, Todman Stakes - Rosehill Racecourse - Sydney Autumn Carnival
horse racing info

Todman Stakes

The Todman Stakes is a Group 2 race for two-year-old colts & geldings that takes place each March at Randwick racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres under set weight conditions and worth $300,000 in prize money. The 2020 Todman Stakes was won by Farnan from Tagaloa with Blondeau third.

Held on the same day as the Group 1 Randwick Guineas, the winner of the Todman Stakes is exempt from ballot for the Golden Slipper Stakes.

Todman Stakes info

Date: Saturday 6th March 2021
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 2yo C&G - Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $300,000
2020 Winner: Farnan

The Todman Stakes is a race for two-year-old colts & geldings only and is generally used as a lead up race to the Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes, which is held later in the month over the same distance at Rosehill. Vancourver (2015) and Pierro (2012) are the most recent winners of the Todman Stakes & Golden Slipper Stakes double. Pierro also took out the Group 1 ATC Sires Produce Stakes the following month at Randwick.

Prior to that, Phelan Ready (2nd in 2009) went on to win the 2009 Golden Slipper Stakes after finishing second in this event, while Real Saga (2009) ran fourth in the Slipper. Talented colt Capitalist (2nd in 2016) captured the Golden Slipper following his second placing here.

The Todman Stakes typically attracts 2yo males on their way to the Slipper, and being run at level weights it generally suits the classier types engaged. The winner of this race has the luxury of being exempt from the Golden Slipper ballot, which ensures a run is guaranteed in the $3.5 million race.

Colts & geldings tackling this race may have previously run in the Group 2 Skyline Stakes earlier in the carnival at Warwick Farm, and they also have the option of heading to the Group 2 Pago Pago Stakes the following week at Rosehill, before running in the Slipper.

Yes Yes Yes (2019) resumed from a spell to win this event in quality style for Rosehill trainer Chris Waller and recent Todman Stakes winners include Aylmerton (2018) and Gunnison (2017).

2020 Todman Stakes result

1. $1.80 Farnan 55.5 Hugh Bowman
2. $3.80 Tagaloa 55.5 Michael Walker
3. $20.00 Blondeau 55.5 Nash Rawiller

then followed
4. $6.50 Global Quest 55.5 James McDonald
5. $21.00 On The Lead 55.5 Tommy Berry
6. $17.00 Blaze A Trail 55.5 Tim Clark

Margins: 1.8 len, 2.8 len
Time: 1:09.86

Bet now on the Todman Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Todman Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Todman Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Farnan Tagaloa Blondeau 1:09.8
2019 Yes Yes Yes Bellevue Hill Dubious 1:08.4
2018 Aylmerton Ef Troop Tchaikovsky 1:08.8
2017 Gunnison Invader Veranillo 1:13.4
2016 Kiss And Make Up Capitalist Weatherly 1:09.5
2015 Vancouver Furnaces Headwater 1:08.8
2014 Ghibellines Unencumbered Cornrow 1:10.6
2013 Criterion Fast 'n' Rocking Havana 1:10.7
2012 Pierro Epaulette Shelford 1:12.1
2011 Smart Missile Sepoy Foxwedge 1:09.9
2010 Masquerader Decision Time Carved In Stone 1:11.4
2009 Real Saga Phelan Ready Purdey 1:11.5
2008 Krupt Related Typhoon Fury 1:10.6
2007 Meurice Zizou Shaft 1:11.1
2006 Diego Garcia Just Mambo My Middi 1:11.6
2005 Written Tycoon Domesday Flying Pegasus 1:12.0
2004 Charge Forward Dane Shadow Samboy 1:10.3
2003 Exceed And Excel Untouchable Niello 1:10.6
2002 Snowland Yell Takas 1:10.7
2001 Royal Courtship Viscount Mistegic 1:09.9
2000 Great Crusader Lord Dane Phoenix Park 1:10.0
1999 Align Majestically Bluegrit 1:10.3
1998 Laurie's Lottery Alf Iglesia 1:09.7
1997 General Nediym Special Dane Dance Beat 1:09.7
1996 Flavour Magic Of Sydney Batavian 1:11.1
1995 Octagonal Our Maizcay Tuscany Flyer 1:09.4
1994 Pauillac Montana Sands Danzero 1:12.2
1993 Justice Prevails Keltrice Sparkling Bletch 1:09.3
1992 Clan O'sullivan Vertingly Facile 1:11.1
1991 Tierce Jim's Bet Delphinus 1:10.1
1990 Auranch Pagan Jest The Austrian 1:11.2
1989 Mercury Stylish Century Straussbrook 1:12.7
1988 Full And By Astrologist Molokai Prince 1:12.3