the opening day of the four-day Melbourne Cup Carnival and just three days before the Melbourne Cup. All races on Derby Day are group races with three more Group 1 events on the card, the Cantala Stakes, AAMI Victoria Derby and Coolmore Stud Stakes.

Myer Classic info

Date: Saturday 2nd November 2019
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: Fillies & Mares - Weight for age
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $500,000
2018 Winner: Shillelagh
myer classic Myer Classic odds

The Myer Classic has had a number of name changes over the years and has been known as the 'The Honda Legend' and 'Hardy Brothers Classic' amongst a few others. In 2003 the race became Group 2 level and the race conditions were changed from 'set weights & penalties' to 'weight for age' and three-year-old fillies were allowed to run. The Myer Classic obtained Group 1 status in 2004 which gave Derby day four group one races for the day.

The best fillies & mares in Australia and New Zealand generally contest this event and it's a classic mile race for females that is the premier mares event of the spring in Melbourne.

Races like the Gr2 Rose Of Kingston Stakes and Gr2 Tristarc Stakes have previously been a good guide to this event and the better quality fillies or mares have a distinct advantage due to the level weight conditions of the race.

Mares from this race tend to race in similar mares events or quality open handicaps over a mile to middle distance and are capable of winning or being very competitive.

Shillelagh (2018) ran fourth in the Gr1 Toorak Handicap over 1600m at Caulfield before scoring a classy victory in this event for the Chris Waller stable.

Recent Myer Classic winners include Shoals (2017) and I Am A Star (2016).

ladbrokes odds

Enjoy top odds on a variety of horse racing betting markets.

Spring Carnival Guide

The Myer Classic attracts the best 1600 metre fillies & mares from around the country and the race has been won by some more than handy females, although no winner in the past twenty years has gone on to win either the Caulfield Cup, WS Cox Plate or Melbourne Cup.

Darren Weir trained mare Kenedna (unp in 2018) captured the Gr2 Matriarch Stakes at Flemington at her next start.

The better class gallopers tend to go on to the bigger mile races to come, such as the Gr1 Emirates Stakes at Flemington or the Gr1 Railway Stakes at Ascot in Perth.

Smart mare Fire Up Fifi (3rd in 2013) headed west to finish third in the Railway Stakes, while Divine Madonna (2007) won this race after winning the Gr1 Emirates stakes the previous spring, as did Bonanova (1998) who took out the 1997 Emirates Stakes.

2018 Myer Classic result

1. $6.50 Shillelagh 57.0 James McDonald
2. $41.00 Bring Me Roses 57.0 Damien Oliver
3. $13.00 Fundamentalist 50.0 Ben Thompson

then followed
4. $31.00 Bella Martini 57.0 Brenton Avdulla
5. $51.00 Invincible Gem 57.0 Corey Brown
6. $18.00 Seabrook 50.0 Michael Dee
7. $51.00 Temple Of Bel 57.0 Luke Currie
8. $10.00 Invincibella 57.0 Hugh Bowman
9. $26.00 Eckstein 57.0 Kerrin McEvoy
10. $15.00 Aloisia 57.0 Michael Walker
11. $4.20 Amphitrite 50.0 Dean Yendall
12. $6.00 Oohood 50.0 Craig Williams
13. $41.00 Kenedna 57.0 Damian Lane
14. $16.00 I Am A Star 57.0 Ben Melham
15. $101.00 La Bella Diosa 57.0 Mark Zahra
16. $12.00 Shumookh 57.0 Tim Clark

Margins: 1.25 len, 0.1 len
Time: 1:34.86

Bet now on the Myer Classic

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Myer Classic odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Myer Classic winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Shillelagh Bring Me Roses Fundamentalist 1:34.8
2017 Shoals Eckstein Dixie Blossoms 1:35.2
2016 I Am A Star French Emotion Denmagic 1:35.5
2015 Politeness Fenway Azkadellia 1:37.7
2014 Bonaria Sweet Idea Catkins 1:36.5
2013 Red Tracer Catkins Fire Up Fifi 1:36.4
2012 Appearance Soft Sand Secret Admirer 1:34.9
2011 Hurtle Myrtle Sacred Choice Dysphonia 1:37.5
2010 Sacred Choice Typhoon Tracy Hot Danish 1:38.9
2009 Typhoon Tracy Lady Lynette Zarita 1:35.3
2008 Forensics Absolutely Fabulous Mimi Lebrock 1:35.9
2007 Divine Madonna Translate Red for Lou 1:36.1
2006 Lyrical Bid Sea Change Kosi Bay 1:37.6
2005 Lotteria Miss Potential Shania Dane 1:35.4
2004 Miss Potential Alinghi Infinite Grace 1:37.5
2003 Zanna Infinite Grace Mrs Tendulkar 1:38.4
2002 Miss Zoe Purple Groove Ramanos Star 1:35.8
2001 Market Price Pernod Calm Smytzer 1:34.2
2000 Super Sequel Its Platonic Nova Claus 1:37.8
1999 Noircir Veil Our Erin 1:36.4
1998 Bonanova Lucys Way Graceful Encounter 1:37.1
1997 Prairie On A Swing Spectrum 1:36.8
1996 Rose Of Portland Gold City Miss Margaret 1:36.0
1995 Aunty Mary Our Marquise Tolanda 1:34.8
1994 Sedately Centisle Bon Precieux 1:37.6
1993 Mingling Glances Excited Angel Jon Jons Pet 1:39.8
1992 Excited Angel Something Wicked Beach Charm 1:38.5
1991 Western Chorus Marinella Holiday Lover 1:35.5
1990 Natural Wonder Ice Cream Sundae Our Grey Invader 1:36.9
1989 Echo Lass Modesty On Ice Dowager Empress 1:37.6
1988 Concordance Knightly Glimmer Lady Marita 1:35.8