horse racing info

Underwood Stakes

The Underwood Stakes is a Group 1 weight-for-age race held annually each at Caulfield racecourse in Melbourne during the Melbourne spring racing carnival in September. The race is run over a distance of 1800 metres and worth $750,000 in prizemoney. The 2019 Underwood Stakes was won by Black Heart Bart from Homesman with Gailo Chop third.

The first weight-for-age middle distance event of the spring at Group 1 level in Melbourne, the Underwood Stakes takes place alongside the Group 2 Thousand Guineas Prelude for fillies and Group 3 Caulfield Guineas Prelude for colts & geldings.

Underwood Stakes info

Date: Sunday 29th September 2019
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1800 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $750,000
2019 Winner: Black Heart Bart
underwood stakes Underwood Stakes odds

The Underwood Stakes is run over an uncommon distance of 1800 metres and serves as a good race for those horses looking for longer than 1600 metres and also suits horses who will be stepping up to longer feature race distances around 2000m or 2400m in coming weeks.

Top class horses gallopers such as It's A Dundeel (2014), So You Think (2010), Weekend Hussler (2008), Elvstroem (2004), Northerly (2001-02), Octagonal (1996), Rubiton (1987) and Bonecrusher (1986) have all won the Underwood Stakes over the years and it is a good horse's race.

The Underwood Stakes is the first weight-for-age race of the Melbourne spring longer than the metric mile, and it's proven to be a reasonable guide to the Caulfield Cup and WS Cox Plate in recent times.

Black Heart Bart (2019) finished unplaced in the Group 1 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes over 1400m et Caulfield before scoring at cricket score odds in this event for trainer Lindsay Smith.

Recent Underwood Stakes winners include Homesman (2018) and Bonneval (2017).

ladbrokes odds

Enjoy top odds on a variety of horse racing betting markets.

Spring Carnival Guide

Atlantic Jewel (2nd in 2013) and Ocean Park (2012) won the Group 1 Caulfield Stakes at Caulfield at their next starts, with Ocean Park going on to win the WS Cox Plate at Moonee Valley following that victory.

Southern Speed (2nd in 2011) ran second in the Caulfield Cup at her next start and Glass Harmonium (4th in 2011) managed to run second in the Group 1 Turnbull Stakes at Flemington before winning the Group 1 Mackinnon Stakes on Derby Day at the same track.

So You Think (2010) went on to win his second successive WS Cox Plate after winning this race, while Heart Of Dreams (2009) won the the Caulfield Stakes. Whobegotyou (2nd in 2009) ran third in the Cox Plate behind So You Think and finished runner-up to Heart Of Dreams in the Caulfield Stakes.

Viewed (unp 2009) ran tenth in this race before going on to win the 2009 Caulfield Cup later that spring and Scenic Shot (unp 2009) also ran unplaced in this event before winning the Group 1 Mackinnon Stakes on AAMI Victoria Derby day.

2019 Underwood Stakes result

1. $101.00 Black Heart Bart 59.0 Brad Rawiller
2. $2.50 Homesman 59.0 Ben Melham
3. $26.00 Gailo Chop 59.0 Damien Oliver

then followed
4. $4.20 Hartnell 59.0 Hugh Bowman
5. $5.50 Gatting 59.0 Jamie Kah
6. $71.00 Harlem 59.0 Dwayne Dunn
7. $61.00 Trap For Fools 59.0 Peter Hall
8. $41.00 Yulong Prince 59.0 Mark Zahra
9. $9.50 The Chosen One 58.0 Damian Lane
10. $26.00 Humidor 59.0 Kerrin McEvoy
11. $41.00 Super Titus 59.0 Jye McNeil
12. $19.00 Kenedna 57.0 John Allen

Margins: 0.2 len, 1.5 len
Time: 1:49.27

Bet now on the Underwood Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Underwood Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Underwood Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Black Heart Bart Homesman Gailo Chop 1:49.2
2018 Homesman Tosen Basil Humidor 1:48.7
2017 Bonneval Hartnell Gailo Chop 1:48.4
2016 Black Heart Bart He Or She Lucia Valentina 1:50.6
2015 Mourinho Fawkner The Cleaner 1:48.8
2014 Foreteller Happy Trails Crackerjack King 1:50.2
2013 It's A Dundeel Atlantic Jewel Dear Demi 1:54.7
2012 Ocean Park Voila Ici December Draw 1:51.4
2011 Lion Tamer Southern Speed Midas Touch 1:50.0
2010 So You Think Dariana Metal Bender 1:49.5
2009 Heart Of Dreams Whobegotyou Predatory Pricer 1:49.5
2008 Weekend Hussler Pompeii Ruler Littorio 1:49.8
2007 Rubiscent Miss Finland Marasco 1:49.0
2006 El Segundo Polar Bear Molotov 1.49.5
2005 Perlin Our Smoking Joe Shes Justa Tad 1.52.7
2004 Elvstroem Shes Archie Delzao 1.50.0
2003 Mummify Grey Song Aint Seen Nothing 1.49.5
2002 Northerly Magical Miss Don Eduardo 1.48.9
2001 Northerly Universal Prince Kaapstad Way 1.50.2
2000 Oliver Twist Skoozi Please Kaapstad Way 1.47.6
1999 Intergaze Sky Heights Inaflury 1.48.5
1998 Tie The Knot Jezabeel Umrum 1.49.5
1997 Always Aloof Istidaad Marble Halls 1.49.6
1996 Octagonal Seascay Count Chivas 1.50.4
1995 Sharscay Unsolved Baryshnikov 1.48.9
1994 Jeune Paris Lane Mahogany 1.49.4
1993 Runyon Mannerism Innocent King 2.04.1
1992 Prince Salieri Subzero Delmar 2.07.1
1991 Dr. Grace Sydeston Shivas Revenge 2.06.3
1990 The Phantom Royal Creation Zabeel 2.01.5
1989 Almaarad Apollo Run The Phantom 2.01.9
1988 Authaal Fair Sir Shantaroun 2.01.2
1987 Rubiton Fair Sir Drought 2.00.0
1986 Bonecrusher At Talaq Black Knight 2.01.1
1985 Tristarc Lacka Reason King Delamere 2.02.7
1984 Bounty Hawk King Delamere Greatness 2.04.1
1983 Trissaro Cossack Prince Triumphal March 2.05.1
1982 Fearless Pride Ross Of Kingston Prince Majestic 2.00.6
1981 Sovereign Red Just A Dash Hyperno 2.02.3