, Coolmore Stud Stakes - Flemington Racecourse - Spring Racing Carnival
horse racing info

Coolmore Stud Stakes

The Coolmore Stud Stakes (formerly the Ascot Vale Stakes) is a Group 1 set weights event for three-year-olds held at Flemington racecourse in late October or early November each year during the Melbourne Spring racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres down the Flemington 'straight six' course and worth $1,000,000 in prize money. The 2019 Coolmore Stud Stakes was won by Exceedance from Bivouac with Libertini third.

This race takes place on Derby Day on the first day of the four-day Melbourne Cup Carnival at Flemington. The Coolmore Stud Stakes is held alongside the Group 1 AAMI Victoria Derby, Group 1 Cantala Stakes and Group 1 Empire Rose Stakes.

Coolmore Stud Stakes info

Date: Saturday 30th October 2021
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 3yo - Set Weights
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $1,000,000
2019 Winner: Exceedance
coolmore stakes odds Coolmore Stakes odds

The Coolmore Stud Stakes came about when the 'Ascot Vale Stakes' race date was moved in 2006 from early in the spring to be held on Derby Day as part of the Flemington four-day Melbourne Cup carnival where the best horses are found. The race was afforded Group 1 status and in 2007 the race was re-named the Coolmore Stud Stakes.

The new date and elite race status for the Coolmore Stud Stakes has changed the way some three-year-olds are now prepared for the premier three-year-old events of the Melbourne spring, with a number still tackling the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas over 1600m at Caulfield but then being freshened up for the shorter 1200m distance of the Coolmore Stud Stakes.

In the tradition of the Ascot Vale Stakes, the Coolmore Stud Stakes attracts quality three-year-old sprinters to make this race an exciting spectacle on Derby Day.

Recent winners Brazen Beau (2014) and Zoustar (2013) both won the Gr2 Roman Consul Stakes at Randwick on their way to winning the Coomore Stud Stakes while Japonisme (2015) ran third in the Roman Consul Stakes before winning this event.

The winning honour role for this race includes many of Australia's finest sprinters, including Sepoy (2011), Weekend Hussler (2007), Gold Edition (2006), Our Maizcay (1995), Zeditave (1987), Rancher (1982), Manikato (1978), Surround (1976) and champion Vain (1969).

The winner and placegetters of the Coolmore Stud Stakes often go on to success in some of Australia's premier sprint races while those gallopers who finish behind the placegetters can also figure prominently is some of our better sprint races in the future.

Sunlight (2018) finished unplaced in the Group 1 Manikato Stakes over 1200m at Moonee valley before proving too strong for her young male rivals in this event.

Recent Coolmore Stud Stakes winners include Merchant Navy (2017) and Flying Artie (2016).

2019 Coolmore Stud Stakes result

1. $3.80 Exceedance 57.0 Dwayne Dunn
2. $3.30 Bivouac 57.0 Hugh Bowman
3. $4.80 Libertini 55.0 Damien Oliver

then followed
4. $31.00 Li'l Kontra 55.0 Jamie Kah
5. $41.00 Brooklyn Hustle 55.0 Luke Nolen
6. $7.00 Cosmic Force 57.0 Tim Clark
7. $41.00 Alabama Express 57.0 James Winks
8. $20.00 Broadwayandfourth 55.0 Jye McNeil
9. $41.00 Sartorial Splendor 57.0 Ms Linda Meech
10. $26.00 Accession 57.0 Michael Walker
11. $101.00 Cardiff 57.0 John Allen
12. $201.00 Exeter 57.0 Jamie Mott
13. $31.00 Ruuca 57.0 Craig Williams

Margins: 0.4 len, 1.9 len
Time: 1:09.76

Bet now on the Coolmore Stud Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Coolmore Stud Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Coolmore Stud Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Exceedance Bivouac Libertini 1:09.7
2018 Sunlight Zousain Lean Mean Machine 1:08.7
2017 Merchant Navy Invincible Star Formality 1:09.1
2016 Flying Artie Astern Star Turn 1:08.9
2015 Japonisme Keen Array Counterattack 1:09.5
2014 Brazen Beau Delectation Kuro 1:10.7
2013 Zoustar Not Listenin' To Me Lion Of Belfort 1:09.2
2012 Nechita Jolie Bay Shamexpress 1:08.5
2011 Sepoy Foxwedge Satin Shoes 1:10.4
2010 Star Witness Curtana Shrapnel 1:09.9
2009 Headway King Pulse Shellscrape 1:08.5
2008 Northern Meteor Fist of Fury All American 1:10.5
2007 Weekend Hussler Bel Mer Scenic Blast 1:08.9
2006 Gold Edition Splashing Out Churchill Downs 1:09.6
2005 Ferocity Jadescent Undoubtedly 1:08.3
2004 Alinghi Barley A Moment Tirade 1:10.5
2003 Scaredee Cat Lago Delight Dilly Dally 1:08.8
2002 Innovation Girl Cool Trent Titanic Jack 1:10.8
2001 North Boy Ustinov Malagra Miss 1:09.6
2000 So Gorgeous Show A Heart Sort It Out 1:12.9
1999 Spargo Testa Rossa Fappianos Son 1:11.0
1998 Theatre City Kid Major Fun 1:10.0
1997 Show No Emotion Cornwall Queen Schubert 1:09.7
1996 Encosta De Lago Pimpala Prince My Duke 1:10.3
1995 Our Maizcay Gold Ace Strategic 1:08.2
1994 Racers Edge Blevic Cannibal King 1:09.2
1993 Brawny Spirit Bella Sereta Star Of Maple 1:11.8
1992 Quegent Primacy Just Juan 1:11.7
1991 Tierce Noble Lancer Diddy Do It 1:08.9
1990 Bureaucracy Storaia Canny Lad 1:09.1
1989 Courtza Prince Salieri Tango Master 1:10.0
1988 Zeditave Star Watch Clay Hero 1:09.1
1987 Kaapstad Lonely Dreamer Rancho Ruler 1:10.6
1986 Zephyr Cross Bounding Away Daring Jon 1:11.6
1985 Campaign King Rode Rouge Jackson Square 1:11.8
1984 Royal Troubador Lord Of Camelot Spirit Of Kingston 1:10.4
1983 Top Post Taminor Sentimental Lady 1:14.4
1982 Rancher Top Of The Pack Covetous 1:11.2
1981 Rose Of Kingston Copperama Fire Thunder 1:11.0
1980 Sardius Glenson Papal Bull 1:10.5
1979 Tolhurst Oenjay Star Bold Diplomat 1:11.9
1978 Manikato Karaman The Judge 1:09.6
1977 Ballyred Guns Away King Of The Stars 1:11.3
1976 Surround Bagalot Opposition 1:10.3
1975 Toy Show Lord Dudley His Worship 1:13.2