, Linlithgow Stakes - Flemington Racecourse - Spring Racing Carnival
horse racing info

Linlithgow Stakes

The Linlithgow Stakes is a Group 2 open handicap race held at Flemington racecourse annually during the Melbourne spring racing carnival in late October or early November. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres down the straight course and worth $300,000 in prize money. The 2019 Linlithgow Stakes was won by Kemalpasa from Order Of Command with Zoutori third.

Run as the 'Salinger Stakes' in recent years, this event was previously raced at weight-for-age before being renamed the Linlithgow Stakes in 2007 and moved to Derby Day to be run as a handicap. The most recent edition was run as the 'TAB Multiplier Stakes'.

This race is takes place on the first day of the four-day Melbourne Cup carnival at Flemington, alongside four Group 1 races. These are the AAMI Victoria Derby, Coolmore Stud Stakes, Cantala Stakes and Empire Rose Stakes.

Linlithgow Stakes info

Date: Saturday 30th October 2021
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $300,000
2019 Winner: Kemalpasa

The Linlithgow Stakes is a good horse's race and tends to attract quality sprinters who may have previously tackled races like the Gr2 Caulfield Sprint at Caulfield or the Group 1 AJ Moir Stakes at Moonee Valley.

Run down the Flemington 1200m 'Straight Six' course, this race suits those horses who can handle the straight track as opposed to racing around a turn. It's generally a sustained pressure event and winners need to be able run a strong 1200m.

Quality types to salute in the Linlithgow Stakes include TakeoverTarget (2004), Flavour (1998), Gold Ace (1996), Hareeba (1994) and Special (1988). Horses contesting this event may head towards the Group 1 VRC Sprint Classic on the final day of the Flemington carnival which is run over the same course & distance but at weight-for-age.

Osborne Bulls (2018) ran third in the Sydney Sweepstakes race over 1200m at Randwick before heading to Melbourne to win this event for the James Cummings stable.

Recent Linlithgow Stakes winners include Rich Charm (2017) and Illustrious Lad (2016).

Spring Carnival Guide

Any gallopers with solid straight track form at Flemington or those horses who possess a big finish at the end of 1200m are suited in a race like this. A large field of quality sprinters generally contest the race and it's no place for the feint hearted.

Spirit Of Boom (2nd in 2012) headed west to contest the Group 1 Winterbottom Stakes at Ascot following his second place finish in the Linlithgow Stakes, as did Rarified (2nd in 2011) the previous year, but he went one better, finishing second in the Perth feature sprint. Both horses returned to finish second & third in the 2013 edition of this race.

In recent times Turffontein (2nd in 2009) and Sunburnt Land (3rd in 2008) have managed to place in the Linlithgow Stakes & VRC Sprint Classic, while Glamour Puss (2005) and Pharien (1999) are the last two horses to go on and take out the VRC Sprint Classic after winning this event.

2019 Linlithgow Stakes result

1. $10.00 Kemalpasa 53.0 Jake Toeroek
2. $9.00 Order Of Command 54.5 Damien Oliver
3. $2.45 Zoutori 57.5 Craig Williams

then followed
4. $9.50 Malibu Style 57.5 Tim Clark
5. $7.50 Renewal 54.5 Dwayne Dunn
6. $21.00 Tyzone 58.5 Mark Zahra
7. $61.00 Long Leaf 53.0 Jye McNeil
8. $17.00 Deploy 56.5 Joshua Parr
9. $61.00 Travimyfriend 53.0 Dean Yendall
10. $6.00 Viridine 57.5 Hugh Bowman

Margins: 1.25 len, 2 len
Time: 1:10.08

Bet now on the Linlithgow Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Linlithgow Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Linlithgow Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Kemalpasa Order Of Command Zoutori 1:10.0
2018 Osborne Bulls Bons Away Runson 1:09.8
2017 Rich Charm Missrock The Monstar 1:08.9
2016 Illustrious Lad Counterattack Southern Legend 1:08.3
2015 Eclair Choice Hot Snitzel Dothraki 1:09.3
2014 Deep Field Driefontein In Cahoots 1:11.0
2013 Fontelina Spirit Of Boom Rarefied 1:09.0
2012 Fontelina Spirit Of Boom Tiger Tees 1:08.8
2011 Sister Madly Rarefied Temple Of Boom 1:10.4
2010 Whitefriars Beaded Chasm 1:11.1
2009 Eagle Falls Turffontein Absolutelyfabulous 1:08.9
2008 Hot Danish Fighting Fund Sunburnt Land 1:10.1
2007 Swick Great is Great Typhoon Zed 1:08.9
2006 Dance Hero Shadoways Miss Andretti 1:08.6
2005 Glamour Puss Barely A Moment Cape Of Good Hope 1:08.9
2004 Takeover Target Recurring St Basil 1:08.2
2003 Ancient Song Into The Night Blessum 1:11.0
2002 Rubitano Intelligent Star Cosmic Strike 1:07.1
2001 Sudurka Hire Camena 1:08.4
2000 Easy Rocking Umrum Tilt The Scales 1:10.0
1999 Pharein Toledo Cannyanna 1:07.9
1998 Flavour Scandinavia Towkay 1:09.5
1997 Notoire Rock You Flavour 1:11.1
1996 Gold Ace Seika Masked Party 1:07.5
1995 Brawny Spirit Sword Racers Edge 1:08.4
1994 Hareeba Khaptingly Royal Discard 1:09.2
1993 Alishan Keltrice Primacy 1:08.6
1992 Unspoken Word Tanjian Prince Ghost Story 1:10.6
1991 Final Card Barrosa Boy Mr Tiz 1:07.8
1990 Planet Ruler Redelva Gypsy Rogue 1:08.1
1989 Planet Ruler Heavenly View Glenview 1:08.3
1988 Special Prismatic Star Our Westminster 1:09.9