horse racing info

Matriarch Stakes

The Matriarch Stakes is a Group 2 race for mares held at Flemington racecourse annually during the Melbourne spring racing carnival in November. The race is run over a distance of 2000 metres and worth $300,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Matriarch Stakes was won by Kenedna from Miss Siska with Luvaluva third.

Run as the 'Momentum Energy Stakes' in recent years, the Matriarch Stakes is held on Emirates Stakes day on the final day of the four-day Melbourne Cup Carnival. Feature races include the Group 1 Emirates Stakes & Group 1 VRC Sprint Classic.

Matriarch Stakes info

Date: Saturday 9th November 2019
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: Mares - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $300,000
2018 Winner: Kenedna

The Matriarch Stakes is a race for females only and attracts handy mares rather than the elite. The set weight & penalty conditions of the race favours the classier mares engaged and those gallopers with higher prizemoney and better strike rates are typically the ones to beat.

Typically speaking the race is not a great guide to anything in particular moving forward. Winners and placegetters may decide to go on to either the Gr2 Sandown Classic or Gr3 Eclipse Stakes at Sandown the following week, if still racing after the Flemington carnival. Interestingly enough, Lucia Valentina (2015) came via the Gr1 Caulfield Cup to win this race.

Kenedna (2018) finished unplaced in the Gr1 Empire Rose Stakes over 1600m at Flemington before pulling out all stops to win this event for leading trainer Darren Weir.

Recent Matriarch Stakes winners include Savapinski (2017) and Jessy Belle (2016).

ladbrokes odds

Enjoy top odds on a variety of horse racing betting markets.

2018 Matriarch Stakes result

1. $10.00 Kenedna 55.0 John Allen
2. $6.00 Miss Siska 55.0 Damien Oliver
3. $31.00 Luvaluva 58.5 Dwayne Dunn

then followed
4. $21.00 All Too Soon 55.0 James McDonald
5. $10.00 Eckstein 56.0 Kerrin McEvoy
6. $8.50 Temple Of Bel 55.0 Luke Currie
7. $9.50 Our Libretto 55.0 Jordan Childs
8. $7.50 Sheezdashing 55.0 Damien Thornton
9. $61.00 Silent Roar 55.0 Tommy Berry
10. $15.00 Aloisia 59.5 Michael Walker
11. $151.00 Quilate 57.5 Beau Mertens
12. $26.00 Nettoyer 55.0 Regan Bayliss
13. $11.00 Savvy Coup 59.5 Chris Johnson
14. $8.50 Aqua D'ivina 55.0 Jason Collett
15. $41.00 Wheal Leisure 56.5 Mark Zahra

Margins: 0.4 len, 0.2 len
Time: 2:03.81

Bet now on the Matriarch Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Matriarch Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Matriarch Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Kenedna Miss Siska Luvaluva 2:03.8
2017 Savapinski Payroll Token Of Love 2:01.5
2016 Jessy Belle Sort After Happy Hannah 2:04.7
2015 Lucia Valentina Manageress Casino Dancer 2:04.1
2014 Suavito Girl In Flight Amanpour 2:01.7
2013 Girl Gone Rockin' Queenstown Keep De Rose 2:04.7
2012 Midnight Martini Lake Sententia Crafty Irna 2:03.1
2011 Vintedge Stole Skyerush 2:01.2
2010 Well Rounded Purple Keep The Peace 2:02.5
2009 Purple Moment in Time Lady Lynette 2:00.1
2008 Bird of Fire Tan Tat De Lago El Daana 2:05.0
2007 Hidden Strings Sovereign Miss Danevade 2:03.9
2006 Brom Felinity Pin Up Purde 2:02.1
2005 Sutology Storm Alert Aqua D Amore 2:02.1
2004 Demerger Aint Seen Nothin Full Spec 2:04.8
2003 Sweet Corn Sylvaner Mrs Tendulkar 2:04.4
2002 Damaschino Little Miss Quick Terrenora 2:00.6
2001 Piper Star Umaline Tickle My 2:01.5
2000 Flushed Nova Clause Tickle My 2:02.6
1999 Sly Sandra Our Erin Nova Clause 2:03.3
1998 Laebeel Vestey Al Buraymi 2:02.0
1997 Battochi Burning Embers Star Cossack 2:01.7
1996 Gold City Palos Verdes Central Express 2:01.4
1995 Magical Storm Amuse Us Our Brigetta 2:03.0
1994 Sudden Wonder La Poundage Tristera 2:03.0
1993 Gilded Splendor Antwerp Dream About It 2:02.1
1992 Big Colony Tarare Late For Breakfasat 2:03.2
1991 Big Colony Rich Dreams Hermoso 2:00.5
1990 Bassies Pride Fun Is Racing Mrs Joe Gargery 2:03.8
1989 French Icing Lady Jess Imposing Bloom 2:02.7
1988 Concordance Conbituate Lady Papal Princess 2:05.9