, Prince Of Wales Stakes - Ascot - Perth Summer Racing Carnival
horse racing info

Prince Of Wales Stakes

The Prince Of Wales Stakes is a Group 3 weight-for-age race held annually in October at Ascot racecourse in Perth, Western Australia during the Perth summer racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres and worth $150,000 in prize money. The 2019 Prince Of Wales Stakes was won by Flirtini from Misty Metal with Stageman third.

Prince Of Wales Stakes info

Date: Saturday 30th October 2021
Track: Ascot racecourse, Perth
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000
2019 Winner: Flirtini

The Prince Of Wales Stakes is the first weight-for-age race of the new season in Perth and is held on the same day as the Group 1 WS Cox Plate at Moonee Valley in Melbourne.

A more than handy field of local gallopers will generally contest this race and the better class gallopers have a clear advantage under the weight-for-age scale.

The genuine WFA gallopers may go on may go on to tackle a race like the weight-for-age Gr2 Lee Steere Stakes the following month at Ascot and Idyllic Prince (2009) was the last horse to claim the Prince Of Wales Stakes & Lee Steere Stakes double. In recent times Luke's Luck (2nd in 2012), Waratah's Secret (2011) & For Your Eyes Only (3rd in 2010) all managed to run placings in both races.

Others may head to a race like the Gr3 Colonel Reeves Stakes on WA Champion Fillies Stakes Day and Durendal (4th in 2018) managed to win that race after running fourth in this event.

Dainty Tess (2017-2018) won the Listed Crawford Stakes over 1000m at Ascot before winning this event in successive years for trainer Daniel Morton. Recent Prince Of Wales Stakes winners include Rock Magic (2016) and Akhedasset (2015).

2019 Prince Of Wales result

1. $3.60 Flirtini 56.5 Paul Harvey
2. $3.60 Misty Metal 56.5 Troy Turner
3. $6.00 Stageman 58.5 William Pike

then followed
4. $3.50 Valour Road 58.5 Chris Parnham
5. $41.00 Electric Light 56.5 Ms Jade McNaught
6. $31.00 Durendal 58.5 Jarrad Noske
7. $31.00 Battle Hero 58.5 Brad Parnham
8. $16.00 Rebel King 58.5 Mitchell Pateman
9. $31.00 State Solicitor 58.5 Peter Hall
10. $151.00 Copper Fury 56.5 Andrew Castle

Margins: 0.99 len, 0.4 len
Time: 0:59.09

Bet now on the Prince Of Wales Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Prince Of Wales Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Prince Of Wales Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Flirtini Misty Metal Stageman 0:59.0
2018 Dainty Tess Lockroy Profit Street 0:58.1
2017 Dainty Tess Profit Street Dream Lifter 0:58.5
2016 Rock Magic Smoko Battle Hero 0:58.6
2015 Akhedasset Dawn Approach Magnifisio 1:09.7
2014 Elite Belle Barakey Checkpoint 1:10.0
2013 Barakey Power Princess Checkpoint 1:10.6
2012 Power Princess Luke's Luck Playing God 1:09.9
2011 Waratah's Secret Grand Nirvana King Kool Kat 1:10.3
2010 Waratah's Secret Idyllic Prince For Your Eyes Only 1:09.1
2009 Idyllic Prince West River Charley Spirited One 1:08.8
2008 Dark Target Royal Lott Idyllic Prince 1:08.7
2007 Idyllic Prince Grasspatch Girl Stormed Out 1:10.6
2006 Real Mak Yaya Lad Wynyard Hall 1:08.9
2005 Miss Andretti Star Laser Electic 1:08.2
2004 Golden Delicious Rescuer Kaprats 1:11.4
2003 Kaprats Dead Eye Dick Hot Shot Brother 1:10.9
2002 Tribula Suspicion Kaprats 1:10.7
2001 Secret Remedy Old Comrade Mystery Command 1:09.4
2000 Secret Remedy Metal Master Surrender To Me 1:10.5
1999 Corporate Gun Rory's Ratio Springtime Gold 1:10.0
1998 Double Blue Zedavite Willoughby 1:10.9
1997 Willoughby Double Blue Forge On 1:10.4
1996 Century Blazer Jacks Or Better Go The Grey 1:09.8
1995 Century Blazer Jacks Or Better Sir Tinka 1:10.1
1994 Jacks Or Better Bold Extreme Petite Amour 1:09.2
1993 Daring Hombre Pago Escort So Dashing 1:10.1
1992 Pago's King Star Pet Doctor Golly 1:10.8
1991 M'Lady's Jewel Island Gossip Caliway 1:11.1
1990 Mister Till Island Gossip Medicine Kid 1:10.7
1989 Carry A Smile Belele Jevtello 1:09.1
1988 Fimiston Sky Filou Barrakka 1:11.9