horse racing info

Newcastle Spring Stakes

The Newcastle Spring Stakes is a Group 3 race for three-year-olds that takes place in November at Newcastle racecourse in Newcastle, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres and worth $150,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Newcastle Spring Stakes was won by Aramayo from Cloak with Greysful Glamour third.

Previously held on Group 3 Newcastle Gold Cup Day in September, the Spring Stakes was moved to November this year to coincide with a new feature race day, 'The Hunter', during the Sydney spring racing carnival.

Newcastle is located about 200km north of Sydney on the Hunter Coast and the two-day Newcastle Gold Cup Carnival is the Newcastle Jockey Club's major meeting of the year, hosting four group races on the first day.

Newcastle Spring Stakes info

Date: Saturday 16th November 2019
Track: Newcastle racecourse, Newcastle
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: 3yo Set Weights
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $150,000
2018 Winner: Aramayo

The Newcastle Spring Stakes is the feature three-year-old race held during the two day Newcastle spring carnival and quite often attracts good quality gallopers who may bypass the bigger 3yo races on offer at Rosehill and Randwick for an easier group race to tackle.

Some more than handy gallopers have won this event over the years including Clangalang (2002), Universal Prince (2000), Shogun Lodge (1999) and Encounter (1997).

Previous winners and placegetters of the Spring Stakes have gone on to perform well in the Gr1 Spring Champion Stakes over the years and also the listed Dulcify Quality to a lesser extent.

In recent times Sousa (2008), Hotel Grand (2005), Universal Prince (2000), Coronation Day (1992) and Imprimatur (1986) all managed to go on and win the Spring Champion Stakes at Randwick on Epsom Handicap day after winning the Spring Stakes. Prosir (2012) and Darci Be Good (2011) both finished runner-up in the Spring Champion Stakes after taking out this race.

Smart galloper Sweynesse (2014) claimed the Gr2 Gloaming Stakes at Rosehill after winning this event.

Aramayo (2018) ran third in the Gr3 Ming Dynasty Quality over 1400m at Rosehill in Sydney before ehading to Newcastle to win this event for the James Cummings stable.

Recent Newcastle Spring Stakes winners include Astoria (2017) and Invincible Gem (2016) .

ladbrokes odds

Enjoy top odds on a variety of horse racing betting markets.

Newcastle Track Map

Newcastle race track is a flat track which has a circumference of 2000m and horses race in a clockwise direction. The track surface is turf and the straight length is 415m.

newcastle track map

2018 Newcastle Spring Stakes result

1. $6.00 Aramayo 56.5 Tye Angland
2. $26.00 Cloak 56.5 Glyn Schofield
3. $19.00 Greysful Glamour 54.5 Tim Clark

then followed
4. $6.50 Outrageous 56.5 Tommy Berry
5. $6.50 Mizzy 55.0 James McDonald
6. $51.00 Everard 54.5 Christian Reith
7. $7.00 Aristocratic Miss 54.5 Kerrin McEvoy
8. $71.00 Come Along 56.5 Jeff Penza
9. $13.00 Aliferous 54.5 Brenton Avdulla
10. $8.00 Sunreel 54.5 Andrew Gibbons
11. $26.00 Perfect Pitch 54.5 Ms Rachel King
12. $12.00 Onthetake 54.5 Jason Collett
13. $41.00 Grand Bouquet 54.5 Corey Brown
14. $9.00 Morpheus 56.5 Hugh Bowman
15. $151.00 Home Win 56.5 Jay Ford

Margins: 0.9 len, 0.72 len
Time: 1:37.21

Bet now on the Newcastle Spring Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Newcastle Spring Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Newcastle Spring Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Aramayo Cloak Greysful Glamour 1:37.2
2017 Astoria Merovee Primitivo 1:37.0
2017 Invincible Gem Faraway Town Salsonic 1:36.4
2015 Devil Hawk Tatoosh Gold Ambition 1:37.3
2014 Sweynesse Pounamu Monteux 1:38.2
2013 Savvy Nature Wordplay Happy Clapper 1:36.3
2012 Proisir Trophies Proverb 1:35.7
2011 Darci Be Good Rekindled Alliance Ambidexter 1:36.6
2010 Ilovethiscity Gireson Heartsareforlove 1:37.0
2009 Lovemelikearock Viking Legend Euphemism 1:38.9
2008 Sousa Rhyno Chaser Back Off 1.37.5
2007 Race not held Equine Flu
2006 Mearas Magic Jet Teranaba 1:36.0
2005 Hotel Grand Manton Flora Danica 1:36.3
2004 Lotteria Wenceslas Square Dane Shadow 1:35.2
2003 Allgunadoit Niello Danbird 1:34.8
2002 Clangalang Recruiting Takas 1:37.7
2001 Magic Albert Viscount Viking Ruler 1:37.0
2000 Universal Prince Phoenix Park Picholine 1:35.9
1999 Shogun Lodge Perfect Paradise Angling 1:38.0
1998 Dracula Dignity Dancer Paris Dream 1:37.2
1997 Encounter Adam El Mirada 1:37.0
1996 Ebony Grosve Adventurous Late Night Fun 1:35.2
1995 Vernal Star Defence Nothin' Leica Dane 1:35.8
1994 Obsessed Law Of The Land Le Melezin 1:37.0
1993 Mistador Mahogany Clever Victory 1:42.1
1992 Coronation Day Irish Rort Shoeshine Henry 1:37.0
1991 Enjoy Dancing Skilful Star Subzero 1:37.5
1990 Bright Kite Stradmore Integra 1:37.2
1989 Procol Harum Select Prince Party Mood 1:37.3
1988 Royal Pardon Pradnapper Wonder Dancer 1:39.6
1987 All Ashore Count Henri Impoverish 1:36.0
1986 Imprimatur Top Avenger Big Zapple 1:38.3
1985 Easter Splendid Speed Silver Champagne 1:36.3
1984 Blazing Devil Castanillia Konedobu 1:38.2

The 2016 edition of this race was held in February 2017 at Randwick racecourse in Sydney.