horse racing info

Lets Elope Stakes

The Lets Elope Stakes is a Group 3 race for mares held at Flemington racecourse annually each September during the Melbourne spring racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1400 metres and worth $200,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Lets Elope Stakes was won by I Am A Star from Bella Martini with Sheezdashing third.

Named after former champion mare 'Let's Elope', the race was previously a listed event known as the 'Milady Stakes' up until 1994 before becoming a Group 3 race in 2005. It was afforded Group 2 status in 2009 and takes place on the same day as the Group 1 Makybe Diva Stakes.

Lets Elope Stakes info

Date: Saturday 14th September 2019
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: Mares - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $200,000
2018 Winner: I Am A Star

The Lets Elope Stakes is a race for mares only and the set weight & penalty conditions of the race favours the more talented females entered for the event. Those females with higher average prizemoney and better race records typically rise to the occasion for this event.

Generally a capacity field of above average mares will contest the Lets Elope Stakes and they may have come via a race such as the Gr3 Cockram Stakes held earlier in the carnival at Caulfield.

The upcoming Gr3 How Now Stakes held at Caulfield on Gr1 Underwood Stakes day or the Gr2 WH Stocks Stakes on Gr1 AJ Moir Stakes night at Moonee Valley may be next on the agenda for mares contesting this race. Don't Doubt Momma (2016) is the last mare to win the Let's Elope Stakes and WH Stocks Stakes double.

Classy mare Catkins (2nd in 2013) won the How Now Stakes after finishing runner-up in the Let's Elope Stakes beforehand, while Fenway (9th in 2015) claimed the WH Stocks Stakes at her next start.

Other group races to take place on Lets Elope Stakes Day include the Gr2 Danehill Stakes and Gr3 Bobbie Lewis Quality.

I Am A Star (2018) ran third in the Cockram Stakes over 1200m at Caulfield before scoring a classy on pace victory in this event for the Shane Nichols stable at Mornington.

Recent Let's Elope Stakes winners include Sword Of Light (2017) and Don't Doubt Mamma (2016).

ladbrokes odds

Enjoy top odds on a variety of horse racing betting markets.

Spring Carnival Guide

I Am A Star (7th in 2017) and Don't Doubt Momma (2016) both won the Gr2 Stocks Stakes at Moonee Valley at their next start.

Catkins (2nd in 2013) went on to have a very consistent spring winning the How Now Stakes at Caulfield and the Gr3 Inglis Mile at Moonee Valley, and placing in the Gr2 Rose Of Kingston Stakes and Gr1 Myer Classic at Flemington, the latter on Derby Day on the first day of the four-day Melbourne Cup Carnival. Quality mare Dear Demi (7th in 2013) ran third in both the Underwood Stakes and Gr1 Caulfield Cup at Caulfield before finishing runner-up in the Gr1 Mackinnon Stakes at Flemington.

Ill fated mare Pinker Pinker (2011) went on to finish runner-up in the WH Stocks Stakes and Gr1 Epsom Handicap at Randwick before scoring an upset victory in the Gr1 WS Cox Plate at Moonee Valley courtesy of a brilliant Craig Williams ride.

Peter Moody mare Mid Summer Music (2nd in 2011) ran third in the Gr2 Caulfield Sprint at Caulfield & Gr1 VRC Sprint Classic at Flemington after running second here. The following winter in Brisbane she managed to win the Gr1 Stradbroke Handicap at Eagle Farm.

Consistent mare Lady Lynette (4th in 2011) finished third in the Stocks Stakes at Moonee Valley, then won the Rose Of Kingston Stakes at Flemington, before finishing third in the Inglis Mile at Moonee Valley.

Response (2nd in 2010) went on to win the Gr1 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes at Caulfield and turned the tables on No Evidence Needed (2010) who finished second in the same race.

2018 Lets Elope Stakes result

1. $10.00 I Am A Star 58.0 Ben Melham
2. $8.50 Bella Martini 58.0 Dwayne Dunn
3. $19.00 Sheezdashing 55.0 Damien Thornton

then followed
4. $7.00 Miss Gunpowder 55.0 Craig Williams
5. $8.00 La Bella Diosa 55.0 Regan Bayliss
6. $8.00 Petition 55.0 Jye McNeil
7. $51.00 Quilate 57.0 Ethan Brown
8. $9.00 Mrs Gardenia 55.0 Dean Yendall
9. $18.00 Samovare 55.0 Jordan Childs
10. $4.80 Merriest 55.0 Damien Oliver
11. $51.00 Kenedna 55.0 Brenton Avdulla
12. $19.00 Bellaria 55.0 Damian Lane
13. $71.00 Jennifer Lynn 55.5 Jamie Mott

Margins: 0.1 len, 0.75 len
Time: 1:23.11

Bet now on the Lets Elope Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Lets Elope Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Lets Elope Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 I Am A Star Bella Martini Sheezdashing 1:23.1
2017 Sword Of Light Swampland Lovani 1:23.5
2016 Don't Doubt Mamma Thames Court Manageress 1:24.5
2015 Amicus Precious Gem May's Dream 1:23.0
2014 Commanding Jewel Dear Demi Nautical 1:23.6
2013 Commanding Jewel Catkins A Time For Julia 1:22.5
2012 Zurella Hi Belle Total Attraction 1:23.3
2011 Pinker Pinker Mid Summer Music Parables 1:23.8
2010 No Evidence Needed Response Live In Sin 1:26.8
2009 Cats Whisker Romneya Symphony Miss 1:25.0
2008 Mimi Lebrock Bellini Rose Devil Moon 1:28.2
2007 Devil Moon Eskimo Queen Bellini Rose 1:23.4
2006 Rewaaya Be Delicious Celtic Bloom 1:24.2
2005 Dea Timbourina Catscan 1:23.3
2004 Beautiful Gem Galvanized Demerger 1:24.4
2003 Ain't Seen Nothin Classic Patches Reactive 1:24.4
2002 Purple Groove Tickle My Crimson Gem 1:24.9
2001 Flushed Miss Power Bird Lolita Star 1:24.5
2000 Tickle My Love's Choice Monterosso 1:28.4
1999 Zapeace Hula Wonder Follow Gold 1:25.3
1998 Skyrocket Wiggly Woo Lisa's Game 1:23.4
1997 Derobe Vonanne Red Nile 1:24.3
1996 Rose Of Portland Arctic Scent Clicko 1:25.1
1995 Tolanda Ferragamo Calypso 1:22.8
1994 Amuse Us Hospitable Lovey 1:24.3
1993 Rose of Marizza Azzurro Bouverie Mist 1:25.7
1992 Mannerism Swayaura Pride Of Demus 1:25.9
1991 Shavano Miss Make Up Lady Blame 1:25.5
1990 Natural Wonder Blame Galaway Star 1:25.6
1989 Rancheetah Memphis Blues Hazy Pond 1:25.6
1988 Riva Gleam Sister Shirley Lady Violet 1:25.6
1987 Take My Picture English Charm Glowing Idol 1:23.0