horse racing info

Tramway Stakes

The Tramway Stakes is a Group 2 race for 3yo & upwards horses held each September at Randwick racecourse in Sydney during the spring racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1400 metres under set plus penalty conditions and worth $200,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Tramway Stakes was won by Comin' Through from Tom Melbourne with Dixie Blossoms third.

Upgraded from Group 3 to Group 2 status for the 2013/2014 racing season, the winner of this race is exempt from ballot on the Epsom Handicap. The race itself is held on the same day as the Gr2 Chelmsford Stakes and Group 2 Furious Stakes.

Tramway Stakes info

Date: Saturday 7th September 2019
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: 4yo & Up - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $200,000
2018 Winner: Comin' Through

The Tramway Stakes generally attracts moe than handy types rather than the upper echelon and a race such as the Gr3 Show County Quality is typically a good lead-up race.

In recent times Bank Robber (2008), Primus (2006) and Sportsman (2003) won the Show County Quality before winning this race and number of horses have placed in both races over the past few years.

Of late, the Tramway Stakes has proven to be a good guide to future big race winners at Randwick during the spring, with Sincero (2011) winning the Gr1 George Main Stakes and Secret Admirer (2nd in 2011) claiming the Gr1 Epsom Handicap.

Steps in Time (10th in 2012) and Thankgodyou’rehere (3rd in 2011) won the Gr3 Bill Ritchie Handicap after contesting this event.

Top galloper Rangirangdoo (2009) ran second in the Gr1 Epsom Handicap at Randwick after winning this race and he then travelled to Melbourne to win the Gr2 Crystal Mile at Moonee Valley on WS Cox Plate day.

Comin' Through (2018) resumed from a spell to score an impressive victory in this event for the Chris Waller stable at Rosehill. The Fastnet Rock gelding took out the Gr1 Doomben Cup at Doomben racecourse in Brisbane before his spell.

Recent Tramway Stakes winners include Happy Clapper (2017) and Hauraki (2016).

ladbrokes odds

Enjoy top odds on a variety of horse racing betting markets.

2018 Tramway Stakes result

1. $8.00 Comin' Through 58.0 Michael Walker
2. $5.00 Tom Melbourne 55.0 Corey Brown
3. $12.00 Dixie Blossoms 55.5 Christian Reith

then followed
4. $19.00 Arbeitsam 56.0 Tim Clark
5. $21.00 Egg Tart 57.0 Tye Angland
6. $31.00 Youngstar 56.0 Kerrin McEvoy
7. $2.80 Le Romain 59.0 Hugh Bowman
8. $7.00 Lanciato 56.0 Tommy Berry
9. $21.00 Nettoyer 53.0 Ms Rachel King
10. $81.00 Takedown 58.0 Jay Ford
11. $19.00 Duca Valentinois 56.0 Joshua Parr

Margins: 0.2 len, 0.1 len
Time: 1:22.17

Bet now on the Tramway Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Tramway Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Tramway Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Comin' Through Tom Melbourne Dixie Blossoms 1:22.1
2017 Happy Clapper Tom Melbourne Invincible Gem 1:21.9
2016 Hauraki Le Romain Dibayani 1:25.9
2015 Hooked Ecuador Rudy 1:24.4
2014 Lucia Valentina Tiger Tees Toydini 1:26.6
2013 Malavio Bello Royal Descent 1:21.3
2012 Tagus Kontiki Park Moment Of Time 1:22.5
2011 Sincero Secret Admirer Thankgodyou'rehere 1.22.2
2010 Neeson Cannonball Herculian Prince 1:26.1
2009 Rangirangdoo Strat's Flyer Murray's Sun 1:21.9
2008 Bank Robber Kick 'N Chase Vecchia Roma 1:25.7
2007 Race Not Run
2006 Primus Stormhill Flaming 1:25.6
2005 Shania Dane Lotteria Utzon 1:22.7
2004 Nips West Country Desert War 1:22.9
2003 Sportsman Britt's Best Boreale 1:21.8
2002 Gordo Shot Of Thunder Universal Prince 1:24.0
2001 Diamond Dane Maitland Gold Kootoomootoo 1:18.3
2000 Mr Innocent Eau D'Scay Freemason 1:20.6
1999 Kinzaffra Referral Bezeal Bay 1:22.2
1998 Corporate James Northern Drake Adam 1:28.2
1997 Galactic Valley Might And Power Golf Circuit 1:25.9
1996 Peruzzi Juggler Shame 1:22.8
1995 Rembetica Monopolise Sprint By 1:24.8
1994 Big Dreams Skilful Star Navy Seal 1:22.7
1993 Ghost Story Flitter Loving Cup 1:23.1
1992 Cobbora Century Reign Big Dreams 1:22.7
1991 Moville Peter Majestic Boy Livistona Lane 1:24.1
1990 Shaftesbury Avenue Livistona Lane Easy Prey 1:22.6
1989 Cole Diesel My Red Dear Glacier Peak 1:22.5
1988 Gold Trump Prankster True Dreams 1:22.7