horse racing info

Randwick Guineas

The Randwick Guineas is a Group 1 race for three-year-olds that takes place each March at Randwick racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres under set weight conditions and worth $1,000,000 in prize money. The 2020 Randwick Guineas was won by Shadow Hero from Microphone with Brandenburg third.

The winner of the Randwick Guineas is exempt from ballot for the ATC Derby and Doncaster Hcp and the race itself is held alongside the Group 1 Canterbury Stakes.

Randwick Guineas info

Date: Saturday 7th March 2020
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: 3yo - Set Weights
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $1,000,000
2020 Winner: Shadow Hero
bet now 2020 Randwick Guineas odds

The Randwick Guineas is one of the better three-year-old races of the Sydney autumn carnival and has a history of attracting top quality gallopers who often go on to become stars of the turf.

A race such as the Group 2 Hobartville Stakes at Rosehill in February is a good lead up race to this event. Three-year-olds may then decide to tackle upcoming group races such as the Group 2 Phar Lap Stakes or Group 1 Rosehill Guineas later in the month at Rosehill.

The Autumn Sun (2019), Kementari (2018), Hallowed Crown (2015) & Dissident (2014) have all taken out the Hobartville Stakes & Randwick Guineas double in recent years. Classy gallopers The Autumn Sun (2019) & It's A Dundeel (2013) are the most recent three-year-olds to win the Randwick Guineas & Rosehill Guineas double. Sacred Falls (5th in 2013) finished runner-up to It's A Dundeel, while Tatra (3rd in 2013), ran third in both races.

Some classy three-year-olds have won the Randwick Guineas over the years including It's A Dundeel (2013), Mosheen (2012), Weekend Hussler (2008), Arena (1999), Intergaze (1997), Octagonal (1996) and Veandercross (1992).

The Peter Moody trained Dissident (2014) went on to win multiple Group 1 races the following spring & autumn in Melbourne after winning the Hobartville Stakes & Randwick Guineas, including the Memsie Stakes & CF Orr Stakes at Caulfield and the Makybe Diva Stakes at Flemington.

The Autumn Sun (2019) snared the Group 2 Hobartville Stakes over 1400m at Rosehill before scoring an outstanding victory in this event and recent Randwick Guineas winners include Kementari (2018) and Inference (2017).

2019 Randwick Guineas result

1. $1.80 The Autumn Sun 56.5 Kerrin McEvoy
2. $15.00 Fundamentalist 54.5 Sam Clipperton
3. $3.70 Nakeeta Jane 54.5 Joshua Parr

then followed
4. $21.00 Madison County 56.5 Tommy Berry
5. $16.00 Vegadaze 56.5 Tim Clark
6. $31.00 Aramayo 56.5 James McDonald
7. $26.00 Diplomatico 56.5 Brenton Avdulla
8. $21.00 Miss Fabulass 54.5 Jason Collett
9. $81.00 Purple Sector 56.5 Glyn Schofield

Margins: 0.2 len, 1 len
Time: 1:33.72

Other group races on Randwick Guineas Day include the Group 2 Challenge Stakes, Group 3 Wenona Girl Handicap & Aspiration Quality.

Bet now on the Randwick Guineas

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Randwick Guineas odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Randwick Guineas winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Shadow Hero Microphone Brandenburg 1:37.3
2019 The Autumn Sun Fundamentalist Nakeeta Jane 1:33.7
2018 Kementari Pierata Trapeze Artist 1:33.7
2017 Inference Invincible Gem Comin' Through 1:40.9
2016 Le Romain Press Statement Gold Ambition 1:33.8
2015 Hallowed Crown Sweynesse Shooting To Win 1:15.1
2014 Dissident El Roca Eurozone 1:36.3
2013 It's A Dundeel Proisir Tatra 1:35.1
2012 Mosheen Said Com Laser Hawk 1:37.6
2011 Ilovethiscity Skilled Light Brigade 1:35.3
2010 Shoot Out Viking Legend Captain Sonador 1:34.9
2009 Metal Bender Rock Kingdom Caymans 1:36.5
2008 Weekend Hussler Triple Honour Arlington 1:36.3
2007 Mentality Teranaba Sniper's Bullet 1:35.7
2006 Hotel Grand Flying Pegasus Primus 1:35.8
2005 Jymcarew Eremein Cheval De Troy 1:57.4
2004 Niello Timbourina Dancing Daggers 1:57.2
2003 Fine Society Beaver Hydrometer 1:57.0
2002 Carnegie Express Pentastic Another Warrior 1:56.2
2001 Universal Prince Danamite Scenic Warrior 1:57.4
2000 Fairway Oval Office Cloth Of God 1:58.7
1999 Arena Lawyer El Duce 1:49.6
1998 Tycoon Lil Tricove Brave Prince 1:49.0
1997 Intergaze Might And Power Great Command 1:47.9
1996 Octagonal Filante Future King 1:59.3
1995 Sharscay Allegro Danewin 1:55.1
1994 Western Red March Hare Fraternity 1:56.1
1993 Kingston Bay Imposing Bull Innocent King 2:00.1
1992 Veandercross Naturalism Big Dreams 1:55.0
1991 St Jude Lord Revenir Stradmore 1:56.8
1990 Interstellar Shaftesbury Avenue Majestic Boy 1:59.5
1989 Riverina Charm Better Loosen Up Chaleyer 1:55.5
1988 High Regard Sky Chase Kappstad 1:57.6