horse racing info

Premier's Cup

The Premier's Cup is a Group 3 open handicap race that is held each May at Doomben racecourse in Brisbane, Queensland. The race is run over a distance of 2200 metres and worth $125,000 in prize money. The 2019 Premiers Cup was won by Wu Gok from Come Play With Me with Carzoff third.

The race itself takes place on Group 1 Doomben 10,000 day, which is Doomben's biggest race day of the Brisbane winter racing carnival.

Premier's Cup info

Date: Saturday 23rd May 2020
Track: Eagle Farm racecourse, Brisbane
Distance: 2200 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $125,000
2019 Winner: Wu Gok

The Premier's Cup is a handicap distance event over 2200m that is a good lead up race to the Gr2 Brisbane Cup over 2400m in two weeks time at Eagle Farm. The race will generally attract gallopers who previously competed in the Gr3 Chairman's Handicap a fortnight earlier and the field tends to be made up of predominantly handy local stayers.

In recent times Larry's Never Late (3rd in 2010) ran placings in both the Chairman's Handicap & Premier's Cup, while Fulmonti (3rd in 2008) and Mandela (3rd in 2007) both ran third in the Chairman's Handicap on their way to winning this race. Fulmonti continued on to the 2008 Brisbane Cup where he finished second behind Viewed.

The Candy Man (2019) took out a CL5-SW event over 1800m at the Gold Coast racecourse before capturing this race in stylish fashion for the Barry Baldwin stable.

Recent Premier's Cup winners include Rising Red (2018) and Kaiser Franz (2017).

2019 Premiers Cup result

1. $5.50 The Candy Man 54.0 Michael Cahill
2. $7.50 Haripour 57.0 Blake Shinn
3. $8.50 Igraine 54.0 Ron Stewart

then followed
4. $4.80 Luvaluva 54.0 Tommy Berry
5. $151.00 Chillin With Dylan 54.0 Micheal Hellyer
6. $61.00 Exoteric 56.0 Larry Cassidy
7. $12.00 Cool Chap 54.0 Jeff Lloyd
8. $21.00 Tumultuous 55.0 Robbie Fradd
9. $11.00 Our Libretto 54.0 Jamie Kah
10. $31.00 Miss Admiration 54.0 Michael Walker
11. $5.50 The Lord Mayor 55.5 James McDonald
12. $18.00 Tangled 54.0 Kerrin McEvoy
13. $151.00 Happy Go Plucky 54.0 Les Tilley
14. $101.00 Morendi 54.0 Dale Smith
15. $61.00 I'm A Princess 54.0 Mark Du Plessis
16. $31.00 Moss 'n' Dale 59.0 Anthony Darmanin
17. $101.00 Mongolianconqueror 54.0 Ms Kathy O'Hara
18. $51.00 First Crush 54.0 Matthew McGillivray

Margins: 0.20 len, 1.25 len
Time: 2:15.83

The Gr2 Sires Produce Stakes and Gr3 Lady Of The Turf Stakes are held alongside the Premier's Cup at Doomben.

Bet now on the Premiers Cup

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Premiers Cup odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Premiers Cup winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Wu Gok Come Play With Me Carzoff 2:00.5
2019 The Candy Man Haripour Igraine 2:15.8
2018 Rising Red Maurus Sedanzer 2:14.6
2017 Kaiser Franz Zambezi Warrior The Chairman 2:22.9
2016 Real Love Puccini Benzini 2:14.3
2015 Faust Baligari Jetset Lad 2:06.2
2014 Zephyron Precedence Pretty Pins 2:13.3
2013 Precedence Less Is More Zennista 2:16.9
2012 Fantastic Blue Dance With Her Ironstein 2:16.9
2011 Shuffle The Cash Tinseltown Little Stranger 2:14.8
2010 Tabulate Albertinelli Larry's Never Late 2:16.6
2009 Reggie Scattergun Macknuckle 2:22.1
2008 Rezone Majestic Sight Fulmonti 2:14.3
2007 Theseo Game On Mandela 2:15.3
2006 Coalesce Holidazzle Haylee Baylee 2:13.9