, ATC Sires Produce Stakes - Randwick Racecourse - Sydney Autumn Carnival
horse racing info

ATC Sires Produce Stakes

The ATC Sires Produce Stakes is a Group 1 race for two-year-olds that takes place each April at Randwick racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales.The race is run over a distance of 1400 metres and worth $1,000,000 in prize money. The 2020 ATC Sires Produce Stakes won by King's Legacy from Prague with Kiamichi and Castelvecchio dead-heating for third.

The introduction of The Championships sees the ATC Sires Produce Stakes one of a number of feature races on the first day of the new two-day $18 Million racing showpiece, alongside the Group 1 Doncaster Handicap, Group 1 ATC Australian Derby and Group 1 TJ Smith Stakes.

ATC Sires Produce Stakes info

Date: Saturday 3rd April 2021
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: 2yo - Set Weights
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $1,000,000
2020 Winner: King's Legacy

The ATC Sires Produce Stakes is a classic event for two-year-olds that gives young horses their first test at greater than 1200m in a group race during the autumn. Any 2yo galloper who contested the Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes at Rosehill two weeks earlier will most likely be aimed at this event, and the race suits horses who run on strongly in the Slipper where the extra distance of this event may assist.

It's a race that is usually taken out by a very good galloper who will quite often go on to bigger and better things. Quality gallopers Pierro (2012), Samantha Miss (2008), Dance Hero (2004), Victory Vein (2002), Encounter (1997), Octagonal (1995) & St Covet (1994) all won this race as a two-year-old.

This race has been a great guide to the Group 1 Champagne Stakes over 1600m on the final day of the Randwick autumn carnival and in recent times Guelph (2013), Pierro (2012) and Helmet (2011) have all won the Sires Produce Stakes & Champagne Stakes double. Skilled (2nd in 2010), Samantha Miss (2nd in 2008) & Meurice (2nd in 2007) went on to win the Champagne Stakes, while Dance Hero (2004), Hasna (2003), Victory Vein (2002), Viscount (2001), Assertive Lad (2000) all managed to win both races.

Pierro (2012) won the Golden Slipper the previous week at Rosehill on his way to taking out the Golden Slipper & Sires Produce Stakes double, he then won the Group 1 ATC Champagne Stakes at Randwick to claim the Sydney autumn 2yo triple crown for Gai Waterhouse.

Microphone (2019) finished runner-up in the Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes over 1200m at Rosehill before winning this event in impressive style for the James Cummings stable.

Recent ATC Sires Produce Stakes winners include El Dorado Dreaming (2018) and Invader (2017).

2020 ATC Sires Produce Stakes result

1. $19.00 King's Legacy 56.5 Hugh Bowman
2. $5.00 Prague 56.5 Brenton Avdulla
3. $2.70 Mamaragan 56.5 Nash Rawiller

then followed
4. $6.00 Ole Kirk 56.5 Tommy Berry
5. $12.00 Aim 56.5 Kerrin McEvoy
6. $26.00 Glenfiddich 56.5 Adam Hyeronimus
7. $101.00 Dismissal 54.5 Ms Rachel King
8. $71.00 Mission River 56.5 Robbie Dolan
9. $41.00 Pioneer River 56.5 Opie Bosson
10. $15.00 Larimer Street 56.5 Glen Boss
11. $11.00 Cultural Amnesia 56.5 Tim Clark
12. $21.00 Bartley 56.5 James McDonald

Margins: 0.5 len, 1.3 len
Time: 1:26.46

Other group races on ATC Sires Produce Stakes Day include the Group 2 Chairmans Handicap, Group 3 PJ Bell Stakes, Group 3 Kindergarten Stakes, Group 3 ATC Carbine Club Stakes & Group 3 Adrian Knox Stakes.

Bet now on the ATC Sires Produce Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best ATC Sires Produce Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

ATC Sires Produce Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 King's Legacy Prague Mamaragan 1:26.4
2019 Microphone Loving Gaby Kiamichi/Castelvecchio 1:25.4
2018 El Dorado Dreaming Oohood Outrageous 1:22.1
2017 Invader Summer Passage Trapeze Artist 1:26.1
2016 Yankee Rose Telperion Faraway Town 1:24.3
2015 Pride Of Dubai =2 Odyssey Moon =2 Rageese 1:25.7
2014 Peggy Jean Scratch Me Lucky Cornrow 1:27.6
2013 Guelph Scandiva Overreach 1:23.2
2012 Pierro All Too Hard Limes 1:21.4
2011 Helmet Uate Pane In The Glass 1:24.0
2010 Yosei Skilled Hinchinbrook 1:23.5
2009 Manhattan Rain Tickets Rostova 1:23.5
2008 Sebring Samantha Miss Love And Kisses 1:25.9
2007 Camarilla Meurice Sashenka 1:25.1
2006 Excites Down The Wicket My Middi 1:23.9
2005 Fashions Afield Mnemosyne Johnny 1:26.1
2004 Dance Hero Wager Fastnet Rock 1:23.1
2003 Hasna Bushland Al Jameel 1:24.7
2002 Victory Vein Choisir Planchet 1:23.5
2001 Viscount Royal Courtship Ha Ha 1:27.3
2000 Assertive Lad Reenact Surfboard 1:25.6
1999 Align Quick Star Dangerous 1:28.5
1998 Alf Mossman Shovhog 1:24.5
1997 Encounter Guineas Adeewin 1:22.4
1996 Merlene Clang My Duke 1:22.4
1995 Octagonal Isolda Show Of Force 1:25.4
1994 St. Covet Danzero Blevic 1:25.0
1993 Tristalove Justice Prevails Allez Glen 1:23.7
1992 Burst Commissar Merry Shade 1:23.7
1991 Tierce Shadea Electrique 1:23.4
1990 Rhythmic Charm Somalia St. Jude 1:27.0
1989 Reganza Straussbrook Tristanagh 1:27.6
1988 Comely Girl Full And By Wonder Dancer 1:27.9