horse racing info

Concorde Stakes

The Concorde Stakes is a Group 3 quality handicap for three-year-olds and upwards held at Randwick racecourse during the Sydney spring racing carnival each year around late August or early September. The race is run over a distance of 1000 metres under set weight & penalty conditions and worth $150,000 in prize money. The 2019 Concorde Stakes was won by Redzel from Pierata with Graff third.

The race takes place on the same day as the Group 2 Chelmsford Stakes, Group 2 Furious Stakes and Group 2 Tramway Stakes.

The Concorde Stakes info

Date: Saturday 5th September 2020
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1000 metres
Race Type: 3yo & Up - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000
2019 Winner: Redzel

The Concorde Stakes is a good sprint race for three-year-old and upward gallopers. It has been taken out by some classy gallopers over the years with Decision Time (2011 & 2013), Reward For Effort (2010), Typhoon Zed (2008), Private Steer (2003), Guineas (1999) and Joanne (1991) all winning this event.

Races like the Gr2 Theo Marks Stakes at Rosehill or the Gr3 Cameron Handicap at Newcastle are later options for horses contesting this event, while the Gr2 The Shorts on the first day of the three-day Randwick spring carnival might be on the agenda for above average types.Sessions (2nd in 2013) won The Shorts at his next start after finishing runner-up in the Concorde Stakes.

Redzel (2019) resumed from a spell to win this race in stylish fashion for the third year in a row for Randwick training duo Peter & Paul Snowden.

Recent Concorde Stakes winners include Felines (2016) and Shiraz (2015).

sportsbet racing form

2019 Concorde Stakes result

1. $7.00 Redzel 60.0 Kerrin McEvoy
2. $8.00 Pierata 60.0 Tommy Berry
3. $9.50 Graff 58.0 Brenton Avdulla

then followed
4. $2.30 Nature Strip 60.0 James McDonald
5. $5.50 Sunlight 58.5 Luke Currie
6. $6.00 Zoustyle 57.0 Brad Stewart

Margins: 0.2 len, 0.8 len
Time: 0:56.28

Bet now on the Concorde Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Concorde Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Concorde Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Redzel Pierata Graff 0:56.2
2018 Redzel Kaepernick Invincible Star 0:56.1
2017 Redzel Spieth Nieta 0:56.2
2016 Felines Federal Craftiness 0:59.3
2015 Shiraz Craftiness Ball Of Muscle 0:57.7
2014 Wouldnt It Be Nice Nuclear Class Rain Affair 0:59.4
2013 Decision Time Sessions Delago Bolt 0:56.0
2012 Tiger Tees Mrs Onassis Satin Shoes 1:04.1
2011 Decision Time Winter King Monton 1.02.8
2010 Reward For Effort Winter King Trusting 1:03.3
2009 Friday Creek McClintock Ahdashim 1:03.8
2008 Typhoon Zed Raheeb Hurried Choice 1:03.4
2007 Race Not Run
2006 Mustard Regal Cheer Fox Lake 1:03.5
2005 Red Oog Dance The Waves Spark Of Life 1:04.0
2004 Taikun Fouardee Star Of Florida 1:02.8
2003 Private Steer Strabane Gullcatcher 1:04.2
2002 Fouardee Into The Night Century Kid 1:02.8
2001 Phoenix Park Lord Essex Spinning Hill 1:03.2
2000 Condotti Palladium Star King Of Acapulco 1:04.1
1999 Guineas Life Of Riley Regulations 1:03.9
1998 Confiscate (Nz) Notoire Blazing Steel 1:05.1
1997 Armidale Siddinghausen Catalan Opening 1:03.1
1996 Race not run
1995 Victoria Park Moment'S Pleasure Avulsion 1:03.0
1994 Just Awesome Khaptingly Committal 1:02.7
1993 Deposition All Our Mob Classic Magic 1:04.0
1992 Final Card Kinjite Classic Magic 1:03.2
1991 Joanne Cavalier Fort Isle 0:57.6
1990 West Dancer Sobers Pagan Jest 0:57.8
1989 Alpine Flyer Lightning Bend From The Planet 0:59.4