, Colonel Reeves Stakes - Ascot Racecourse - Perth Summer Racing Carnival
horse racing info

Colonel Reeves Stakes

The Colonel Reeves Stakes is a Group 3 quality handicap race held each November at Ascot racecourse in Perth, Western Australia during the Perth summer racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1100 metres and worth $150,000 in prize money. The 2019 Colonel Reeves Stakes was won by Flirtini from The Celt with Profit Street third.

The Colonel Reeves Stakes takes place on the same day as the Group 2 WA Champion Fillies Stakes.

Colonel Reeves Stakes info

Date: Saturday 13th November 2021
Track: Ascot racecourse, Perth
Distance: 1100 metres
Race Type: Quality Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000
2019 Winner: Flirtini

The Colonel Reeves Stakes is a quality handicap that suits horses coming from the Gr3 Asian Beau Stakes earlier in the carnival and might be heading towards races such as the Group 1 Railway Stakes or Group 1 Winterbottom Stakes during the Festival of Perth Racing at Ascot.

Outstanding sprinter Barakey (2012) went on to score a memorable win in the Winterbottom Stakes after tasting success in this event.

A field of predominantly local sprinters generally assembles for the Colonel Reeves Stakes and horses who are fit & in-form typically come to the fore. Interestingly enough, outstanding galloper Hay List ran unplaced in this race in 2009 as an odds-on favourite.

Durendal (2018) ran fourth in the Gr3 Prince Of Wales Stakes over 1000m At Ascot before scoring a stylish victory in this event for trainer Chris Gangemi.

Recent Colonel Reeves Stakes winners include State Solicitor (2017) and Vega Magic (2016).

2019 Colonel Reeves Stakes result

1. $3.00 Flirtini 55.5 Paul Harvey
2. $31.00 The Celt 55.0 Alan Kennedy
3. $21.00 Profit Street 55.0 Peter Hall

then followed
4. $51.00 Snow Lord 55.0 Clint Johnston-Porter
5. $3.50 Misty Metal 55.5 Troy Turner
6. $3.20 Stageman 55.0 William Pike
7. $51.00 River Dance 55.0 Steven Parnham
8. $151.00 Baraki Beats 55.0 Colin Haddon
9. $18.00 Battle Hero 57.5 Jarrad Noske
10. $51.00 Durendal 57.5 Jordan Turner
11. $21.00 Market Ruler 54.5 Peter Knuckey

Margins: 0.48 len, 1.75 len
Time: 1:03.98

Bet now on the Colonel Reeves Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Colonel Reeves Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Colonel Reeves Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Flirtini The Celt Profit Street 1:03.9
2018 Durendal Belter Scales Of Justice 1:05.6
2017 State Solicitor Caipirinha Durendal 1:05.0
2016 Vega Magic Rock Magic Bourne Supremacy 1:03.5
2015 Rock Magic Watermans Bay Liberty's Gem 1:05.0
2014 Shining Knight Testamezzo Hussy By Choice 1:03.9
2014 Zabisco Pheidon Extra Zero 1:49.6
2013 The Rising Mendicity Watermans Bay 1:03.9
2012 Barakey Werd Waratah's Secret 1:03.8
2011 Avante Werd All Friared Up 1:03.6
2010 Ma Ma Machine Waratah's Secret King Kool Kat 1:03.6
2009 Revolition Black In Time Ma Ma Machine 1:03.6
2008 Danny Beau Hadabeclorka Black In Time 1:08.0
2007 So Secret Innovation Exotic Nights 1:10.2
2006 Electric General Star Laser Grasspatch Girl 1:10.0
2005 Ellicorsam Arctic Park Star Laser 1:10.2
2004 Avenida Madero Refemme Western Tycoon 1:10.2
2003 Golden Delicious Hot Shot Brother Wyndam Glory 1:11.6
2002 Secret Remedy Irish Pride Golden Delicious 1:10.9
2001 Lady Belvedere Polygram Exit Lane 1:10.0
2000 Highwood Secret Remedy Face Your Fears 1:11.2
1999 Zedavite Corporate Gun Sound Of Legends 1:10.4
1998 Scouts Honour Mister Elegant Sound Of Legends 1:11.1
1997 On A Swing Willoughby Quadrant 1:10.3
1996 Legerman Craft Memory Silver Flyer 1:09.9
1995 Not Held
1994 (Jan) Sheer Grey Power Quest Legerman 1:10.5
1994 (Dec) Tolo Harbour Major Mo Doctor Golly 1:11.6
1993 Not Held
1992 Business Beat Richmond Boy Star Pet 1:10.1
1991 M'Lady's Jewel Dark Beau Vain And Precious 1:09.5
1990 Bovader Splendid Diamond Admiralty 1:09.4
1989 Ossie Pak Ableson Power Prince 1:08.9
1988 Heron Bridge Jev Power Princess Todman 1:01.1