, Lady Of The Turf Stakes - Doomben - Brisbane Winter Carnival
horse racing info

Lady Of The Turf Stakes

The Lady Of The Turf Stakes is a Group 3 Fillies & Mares race held annually in late May at Eagle Farm racecourse in Brisbane, Queensland during the winter racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1350 metres under set weight & penalty conditions with prize money of $150,000. The 2020 Lady Of The Turf Stakes was won by Sure Knee from Krone with Baccarat Baby third.

Previously a listed race, the Lady of the Turf Stakes was elevated to Group 3 Status for the 2009/2010 racing season and takes place on Gr1 Doomben 10,000 day. It has been run as the 'Glenlogan Park Stakes' in recent times.

Lady Of The Turf Stakes info

Date: Saturday 29th May 2021
Track: Eagle Farm racecourse, Brisbane
Distance: 1350 metres
Race Type: Fillies & Mares - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000
2020 Winner: Sure Knee

The Lady Of The Turf Stakes is a handy race for fillies and mares only and will typically attract female gallopers looking to tune up for the better class same sex races ahead at Eagle Farm, such as the Gr2 Dane Ripper Quality on Oaks Day or the Gr1 Winter Stakes on the final day of the carnival, both run over 1400m in June.

Fillies & mares racing in the winter carnival will all be striving to win either the Lady of The Turf Stakes, Dane Ripper Quality or Winter Stakes, or all of them, as they are the premier female races of the carnival and many females will often compete in all three races. Cradle Me (2nd in 2016) won the Lady Of The Turf Stakes at here next start.

In recent times Wealth Princess (2010) went on to place in both the Dane Ripper Quality and Winter Stakes, while Russeting (3rd in 2009) went on run fourth in the Dane Ripper Quality before going on to win to win the Winter Stakes. Chincilla Rose (2nd in 2008) returned the following year to win the Dane Ripper Quality at Eagle Farm.

Savatiano (2019) ran second in the Gr3 Dark Jewel Classic over 1400m at Scone in provincial New South Wales before trekking to Brisbane to win this event in quality style for trainer James Cummings.

Recent Lady Of The Turf Stakes winners include Pedrena (2018) and Eckstein (2017).

2020 Lady Of The Turf Stakes Result

1. $9.00 Sure Knee 57.0 Luke Dittman
2. $4.80 Krone 57.0 Brad Stewart
3. $2.70 Baccarat Baby 57.0 Ryan Maloney

then followed
4. $26.00 Barefoot 57.0 James Orman
5. $31.00 Red Stina 57.0 Tegan Harrison
6. $41.00 Strome 57.0 Ms Stephanie Thornton
7. $8.00 Tricky Gal 57.0 Baylee Nothdurft
8. $15.00 Delectation Girl 57.0 Andrew Mallyon
9. $41.00 Paint The Town Two 57.0 Sean Cormack
10. $41.00 Mewstone Rock 57.0 Larry Cassidy
11. $9.50 Shuhood 55.0 Robbie Fradd
12. $18.00 Teleplay 57.0 Michael Cahill

Margins: 1 len, 0.2 len
Time: 1:38.14

The Gr2 Sires Produce Stakes and Gr3 Premiers Cup take place on the same day as the Lady of the Turf Stakes at Doomben.

Bet now on the Lady Of The Turf Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Lady Of The Turf Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Lady Of The Turf Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Sure Knee Krone Baccarat Baby 1:38.1
2019 Savatiano Quilista Eckstein 1:15.6
2018 Pedrena Invincibella Schism 1:19.2
2017 Eckstein Egyptian Symbol Sold For Song 1:20.0
2016 Ghisoni Cradle Me Beatniks 1:17.9
2015 Peace Force Solicit Tukiyo 1:19.7
2014 Srikandi Belle De Coeur Platinum Rocker 1:18.4
2013 Sookie Bound To Blush Diademe 1:19.2
2012 Wealth Princess Sophie's Spirit Alltherightmoves 1:19.5
2011 Kanzan Zero Rock Returntosender 1:20.6
2010 Wealth Princess Jerezana Flying Tessie 1:19.3
2009 Ortensia Belong To Many Russeting 1.18:3
2008 Quizzical Lady Chinchilla Rose Seconde 1.18:5
2007 Storm Signal Jazzella Reverenza 1:18.7
2006 Countess Bathory La Sizeranne Freeroller 1.19.0
2005 Beautiful Gem Pentelikon Wasimah 1:19.5
2004 Martique Fair Embrace Star Of Flight 1.18.1