, Eclipse Stakes - Sandown Racecourse - Spring Racing Carnival
horse racing info

Eclipse Stakes

The Eclipse Stakes is a Group 3 quality handicap that takes place at Sandown racecourse each November in Melbourne at the tail end of the Melbourne spring racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1800 metres and worth $200,000 in prize money. The 2019 Eclipse Stakes was won by Pacodali from Setting Sail with Exasperate third.

Held on Group 2 Sandown Classic day, one week after the four-day Melbourne Cup Carnival at Flemington, the Eclipse Stakes provides emerging gallopers the opportunity to snare a group race.

Eclipse Stakes info

Date: Saturday 27th November 2021
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1800 metres
Race Type: Quality Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $200,000
2019 Winner: Pacodali

The Eclipse Stakes is one of the last Group 3 races of the Melbourne spring. Over recent years it has been run over distances ranging from 1800m to 2100m due to the race now taking place at Sandown rather than Caulfield. When the race was held at Caulfield the traditional distance was 2000m, and now that the race takes place at Sandown, which has dual tracks, it's run over the closest available distance on the respective circuit.

Sandown has two tracks, the Hillside circuit which has an 1800m start and the Lakeside circuit which does not. The reason it's sometimes run over 2100 metres is that the meeting can be held on the Lakeside circuit, which does not have an 1800m start.

The Eclipse Stakes is run over a middle distance and typically attracts horses coming back in distance from the longer races over the Flemington carnival. It might also suit mares who contested the Gr2 Matriarch Stakes on Emirates Day.

The long Sandown straight with its tough uphill run home can test a horse's mettle in the run to the line and this race suits horses who are solid conveyances at the distance.

Tally (2018) finished unplaced in the Gr3 Hotham Handicap over 2500m at Flemington during the Melbourne Cup Carnival before pulling out all stops to win this event for the James Cummings stable.

Recent Eclipse Stakes winners include Payroll (2017) and Turnitaround (2016).

Spring Carnival Guide

Kiwia (5th in 2018) went on to win the Listed Ballarat Cup at his next start.

Zazzman (2003) won the Queen Elizabeth Stakes & Eclipse Stakes double in 2003 and it is worth noting that top class gallopers Super Impose (1998) and Fields of Omagh (2001) both won this race before going on to win the WS Cox Plate in later years.

2019 Eclipse Stakes result

1. $6.50 Pacodali 59.0 Dean Yendall
2. $2.05 Setting Sail 56.0 James Doyle
3. $51.00 Exasperate 54.0 Beau Mertens

then followed
4. $13.00 Savaheat 54.0 Michael Dee
5. $9.50 Mr Money Bags 54.0 Jye McNeil
6. $21.00 Danon Roman 54.0 Damien Thornton
7. $6.00 Plein Ciel 57.0 Craig Williams
8. $31.00 Main Stage 54.0 Barend Vorster
9. $151.00 Mr Clarify 54.0 Patrick Moloney
10. $26.00 Moss 'n' Dale 57.5 Jack Martin
11. $41.00 Zouy's Comet 54.0 Ms Linda Meech

Margins: 1.75 len, 2.50 len
Time: 1:51.56

Bet now on the Eclipse Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Eclipse Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Eclipse Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Pacodali Setting Sail Exasperate 1:51.5
2018 Tally He Ekscels Muraaqeb 1:51.2
2017 Payroll Kidmenever Jacquinot Bay 1:51.4
2016 Turnitaround High Church Lidari 1:51.2
2015 Casino Dancer Puccini Worthy Cause 1:48.0
2013 Mouro Rain Drum Bel Thor 1:50.3
2012 Eclair Surprise Tai Tai Tess Shewan 1:49.6
2011 Rothera Folding Gear Ulundi 1:52.1
2010 Viking Hero Davcon Niblick 1:55.2
2009 Bashful Girl Rose Syrah Down Under Boy 1:49.8
2008 Eskimo Dan Instructor Sentire 2.15:5
2007 Like It Is Shinzig Hidden Strings 1:50.4
2006 Utility Douro Valley Flash Trick 1:52.0
2005 Aqua D'Amore Stamen Wild Classic 2:14.5
2004 Requisite Fonome Caveat Emptor 1:49.6
2003 Zazzman Chairman'S Choice You Little Beaut 2:03.8
2002 Damaschino Another Warrior British Buska 2:02.1
2001 Fields Of Omagh Thong Classic Aquiver 2:11.1
2000 Tickle My The Collector Aka Bilk 2:07.0
1999 Taberann Jaimestown Sly Sandra 2:10.2
1998 Prime Address Zerpour Make A Scene 2:11.6
1997 Burning Embers Miss Tessia Maximai 2:02.7
1996 Gold City Hurricane Storm Tristolier 2:10.7
1995 Broann Top Rating Circles Of Gold 2:10.9
1994 Innocent King Bon Precieux Idea 2:02.2
1993 Palareign Corndale Southern States 2:03.7
1992 Fraar Excited Angel Beret Rouge 2:07.6
1991 Luisant Bijou Gamine Pressman'S Choice 2:01.5
1990 Gamine Eastern Classic City Gossip 2:11.7
1989 Eastern Classic Akatarawa Cool Rocking Daddy 2:01.1
1988 Super Impose Crown Ridge Be Reasonable 2:11.6