, Maurice McCarten Stakes - Rosehill Racecourse - Group 3 Race
horse racing info

Maurice McCarten Stakes

The Maurice McCarten Stakes is a Group 3 quality handicap that takes place in February each year at Rosehill racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1100 metres and is worth $150,000 in prize money. The 2020 Maurice McCarten Stakes was won by Star Of The Seas from River Bird with Spending To Win third.

Previously a listed race, the Maurice McCarten Stakes was elevated to Group 3 status for the 2013/2014 racing season and is held on Group 1 Coolmore Classic for fillies & mares.

Maurice McCarten Stakes info

Date: Saturday 13th March 2021
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1100 metres
Race Type: 3yo&Up Quality
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000
2020 Winner: Star Of The Seas

The Maurice McCarten Stakes is a short course sprint for 3yo & upwards gallopers that can attract a variety of more than handy types to make it a fairly open affair most of the time. The handicap conditions of the race theoretically levels the field out, and any horses on the improve that can escape the eye of the handicapper are the ones to watch out for.

Earlier autumn carnival races like the Group 3 Southern Cross Stakes at Rosehill or the Group 3 Liverpool City Cup at Warwick Farm are possible lead up races, while the Group 1 The Galaxy later in the month at the same track might attract any high quality sprinters from this race.

This race has been a handy guide to the Group 3 Star Kingdom Stakes in recent years with Hot Snitzel (6th in 2013) and Flamberge (4th in 2014) both going on to win the Star Kingdom after being unplaced in this race.

Easy Eddie (2019) finished runner-up in the Listed Takeover Target Stakes over 1200m at Gosford before scoring a narrow on-pace victory in this event for Warwick Farm trainer Joseph Pride.

Recent Maurice McCarten Stakes winners include Dothraki (2018) and Artistry (2017).

2020 Maurice McCarten Stakes result

1. $6.00 Star Of The Seas 57.0 James McDonald
2. $31.00 River Bird 53.0 Ms Kathy O'Hara
3. $16.00 Spending To Win 53.0 Kerrin McEvoy

then followed
4. $3.20 Greyworm 57.5 Brenton Avdulla
5. $15.00 Diplomatico 53.0 Jye McNeil
6. $15.00 Miss Exfactor 53.0 Jay Ford
7. $3.50 Zoustyle 55.0 Tim Clark
8. $6.50 Tactical Advantage 59.0 Nash Rawiller
9. $61.00 Goldfinch 53.0 Deanne Panya

Margins: 1 len, 0.1 len
Time: 1:06.45

Bet now on the Maurice McCarten Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Maurice McCarten Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Maurice McCarten Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Star Of The Seas River Bird Spending To Win 1:06.4
2019 Easy Eddie She Knows All Over Bosanova 1:06.3
2018 Dothraki Sprightly Lass New Universe 1:03.4
2017 Artistry Dothraki Fickle Folly 1:04.9
2016 Alberto Magic Angels Beach Bachman 1:03.4
2015 Target In Sight Deep Field Tahitian Black 1:03.9
2014 Kencella Va Pensiero That's A Good Idea 1:03.7
2013 See the World Anise Hurrara 1:03.9
2012 Title Uate Zaratone 1:04.8
2011 Atomic Force Winter King Dorf Command 1:03.1