, Inglis Mile - Moonee Valley Racecourse - Spring Racing Carnival
horse racing info

Inglis Mile

The Inglis Mile is a Group 3 open handicap race for 4yo & up mares held at Moonee Valley racecourse each October during the Melbourne spring racing carnival in Victoria. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres and worth $200,000 in prize money. The 2019 Inglis Mile was won by Amangiri from Seewhatshebrings with Vanuatu third.

Taking place on the same day as the Group 1 WS Cox Plate, which is the Moonee Valley Racing Club's premier race, the Inglis Mile is one of a host of group races on Cox Plate Day. The most recent edition was held as the 'Powerflo Solutions Stakes'.

Inglis Mile info

Date: Saturday 23rd October 2021
Track: Moonee Valley racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: 4yo&Up Mares Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $200,000
2019 Winner: Amangiri

The Inglis Mile is run over the same trip as the Gr2 Crystal Mile except it is an event for mares only. The race tends to be taken out by a handy mare rather than a top liner and females with track & distance form at Moonee Valley can be relied upon to run well.

Mares who raced previously in similar female only races like the Gr3 How Now Stakes at Caulfield or Gr2 Rose of Kingston Stakes at Flemington are likely to tackle this event and the better mares entered for this race might continue on to the Group 1 Empire Rose Stakes at Flemington on Derby Day.

In recent years Zanna (2003), Western Chorus (1991) and Echo Lass (1989) all went on to win the Empire Rose Stakes at Flemington on Derby day after scoring in this event.

Amangiri (2019) ran third in the Group 3 Angst Stakes over 1600m at Randwick in Sydney before heading to Melbourne to win this event in narrow fashion for the Hawkes stable.

Recent Inglis Mile winners include Shoko (2018) and Lubiton (2017).

Spring Carnival Guide

Savapinski (2nd in 2017) headed to Flemington at her next start to score a classy win in the Gr2 Matriarch Stakes at Flemington on Emirates Stakes day.

Catkins (2013) went on to the Melbourne Cup Carnival to finish second in the Empire Rose Stakes at Flemington behind Red Tracer.

Lady Lynette (2009) managed to run second in the Empire Rose Stakes after winning this event while Bird Of Fire (2008) snared the matriarch Stakes.

Miss Margeret (1996) managed to take out the Group 1 Cantala States on the final day of the Flemington carnival when it was run as the 'Emirates Stakes'.

2019 Inglis Mile result

1. $2.50 Amangiri 54.0 Dwayne Dunn
2. $31.00 Seewhatshebrings 54.0 Jye McNeil
3. $12.00 Vanuatu 54.0 Jamie Kah

then followed
4. $5.00 Girl Tuesday 59.0 Nash Rawiller
5. $17.00 Snogging 54.0 Brett Prebble
6. $21.00 Consensus 59.0 Michael Walker
7. $6.00 Music Bay 54.0 John Allen
8. $31.00 Extreme Bliss 54.0 Kerrin McEvoy
9. $31.00 Nordic Symphony 54.0 Dean Yendall
10. $13.00 Scarlet Dream 54.5 Tommy Berry
11. $31.00 Queen La Diva 54.0 James Winks
12. $31.00 Pure Scot 54.0 Craig Williams

Margins: 0.2 len, 0.2 len
Time: 1:35.57

Bet now on the Inglis Mile

We recommended Unibet for the best Inglis Mile odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Inglis Mile winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Amangiri Seewhatshebrings Vanuatu 1:35.5
2018 Shoko Mamzelle Tess Princess Posh 1:36.0
2017 Lubiton Savapinski Invincibella 1:34.4
2016 Kaniana Rocket Commander Alaskan Rose 1:39.1
2015 Coronation Shallan Azkadellia Lucky Lago 1:36.1
2014 Suavito Precious Gem You're So Good 1:35.6
2013 Catkins Cameo Lake Sententia 1:37.7
2012 Star Of Giselle Tavarnelle Spirit Song 1:35.7
2011 Ocean Challenger Hi Belle Lady Lynette 1:38.7
2010 Lady Lynette Delta Gee Music Review 1:36.7
2009 Lady Lynette Moment Of Time Pink Shimmer 1:36.2
2008 Miss Badoura =1 Bird of Fire = 1 Perm.ToLand/Princess 1:36.5
2007 Autumn Jeuney Game Serena Maslins Beach 1:36.9
2006 Valkyrie Diva Benko Celtic Bloom 1:37.5
2005 Matras Hennessy Waltz Ballybleue 1:38.6
2004 Joy Of Flight Galvanized Loyal Lauren 1:36.7
2003 Zanna Sweet Corn My Fraarlein 1:38.8
2002 Gentle Genius Paris Heartbeat Rosa Marada 1:36.6
2001 La Bella Dama Its Platonic Oregon Seal 1:37.1
2000 Oregon Seal Super Sequel Nova Clause 1:40.0
1999 Zatella Flirty Bird Huka 1:37.5
1998 Our Belition Vestey Londolozi 1:35.9
1997 Spectrum Burning Embers Battocchi 1:36.0
1996 Miss Margaret Escada Kalaring 1:38.5
1995 Our Marquise Calypso Cliko 1:38.4
1994 Centisle Cliko Bon Precieux 1:35.3
1993 Mingling Glances Tarare Credit Account 1:34.8
1992 Bold Alliance Something Wicked Party Dancer 1:34.7
1991 Western Chorus Marinella Folklore Lass 1:35.3
1990 Princess Pushy Fairy Dreams Bassies Pride 1:34.1
1989 Echo Lass Memphis Blues Whistling 1:36.3
1988 Voltage Venardu Heavenly View 1:37.1