, Skyline Stakes - Randwick Racecourse - Group 3 - Sydney Autumn Carnival
horse racing info

Skyline Stakes

The Skyline Stakes is a Group 2 race for two-year-old colts & geldings that takes place in late February or early March at Randwick racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales during the Sydney autumn racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres under set weight conditions and worth $200,000 in prize money. The 2020 Skyline Stakes was won by Mamaragan from Osamu with Aim third.

The winner of the Skyline Stakes is exempt from ballot for the Golden Slipper Stakes and the race was upgraded from Group 3 to Group 2 status for the 2013/2014 racing season.

Skyline Stakes info

Date: Saturday 27th February 2021
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 2yo C&G - Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $200,000
2020 Winner: Mamaragan

The Skyline Stakes is for 2yo colts & geldings only and allows them the chance to step up to 1200m for the first time in the autumn at group level and is the male equivalent of the Group 2 Sweet Embrace Stakes for fillies held on the same day.

Taking place on Group 1 Chipping Norton Stakes day, this race will sort out those gallopers who can run a strong 1200m and may have a genuine chance in the Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes at Rosehill the following month. The last 2yo to win the Skyline Stakes and then go on to win the Golden Slipper was Dance Hero (2004).

Quite often the extra 100 metres of this race from previous 2yo open races like the Group 2 Siliver Slipper Stakes over 1100m will find any chinks in the armour of speedy types who are unable to run out the 1200m journey.

Two-year-olds from this race can go on to either the Group 2 Todman Stakes or the Group 2 Pago Pago Stakes as both races are for 2yo gallopers at Rosehill and run over the same course & distance as the $3.5M Golden Slipper Stakes, which provides the ideal final hit out to Australia's richest two-year-old race.

Manhattan Rain (2009) went on to run a top third in the Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes at Rosehill before claiming the Group 1 ATC Sires Produce Stakes at Randwick on Doncaster day, before going on to run a gallant third in the Group 1 Champagne Stakes one week later.

Mamaragan (2020) debuted for an impressive on pace victory in this event for the John Thompson stable.

Recent Skyline Stakes winners include Microphone (2019) and Santos (2018).

2020 Skyline Stakes result

1. $19.00 Mamaragan 55.5 Blake Shinn
2. $19.00 Osamu 55.5 James McDonald
3. $4.80 Aim 55.5 Kerrin McEvoy

then followed
4. $13.00 Postcode 55.5 Tim Clark
5. $6.50 Argenteus 55.5 Ben Melham
6. $2.60 Prague 55.5 Tommy Berry
7. $9.00 Tommy Gold 55.5 Joshua Parr
8. $8.50 Mission River 55.5 Hugh Bowman
9. $81.00 Gorshin 55.5 Jean Van Overmeire

Margins: 1.3 len, 0.8 len
Time: 1:09.52

Bet now on the Skyline Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Skyline Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Skyline Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Mamaragan Osamu Aim 1:09.5
2019 Microphone Cosmic Force Castelvecchio 1:09.3
2018 Santos Spin Legend Of Condor 1:11.1
2017 Diamond Tathagata Coruscate Single Bullet 1:14.2
2016 Good Standing Lionhearted Souchez 1:09.0
2015 Exosphere Odyssey Moon Wolf Cry 1:10.6
2014 Valentia Mr Bogart Modoc 1:11.4
2013 All The Talk Octane Flyer Dothraki 1:09.7
2012 Ashokan Raceway Collect 1:10.9
2011 Uate Hot Snitzel Flight Of Pegasus 1:09.7
2010 Hinchinbrook Brightexpectations Pressday 1:08.8
2009 Manhattan Rain The Mikado Romanus 1:10.3
2008 All American Over the Wicket Dubai To Sydney 1.11.2
2007 Murtajill Husson Lightning Pistols 1.09.6
2006 Casino Prince Empire's Choice My Middi 1.11.1
2005 Snitzel Stratum Paratroopers 1:10.0
2004 Dance Hero Fastnet Rock Econsul 1:10.7
2003 Kusi Face Value Resistor 1:10.0
2002 Choisir Emerging Star Charlie Bub 1:10.3
2001 Viscount Excellerator Shags 1:10.3
2000 Kootoomootoo Assertive Lad Veteran 1:11.8
1999 Shogun Lodge High Rolling Passmore 1:10.9
1998 Prowl Spend Arena 1:09.8
1997 Guineas Encounter Special Dane 1:09.8
1996 Excel Pilot Intergaze Mushi Mushi 1:11.5
1995 Strategic Our Maizcay Kidman's Cove 1:10.1
1994 Dr. Zackary Lord Jim Marwina 1:10.2
1993 Allez Glen Dancing Dynamite Calais Boy 1:12.2
1992 Kenfair Sublimate Le Masque 1:10.4
1991 Big Dreams Pockets Top Groom 1:11.2
1990 Our Horizon Prince Of Rory Leijester 1:12.7
1989 Show County Swinging Minstrel Gunspeed 1:11.0
1988 Star Watch Pleasant Moment Iga Ninja 1:10.6