, Asian Beau Stakes - Ascot Racecourse - Perth Summer Racing Carnival
horse racing info

Asian Beau Stakes

The Asian Beau Stakes is a Group 3 quality handicap race held annually at Ascot racecourse in Perth, Western Australia in late October or early November during the Perth summer racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1400 metres and worth $150,000 in prize money. The 2019 Asian Beau Stakes was won by Samizdat from Regal Power with Perfect Jewel third.

Asian Beau Stakes info

Date: Saturday 30th October 2021
Track: Ascot racecourse, Perth
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: Quality Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000
2019 Winner: Samizdat

The Asian Beau Stakes is the first quality handicap of the racing season in Perth and suits more than handy types resuming or horses who are fit & in-form and can get in with a light weight to beat the handicapper.

Held on the same day as the Victoria Derby in Melbourne, competitors from the Asian Beau Stakes may decide to head on to upcoming handicap races such as the Gr3 Colonel Reeves or Gr3 RJ Peters Stakes later in the carnival at the same track.

Machino (2nd in 2012) went on to finish runner-up in the RJ Peters Stakes at his next start.

The $1,000,000 Group 1 Railway Stakes, held three weeks later at the same track, is another race that may be on the cards for horses contesting this race. Galaxy Star (2018) is the last galloper to win the Asian Beau Stakes & Railway Stakes double.

Generally speaking, the Asian Beau Stakes field typically attracts the best horses going around at the time.

Galaxy Star (2018) ran second on the Gr3 Northerly Stakes over 1400m at Ascot before scoring an easy victory in this event for the Grant & Alana Williams stable.

Recent Asian Beau Stakes winners include Pounamu (2017) and Heart Starter (2016).

2019 Asian Beau Stakes result

1. $2.50 Samizdat 54.0 Brad Parnham
2. $2.60 Regal Power 57.0 William Pike
3. $17.00 Perfect Jewel 57.0 Chris Parnham

then followed
4. $7.50 Alpha Sky 54.5 Patrick Carbery
5. $14.00 Mizlecki 58.0 Ms Jade McNaught
6. $61.00 Prize Catch 56.0 Peter Knuckey
7. $31.00 Wrinkly 58.0 Steven Parnham
8. $15.00 Lordhelpmerun 54.0 Alan Kennedy

Margins: 1.52 len, 0.72 len
Time: 1:24.12

Bet now on the Asian Beau Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Asian Beau Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Asian Beau Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Samizdat Regal Power Perfect Jewel 1:24.1
2018 Galaxy Star Action War God 1:02.8
2017 Pounamu Variation Whispering Brook 1:22.9
2016 Heart Starter Great Shot Respondent 1:24.1
2015 Real Love My Sister Lil Hazzabeel 1:24.5
2014 Balmont Girl Black Heart Bart Respondent 1:22.6
2013 Platinum Rocker Vermeer Rohan 1:22.7
2012 Westriver Kevydonn Maschino Kerrific 1:23.3
2011 Luckygray Mega Steel Tranquility 1:21.3
2010 Colour Correct God Has Spoken Inarticulate 1:21.8
2009 Kasabian Elliotto Grand Nirvana 1:21.7
2008 Gilded Venom Megatic Famous Roman 1:21.3
2007 El Presidente Tarzi Wire Detonator 1:21.2
2006 Idyllic Prince Kim Invader Ripped 1:22.3
2005 Wild Target Wire Detonator Changing Lanes 1:21.7
2004 Rock Of Cashel Dead Eye Dick Prince Of Vasac 1:22.7
2003 Track Jester Kame's Hope Dead Eye Dick 1:22.8
2002 Suspicion Kensyl Bay Storm Shot 1:24.2
2001 Old Fashion Country Blazer Face Your Fears 1:23.9
2000 Fair Alert Great Beau Slideaway 1:23.0
1999 Umah Zedamoss Jacks Or Better 1:23.1
1998 Willoughby Tool Time Ned's Brother 1:23.3
1997 Look Of Success Romario Willoughby 1:22.3
1996 Bold Extreme Bar Dreamer Cranky Tikit 1:22.4
1995 Lynsted Lad Cranky Tikit Uriah Heap 1:23.8
1994 Classy Dresser Sammy The Bull Ciderian 1:23.0
1993 Asian Incline Ciderian Corregidor 1:21.9
1992 Pago Escort Star Pet Jevaction 1:10.2
1991 Future Edition Pago Escort Medicine Kid 1:10.8
1990 Crimson Medal Ropak Barrosa Boy 1:08.9
1989 Medicine Kid Mister Till Send A Sign 1:08.8
1988 Ableson Sky Filou Hasty Snob 1:10.2