horse racing info

Furious Stakes

The Furious Stakes is a Group 2 set weights race for three-year-old fillies held annually at Randwick racecourse in Sydney during the Sydney spring racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres and worth $200,000 in prize money. The 2019 Furious Stakes was won by Libertini from Villami with Let It Pour third.

Taking place on the same day as the Group 2 Chelmsford Stakes and Group 2 Concorde Stakes, the Furious Stakes was upgraded to Group 2 status for the 2013/2014 racing season and the race distance was reduced from 1400m to 1200m.

Furious Stakes info

Date: Saturday 5th September 2020
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 3yo Fillies - Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $200,000
2019 Winner: Libertini

The Furious Stakes is raced at level weights for fillies only which favours the better gallopers engaged. This race is generally contested by females who may have went around in the Gr2 Silver Shadow Stakes at Warwick Farm the previous month. Libertini (2019) and Formality (2017) are the most recent fillies to win the Silver Shadow Stakes and Furious Stakes double.

Any fillies competing in this race will most likely head on to the Gr2 Tea Rose Stakes the following month at Rosehill, before contesting the major Group 1 fillies race of the spring, the Flight Stakes over 1600m at Randwick on Epsom Hcp day.

The Silver Shadow Stakes has been a great guide to the Furious Stakes in recent times. Classy gallopers Libertini (2019), Formality (2017), Speak Fondly (2015), Samantha Miss (2008), Mnemosyne (2005) and Victory Vein (2002) all won the Silver Shadow Stakes before winning this race. Streama (2009) finished third in the Silver Shadow before taking out this event at her next start. She then went on to win the Tea Rose Stakes & Flight Stakes later in the carnival.

A number of horses have either won or placed in both the Silver Shadow Stakes and Furious Stakes and vice versa over the years and it pays to cast a keen eye on the Silver Shadow when assessing the form for this race.

Of late, Streama (2011), Samantha Miss (2008), Mnemosyne (2005), Prisoner Of Love (2004), Shamekha (2003), Victory Vein (2002) all won the Tea Rose stakes after winning this race and Samantha Miss (2008) and Angst (1993) are the only two gallopers to win the Princess Series of races which consists of the Silver Shadow Shakes, Furious Stakes, Tea Rose Stakes and Flight Stakes.

Libertini (2019) captured the Silver Shadow Stakes over 1200m at Randwick before pulling out all stops to win this event for the Anthony Cummings stable.

Recent Furious Stakes winners include Pure Elation (2018) and Formality (2017).

sportsbet racing form

2019 Furious Stakes result

1. $1.18 Libertini 56.0 Tommy Berry
2. $16.00 Villami 56.0 Tim Clark
3. $19.00 Let It Pour 56.0 Brenton Avdulla

then followed
4. $19.00 Probabeel 56.0 James McDonald
5. $15.00 Kiamichi 56.0 Hugh Bowman
6. $26.00 Darling Point 56.0 Nash Rawiller
7. $91.00 Bright Rubick 56.0 Glen Boss

Margins: 0.2 len, a.3 len
Time: 1:09.22

Bet now on the Furious Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Furious Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Furious Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Libertini Villami Let It Pour 1:09.2
2018 Pure Elation Fiesta Pretty In Pink 1:09.1
2017 Formality Champagne Cuddles I Am Excited 1:09.9
2016 Foxplay Bacarella Global Glamour 1:12.5
2015 Speak Fondly Perignon Ottoman 1:10.6
2014 Winx Alpha Miss Earthquake 1:11.9
2013 Bound For Earth Guelph Thump 1:09.0
2012 Dear Demi Meidung Jade Marauder 1:22.9
2011 Streama Florentina Detours 1:25.0
2010 More Strawberries Divorces Parables 1:27.0
2009 Melito Hurtle Myrtle Lovemelikearock 1:21.5
2008 Samantha Miss Love and Kisses Portillo 1:26.2
2007 Race Not Run
2006 Just Dancing My Lady's Chamber Gallant Tess 1:26.6
2005 Mnemosyne Media Permissive 1:22.6
2004 Prisoner of Love Wager Our Sweet Moss 1:23.1
2003 Shamekha Regimental Gal Spurcent 1:22.4
2002 Victory Vein Royal Purler Lavishly 1:24.2
2001 Moonflute Hosannah Ha Ha 1:25.1
2000 Unworldly Money Begets Money Preserve 1:22.6
1999 Danglissa Forest Express Katima 1:23.4
1998 Sunline Zaroyle Witchita 1:27.3
1997 Stella Cadente Soul Queen Stay Lucky 1:27.3
1996 Dashing Eagle Assertive Lass Cashier 1:22.9
1995 Seattle Gem Seika Night Club 1:26.4
1994 Danarani Street Theatre Aragen 1:23.7
1993 Angst Sashed Fitting 1:24.0
1992 Yodelay Skating Flitter 1:23.1
1991 Bold Promise Temple Fire Rouquin 1:25.6
1990 Twiglet Triscay Whisked 1:22.9
1989 Tristanagh Reverse Pass A Little Kiss 1:23.1
1988 Research Glenview Grey Fille 1:24.4