, Queensland Guineas - Eagle Farm - Brisbane Winter Carnival
horse racing info

Queensland Guineas

The Queensland Guineas is a Group 2 race for three-year-olds held each June at Eagle Farm racecourse in Brisbane, Queensland. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres under set weight conditions and worth $350,000 in prize money. The 2019 Queensland Guineas was won by Kolding from Baccarat Baby with Pohutukawa third.

Taking place on Gr1 Stradbroke Handicap day, the Queensland Guineas is held alongside the Gr1 Queensland Derby and Gr1 TJ Smith Stakes.

Queensland Guineas info

Date: Saturday 12th June 2021
Track: Eagle Farm racecourse, Brisbane
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: 3yo - Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $350,000
2019 Winner: Kolding

The Queensland Guineas is a good race for three-year-olds who do not have the staying ability to tackle the longer distance races like the Queensland Derby and the race generally assembles more than handy 3yo gallopers who quite often go on to become very capable racehorses.

Talented gallopers Rothesay (2010), Yippio (1997), Paris Lane (1994), Triscay (1991) and Planet Ruler (1988) have all won this race over the years.

Possible lead-up races to this event include the Gr3 Gunsynd Classic at the Gold Coast or the Gr3 Fred Best Classic at Doomben and the set weight conditions of the Queensland Guineas favours the better gallopers entered for the race. Both Sir Moments (6th in 2014) and Jabali (5th in 2015) finished unplaced in the Fred Best Classic before going on to win this race.

Smart mare Pear Tart (2012) went on to take out the Gr1 Winter Stakes on the final day of the carnival after winning the Queensland Guineas.

Kolding (2019) took out a 3&$YO BM78 race over 1500m at Randwick in Sydney before heading north to win this event in classy style for trainer Chris Waller.

Recent Queensland Guineas winners include Sambro (2018) and Salsonic (2017).

2019 Queensland Guineas result

1. $2.80 Kolding 57.0 James McDonald
2. $14.00 Baccarat Baby 55.0 Micheal Hellyer
3. $5.00 Pohutukawa 55.0 Blake Shinn

then followed
4. $16.00 Seabrook 55.0 Damien Oliver
5. $26.00 Junipal 57.0 John Allen
6. $41.00 Outrageous 57.0 Tommy Berry
7. $101.00 Starkers 57.0 Sean Cormack
8. $26.00 Leonardo Da Hinchi 57.0 Brad Rawiller
9. $31.00 Vigor Winner 57.0 Corey Brown
10. $19.00 Zoutori 57.0 Craig Williams
11. $201.00 Ceol Na Mara 55.0 Matthew McGillivray
12. $101.00 Agassi 57.0 Larry Cassidy
13. $4.00 Ringerdingding 57.0 Brenton Avdulla
14. $151.00 Ocean Waves 57.0 James Orman
15. $101.00 Crafty Spirit 57.0 Brad Stewart

Margins: 0.5 len, 0.4 len
Time: 1:35.38

The Gr2 Brisbane Cup and Gr2 Dane Ripper Quality are also held on Queensland Guineas Day.

Bet now on the Queensland Guineas

We recommended Unibet for the best Queensland Guineas odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Queensland Guineas winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Kolding Baccarat Baby Pohutukawa 1:35.3
2018 Sambro Seaway Magnufighter 1:38.0
2017 Salsonic Volpino Niccanova 1:34.8
2016 Tsaritsa Denmagic Sold For Song 1:36.9
2015 Jabali Bachman Merion 1:34.6
2014 Sir Moments Liberty's Choice Ryker 1:22.9
2013 Sizzling Dances On Stars Lucky Hussler 1:24.2
2012 Pear Tart Free Wheeling Stradon 1:26.1
2011 Torio's Quest Benny's Buttons Spot The Rock 1:35.4
2010 Rothesay Launay Fifteen Carat 1:33.7
2009 Express Air Marveen La Etoile 1:39.8
2008 Turffontein Royal Discretion Pepperwood 1:40.4
2007 Sequential Charm J Adane Danleigh 1:35.5
2006 Nova Star Fashions Afield Funlove 1:36.5
2005 Saxon Hit The Road Special Times 1:35.9
2004 Winning Belle Toulouse Lautrec Little Punc 1:40.3
2003 True Glo Sportsman King Of Them All 1:33.3
2002 Regent Street Galroof Deuxienne 1:35.6
2001 Heroism Yoruba Pimpala Player 1:34.3
2000 Magnifier Fairway Make Mine Magic 1:34.8
1999 Camarena Arimathea Go Flash Go 1:35.5
1998 Insecure Enforced Count Scenario 1:43.8
1997 Yippyio Crystal Palace Might Gold 1:38.2
1996 Meeting Abandoned
1995 Turridu Juggler Brave Warrior 1:34.5
1994 Paris Lane Our Fiction Waikikamukau 1:37.2
1993 Cuidado Play Or Pay Slight Chance 1:33.6
1992 Coolong Road Baggio Soho Square 1:35.3
1991 Triscay Blalocks Bull Sure Cute 1:34.6
1990 Solar Circle Dr Grace Castletown 1:35.2
1989 Cole Diesel Molokai Prince Aces And Kings 1:35.4
1988 Planet Ruler Our Poetic Prince Judyann 1:35.7

The 2015 and 2018 Queensland Guineas were both held at Doomben.