, Tristarc Stakes - Caulfield Racecourse - Spring Racing Carnival
horse racing info

Tristarc Stakes

The Tristarc Stakes is a Group 2 event for mares raced under set weights and penalty conditions over a distance of 1400 metres each year at Caulfield racecourse in Melbourne. The race is run over a distance of 1400 metres under set weight plus penalty conditions and worth $300,000 in prize money. The 2019 Tristarc Stakes was won by Savatiano from Angelic Ruler with Spanish Whisper third.

The race has been run as the 'Harrolds Stakes' in recent years and is held on the final day of the Melbourne Racing Club's three-day racing carnival on the same day as the MRC's premier race, the Group 1 Caulfield Cup.

Tristarc Stakes info

Date: Saturday 16th October 2021
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: 4yo Mares - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $300,000
2019 Winner: Savatiano

The Tristarc Stakes is a mares only race over the middle sprint distance of 1400m and generally attracts above average females on their way to the Group 1 Empire Rose Stakes on AAMI Victoria Derby day or the Gr2 Matriarch Stakes on Emirates Stakes day, or any of the better quality mares races still to come.

The set weights conditions of the race means that the better mares in the race have a distinct advantage over their rivals and those females with higher average prize money and better race records are typically the ones to beat.

Generally taken out by a more than handy mare, in recent times outstanding mares More Joyous (2011) and Typhoon Tracy (2009) have both won this race.

Savatiano (2019) ran fourth in the Group 2 Blazer Stakes over 1400m at Flemington before producing the goods in quality style for the James Cummings stable.

Recent Tristarc Stakes winners include Shumookh (2018) and Global Glamour (2017).

Spring Carnival Guide

Mares from this race will most likely continue on to other set weight mares events or one of the major 1600m races such as the Empire Rose Stakes over the carnival period. Recent Tristarc Stakes placegetters have gone on to enjoy success during the four-day Melbourne Cup Carnival at Flemington.

More recently, Shillelagh (2017) took on and beat the males in the Group 1 Cantala States at Flemington on Derby Day after finishing third here.

Red Tracer (2013) took out the Empire Rose Stakes at Flemington after winning the Tristarc Stakes and Fire Up Fifi (4th in 2013) ran third in the same race before travelling to Perth to run third in the Group 1 Railway Stakes at Ascot.

Sister Madly (2nd in 2011) won Gr2 Linlithgow Stakes on Group 1 Victoria Derby day and Jersey Lily (2nd in 2010) took out the Gr3 Maybe Mahal Stakes on Melbourne Cup day.

Prior to that Typhoon Tracy (2009) went on to win the the Empire Rose Stakes on Derby day, while Mimi Lebrock (2008) ran run third in the Empire Rose Stakes later that spring with Absolutelyfabulous (3rd in 2008) finishing runner-up in the same race.

Tan Tat De Lago (2nd in 2008) ran second in the Matriarch Stakes on Emirates Stakes day.

2019 Tristarc Stakes result

1. $7.00 Savatiano 57.0 Craig Williams
2. $8.00 Angelic Ruler 56.0 Damien Oliver
3. $31.00 Spanish Whisper 58.0 Jye McNeil

then followed
4. $4.00 Pohutukawa 57.0 Brad Rawiller
5. $10.00 Invincibella 59.0 Michael Walker
6. $8.50 Baccarat Baby 57.0 Micheal Hellyer
7. $26.00 Aristia 59.0 Damian Lane
8. $8.50 Jamaican Rain 57.0 Ben Melham
9. $41.00 Krone 56.0 Brett Prebble
=10 $51.00 Teleplay 56.0 Michael Dee
=10 $11.00 Naantali 56.0 Ben Allen
12. $11.00 Bella Martini 55.0 Dwayne Dunn
13. $31.00 Sheezdashing 55.0 Dean Yendall
14. $81.00 Etana 58.0 John Allen

Margins: 2.25 len, 0.45
Time: 1:24.23

Bet now on the Tristarc Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Tristarc Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Tristarc Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Savatiano Angelic Ruler Spanish Whisper 1:24.2
2018 Shumookh Invincibella Aloisia 1:25.6
2017 Global Glamour Cool Passion Shillelagh 1:23.8
2016 First Seal Tycoon Tara Pearls 1:25.1
2015 La Passe Solicit Jessy Belle 1:23.7
2014 Sweet Idea Girl Guide Catkins 1:25.4
2013 Red Tracer Koonoomoo Ava's Delight 1:23.1
2012 Streama Pear Tart Red Tracer 1:24.7
2011 More Joyous Sister Madly Response 1:22.8
2010 Culminate Jersey Lily Marquardt 1:26.5
2009 Typhoon Tracy Hot Danish Glowlamp 1:22.8
2008 Mimi Lebrock Tan Tat De Lago Absolutely Fabulous 1.23.3
2007 Miss Fantabulous Bellini Rose Like It Is 1:23.0
2006 Nuclear Free Belle Bizarre Divine Madonna 1:23.0
2005 Infinite Grace Candy Vale Storm Alert 1:22.1
2004 Our Egyptian Raine Infinite Grace Skewiff 1:24.5
2003 Infinite Grace Forum Floozie Faith Hill 1:23.0
2002 Reactive Gentle Genius Taimana 1:23.6
2001 Pernod Kaemess Calm Smyzer 1:24.2
2000 Lady Marion Pace Invader Spice Doll 1:23.0
1999 Bonanova Nicola Lass Fellowship 1:24.8
1998 Camino Rose Cannyanna Razor Blade 1:24.3
1997 Will Fly Bionic Bess Prefer An Angel 1:22.9
1996 Chlorophyll Rose Of Portland Courtly Qualms 1:24.2
1995 Bionic Bess Country Lane Mamzelle Pedrille 1:22.8
1994 Procrastinate Timeless Grace Viminaria/Arborea 1:23.4
1993 Mingling Glances Tarare Lets Hurry 1:23.0
1992 Danjiki Aunty Mary Normandy River 1:27.7
1991 Reno Belle Gamine Grey Rose 1:24.7
1990 Ice Cream Sundae Echo Lass Hazy Pond/Kates Myth 1:26.5
1989 Shanghai Escapade Salisopra Venardu 1:36.7
1988 My Abbey Concordance Lady Marita 1:37.4