horse racing info

Dark Jewel Classic

The Dark Jewel Classic is a Group 3 quality handicap for fillies & mares that takes place each May at Scone Racecourse in Scone, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1400 metres and worth $200,000 in prize money. The 2019 Dark Jewel Classic was won by Con Te Partiro from Savatiano with Organza third.

The provincial town of Scone is located in the Hunter Region of New South Wales, around 270 kilometres north of Sydney, and is widely recognised as the horse capital of Australia. The two-day Scone Cup Carnival is held on a Friday & Saturday in mid May and is one of the richest country racing carnivals in Australia.

Dark Jewel Classic info

Date: Saturday 16th May 2020
Track: Scone racecourse, Scone
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: Fillies & Mares Quality
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $200,000
2019 Winner: Con Te Partiro

The Dark Jewel Classic is a race for fillies & mares only that generally attracts a capacity field of more than handy females in various stages of their campaigns, making it a tough job for punters trying to find the winner.

Those fillies & mares down in the weights and on the improve are ones to watch, especially if they can creep in under the handicapper's guard.

Hawkesbury's Group 3 Hawkesbury Crown is the ideal lead-up race to the Dark Jewel Classic. Of late, smart galloper Aerobatics (2nd in 2014) won the Hawkesbury Crown before finishing runner-up in this race. Daysie Doom (2016) and Seaside (2014) finished second & sixth respectively in the Hawkesbury Crown before tasting success here.

Con Te Partiro (2019) resumed from a spell to win this event in stylish fashion for the Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott stable.

Recent Dark Jewel Classic winners include Siren's Fury (2018) and Daysee Doom (2017).

2019 Dark Jewel Classic result

1. $18.00 Con Te Partiro 55.0 Sam Clipperton
2. $4.60 Savatiano 57.5 Joshua Parr
3. $11.00 Organza 53.0 Ms Rachel King

then followed
4. $6.50 Into The Abyss 54.0 Glyn Schofield
5. $11.00 Pumpkin Pie 53.0 Christian Reith
6. $17.00 Asharani 53.0 Andrew Gibbons
7. $51.00 Bangkok 53.0 Jean Van Overmeire
8. $9.00 Sweet Scandal 53.0 Jay Ford
9. $14.00 Siren's Fury 58.0 Tim Clark
10. $16.00 Princess Posh 59.0 Ms Samantha Clenton
11. $5.00 Moss Trip 55.0 Tommy Berry
12. $26.00 Aqua D'ivina 53.0 Robbie Dolan
13. $151.00 Red Chandelier 53.0 James Innes Jnr

Margins: 0.22 len, 0.18 len
Time: 1:22.63

Bet now on the Dark Jewel Classic

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Dark Jewel Classic odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Dark Jewel Classic winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Con Te Partiro Savatiano Organza 1:22.6
2018 Siren's Fury Schism Ghisoni 1:23.8
2017 Daysee Doom Prompt Response Serene Majesty 1:23.6
2016 Danish Twist Onemorezeta Press Report 1:23.8
2015 Divertire Calming Influence Bound For Earth 1:23.1
2014 Seaside Aerobatics Myamira 1:22.6
2013 Arctic Flight Pipette Miss Stellabelle 1:22.8
2012 Upon This Rock Shannara Rose Of Peace 1:22.9
2011 Shannara Dane Julia Pontiana 1:22.5