horse racing info

Caulfield Guineas Prelude

The Caulfield Guineas Prelude is a Group 3 race for three-year-old colts and geldings that takes place at Caulfield racecourse during the Melbourne spring racing carnival each year in September. The race is run over a distance of 1400 metres and worth $175,000 in prize money. The 2019 Caulfield Guineas Prelude was won by Alligator Blood from Dalasan with Groundswell third.

Taking place on Group 1 Underwood Stakes day, the Caulfield Guineas Prelude is the male equivalent of the Thousand Guineas Prelude for held on the same day.

Caulfield Guineas Prelude info

Date: Sunday 27th September 2020
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: 3yo C&G - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $175,000
2019 Winner: Alligator Blood

The Caulfield Guineas Prelude is run over 1400 metres and for colts & geldings only and is generally used as a lead up race to the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas over 1600 metres in early October at the same track. In recent times both Helmet (2011) and Anacheeva (2010) have taken out the Caulfield Guineas after winning this race.

Some quality gallopers have won the Caulfield Guineas Prelude over the years including Wonderful World (2006), Apache Cat (2005), Elvstroem (2003) and Strategic (1995), and a number of three-year-olds who have contested this race have gone on to perform exceptionally well in many of our biggest races during their career.

Alligator Blood (2019) took out a CL5- SW race at the Shunshine Coast racecourse on the Sunshine Coast in Queensland before heading to Melbourne to win this event in quality style for Sunshine Coast trainer David Vandyke.

Recent Caulfield Guineas Prelude winners include Native Soldier (2018) and Perast (2017).

sportsbet racing form

Spring Carnival Guide

Super Seth (5th in 2019) scored an outstanding win in the Caulfield Guineas at his next start, for the James Cummings stable..

Epaulette (2012) ran third in the Caulfield Guineas after winning this event and Shamexpress (5th in 2012) finished third in the Group 1 Coolmore Classic on Derby Day at Flemington later in the spring, before returning in the autumn to win the Group 1 Newmarlet Handicap at the same track.

Anacheeva (2010) won the Caulfield Guineas after taking out this race. Rekindled Interest (5th in 2010) managed to win the Gr2 AAMI Vase at Moonee Valley on Cox Plate day and Hollowlea (6th in 2010) ran third in the same race.

Manhattan Rain (3rd in 2009) went on to run third in the Caulfield Guineas before running a top second place in the Group 1 WS Cox Plate at Moonee Valley, while Starspangledbanner (4th in 2009) led all the way to win the Caulfield Guineas before heading overseas for a very successful International career.

Whobegotyou (7th 2008) went on to win the Stutt Stakes, Caulfield Guineas and finished runner-up in the AAMI Victoria Derby, while Time Thief (2nd 2008) went on to finish runner-up in the Caulfield Guineas and then returned in the autumn to run third in the Group 1 William Reid Stakes.

The Caulfield Guineas Prelude can often be a good pointer to the big spring races ahead.

2019 Caulfield Guineas Prelude result

1. $6.00 Alligator Blood 55.0 Ryan Maloney
2. $2.30 Dalasan 57.0 Raquel Clark
3. $18.00 Groundswell 55.0 James McDonald

then followed
4. $20.00 Roccabascerana 55.0 Ms Linda Meech
5. $14.00 Super Seth 57.0 Mark Zahra
6. $17.00 Hilo 55.0 Damian Lane
7. $21.00 Defiant Dancer 55.0 John Allen
8. $201.00 Vinco 55.0 Luke Currie
9. $15.00 Express Pass 55.0 Ben Melham
10. $41.00 Creator 55.0 Kerrin McEvoy
11. $51.00 Exeter 55.0 Luke Nolen
12. $12.00 Strasbourg 57.0 Tommy Berry
13. $101.00 Peidra 55.0 Craig Williams
14. $26.00 Shotmaker 55.0 Brett Prebble
LR $31.00 Yourdeel 58.0 Jamie Kah

Margins: 0.75 len, 0.10 len
Time: 1:23.49

Bet now on the Caulfield Guineas Prelude

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Caulfield Guineas Prelude odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Caulfield Guineas Prelude winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Alligator Blood Dalasan Groundswell 1:23.4
2018 Native Soldier Tavisan Long Leaf 1:23.3
2017 Perast Summer Passage Kementari 1:23.4
2016 Sacred Elixir Revolving Door Wazzenme 1:24.7
2015 Bon Aurum Tulsa Dal Cielo 1:22.6
2014 Rich Enuff Looks Like The Cat Awesome Rock 1:23.4
2013 Eclair Big Bang El Roca Long John 1:23.3
2012 Epaulette Let Go Lenni Awesome Bro 1:24.2
2011 Helmet Secret Hills Specter 1:21.4
2010 Anacheeva Toorak Toff Skilled 1:23.1
2009 Demerit Trusting Manhattan Rain 1:24.7
2008 Fernandina Time Thief Von Costa De Hero 1:25.4
2007 Purrealist Marching Shrewd Rhythm 1:24.2
2006 Wonderful World Blue Lago Sharkbite 1:24.6
2005 Apache Cat Gods Own Danerich 1:27.0
2004 Tirade Fastnet Rock Classiconi 1:24.7
2003 Elvstroem In Top Swing Dance Up 1:22.3
2002 Great Glen Titanic Jack Helenus 1:23.2
2001 Pure Theatre King Of Prussia North Boy 1:24.2
2000 Fubu Show A Heart Debrief 1:22.4
1999 Sudurka Anakie Walk Commands 1:24.0
1998 Bet On A Rode Sedation Spectacular Gold 1:24.0
1997 Umrum Bradman Bonfires 1:22.8
1996 Alfa Tarnpir Lane Sober Affair 1:24.2
1995 Strategic Gold Ace El Qahiras Son 1:22.9
1994 Racers Edge Punctual Skipper Regent 1:23.4
1993 Port Watch Tolo Harbour Kendel Star 1:23.4
1992 Just Juan Let Him Ride Dr Oats 1:27.3
1991 Laranto Quo Ego Prince Acumen 1:28.4
1990 Unspoken Word Weasel Clause Shah Pak 1:11.9