, Fred Best Classic - Doomben Racecourse - Brisbane Winter Carnival
horse racing info

Fred Best Classic

The Fred Best Classic is a Group 3 race for three-year-olds that takes place annually each May at Eagle Farm racecourse in Brisbane, Queensland. The race is run over a distance of 1350 metres under set weight conditions and is worth $125,000 in prize money. The 2020 Fred Best Classic was taken out by Dawn Passage from Exhilarates with Subpoenaed third.

Formerly known as the BTC Classic', the race name was changed to the Fred Best Classic following the merger of the QTC & BTC race clubs. The race itself is held on the same day as the Group 1 Doomben Cup during the Doomben racing carnival.

Fred Best Classic info

Date: Saturday 29th May 2021
Track: Eagle Farm racecourse, Brisbane
Distance: 1350 metres
Race Type: 3yo - Set Weights
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $125,000
2020 Winner: Dawn Passage

The Fred Best Classic is a set weights race for three-year-olds that is generally contested by mostly local horses and the occasional talented visitor. The race itself favours the better gallopers engaged because of the weighted conditions of the race, and more often than not the classier types will figure in the finish.

Three-year-olds who may have previously contested the Gr2 Gold Coast Guineas at the Gold Coast racecourse two weeks earlier might consider tackling the Fred Best Classic.

In recent times both El Cambio (2008) and Gold Edition (2007) have taken out the Gold Coast Guineas & Fred Best Classic double, while Dothraki (3rd in 2014) won the Guineas before running second here, while Leapfrog (2nd in 2009) finished runner-up in both races.

The Gr2 Queensland Guineas at Eagle Farm in June might be next on the agenda for three-year-olds competing in the Fred Best Classic. Niccanova (2017) finished third in the Queensland Guineas after winning this race. Prior to that J Adane (3rd in 2007) was the last galloper to place in both races.

Military Zone (2019) ran second in the Restricted Listed ING Guineas at Scone in provincial New South Wales before heading to Brisbane to win this event in good style for the Peter & Paul Snowden stable.

Recent Fred Best Classic winners include Perast (2018) and Niccanova (2017).

2020 Fred Best Classic result

1. $2.15 Dawn Passage 57.0 Brad Stewart
2. $6.00 Exhilarates 55.0 Larry Cassidy
3. $4.60 Subpoenaed 55.0 Michael Cahill

then followed
4. $17.00 Scathing 57.0 Justin Huxtable
5. $26.00 Stampe 57.0 Sean Cormack
6. $31.00 Garibaldi 57.0 Baylee Nothdurft
7. $10.00 The Odyssey 57.0 Ms Stephanie Thornton
8. $26.00 Bellevue Hill 57.0 Ryan Maloney
9. $81.00 Shadow Of Time 57.0 Dale Smith
10. $31.00 Ready Babe 55.0 Mark Du Plessis

Margins: 0.75 len, 0.75 len
Time: 1:18.83

Other group races held on Fred Best Classic day include the Gr2 Sire Produce Stakes & Gr2 Doomben Roses.

Bet now on the Fred Best Classic

We recommended Unibet for the best Fred Best Classic odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Fred Best Classic winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Dawn Passage Exhilarates Subpoenaed 1:18.8
2019 Military Zone Baccarat Baby Krone 1:22.0
2018 Perast Assimilate Mishani Bullitt 1:19.7
2017 Niccanova Sylpheed I Thought So 1:26.5
2016 Counterattack Takedown Perfect Dare 1:18.8
2015 Najoom Miss Cover Girl Awesome Rock 1:19.0
2014 Havana Into The Red Dothraki 1:19.2
2013 Platinum Kingdom Boban Academus 1:19.8
2012 Mental Amah Rock Boys On Tour 1:19.3
2011 Falino Spirit Of Boom Skilled 1:18.8
2010 Stryker Happy Hippy Graceful Anna 1:19.1
2009 Court Leapfrog Geeza 1:19.4
2008 El Cambio Mr Unforgettable Diplomatic Force 1:19.2
2007 Gold Edition Grand Reve J Adane 1:17.5
2006 La Montagna Century Serb Pasikatera 1:18.0
2005 Gumnuts Rich Megadale Aqua D Amore 1:18.8
2004 Gallieni Drunken Joker Sky Cuddle 1:18.1
2003 Proudly Agro Brief Embrace Charlie Bub 1:18.9
2002 Tellson Gabfest Acadame 1:17.8
2001 Marlina Zariz Johann Lover 1:19.2
2000 Cryptavia Make Mine Magic The Kildare Kid 1:20.7
1999 Mr Innocent Black Bean Arimathea 1:17.6
1998 Staging Devers Gold Stella Cadente 1:20.9
1997 Crafty Beau Fotgotten Hero Anthems 1:18.2
1996 Proud Player Quick Flick Ravarda 1:19.5
1995 Chief De Beers Danasinga Don Pasquale 1:18.7
1994 Ferragamo Mistador Yarradorf 1:19.9
1993 Affirmed Star Best Weapon Hidden Saint 1:19.1
1992 Social Rule Bound To Play Prince Of Marscay 1:19.0
1991 Committal Brunchtime Royal Saga 1:18.8
1990 Jonaron Maryvale Boy Bassies Pride 1:18.9
1989 Spot The Rock Ballook Aces And Kings 1:18.6
1988 McGintys Crown Sea Cabin Luskin Court 1:19.1