horse racing info

The Galaxy

The Galaxy is a Group 1 open handicap race held annually in April at Rosehill racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1100 metres and worth $350,000 in prize money. The 2020 Galaxy was won by I Am Excited from Miss Leonidas with Tofane third.

One of the feature sprints of the Sydney autumn racing carnival, The Galaxy is held alongside the Group 1 George Ryder Stakes and Group 1 Rosehill Guineas on Slipper Day during the Rosehill autumn carnival.

The Galaxy info

Date: Saturday 21st March 2020
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1100 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $350,000
2020 Winner: I Am Excited
bet now The Galaxy odds

The Galaxy is an 1100m dash for accomplished sprinters and has been won by many a good horse over the years including Bel Sprinter (2013), Nicconi (2009), Typhoon Zed (2008), Spark Of Life (2004), Mistegic (2002), Gold Ace (1996) and the brilliant Schillaci (1992).

It is generally a frantic affair with a big field of speedy horses and the barrier draw plays an important part during the running of the race. Horses drawn out wide face a tough task due to the early speed in the race and an inside draw is a big advantage.

The Galaxy is generally one of the most exciting sprint races of the carnival and a race like the Group 2 Challenge Stakes provides a good lead up to The Galaxy. Smart sprinter Snitzerland (2nd in 2013) took out the Challenge Stakes before finishing runner-up in this race.

In Her Time (2018) resumed from a spell to win this event in stylish fashion and recent The Galaxy winners include Russian Revolution (2017) and Griante (2016).

2018 The Galaxy result

1. $4.20 Nature Strip 55.0 James McDonald
2. $10.00 Pierata 56.0 Tommy Berry
3. $16.00 Easy Eddie 51.0 Robbie Dolan

then followed
4. $26.00 Encryption 51.0 Craig Williams
5. $26.00 Baller 50.0 Andrew Adkins
6. $26.00 I Am Excited 51.5 Corey Brown
7. $101.00 Kaepernick 52.0 Ms Kathy O'Hara
8. $4.80 Redzel 59.5 Kerrin McEvoy
9. $101.00 Tribal Wisdom 51.5 Jay Ford
10. $7.00 Viridine 52.0 Tim Clark
11. $19.00 Jungle Edge 53.5 James Winks
12. $4.60 Graff 52.0 Brenton Avdulla

Margins: 0.1 len, 1.3 len
Time: 1:05.56

Bet now on the The Galaxy

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best The Galaxy odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

The Galaxy winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 I Am Excited Miss Leonidas Tofane 1:03.1
2019 Nature Strip Pierata Easy Eddie 1:05.5
2018 In Her Time English Viridine 1:04.3
2017 Russian Revolution Redzel Jungle Edge 1:07.6
2016 Griante Shiraz Dothraki 1:03.7
2016 Griante Shiraz Dothraki 1:03.7
2015 Sweet Idea Kuro Miracles Of Life 1:02.6
2014 Tiger Tees Anatina Villa Verde 1:12.2
2013 Bel Sprinter Snitzerland Decision Time 1:02.8
2012 Temple Of Boom Nobby Snip Ladys Angel 1:03.4
2011 Atomic Force Thankgodyou'rehere Cardinal Virtue 1:05.3
2010 Shellscrape Swift Alliance Stryker 1:03.2
2009 Nicconi Danleigh Gold Trail 1:03.5
2008 Typhoon Zed Keen Commander Fritzs Princess 1:04.1
2007 Magnus Fast n Famous Macs Tune 1:03.2
2006 Proprietor Media Black Ink 1:03.1
2005 Charge Forward Spark Of Life Red Oog 1:04.7
2004 Spark Of Life Taikun Blessum 1:03.7
2003 Snowland Star Of Florida Bradshaw 1:04.5
2002 Mistegic Century Kid Excellerator 1:02.7
2001 Padstow Camena Catatonic 1:04.0
2000 Black Bean Commands Padstow 1:02.9
1999 Masked Party Notoire Rebel Rock 1:06.4
1998 La Baraka Masked Party Coogee Walk 1:03.7
1997 Accomplice Lion Hunter Unison 1:02.3
1996 Gold Ace Identikit Moss Rocket 1:02.8
1995 Magic Of Money Miss Kariba The Heavyweight 1:04.4
1994 Jetball Brawny Spirit Sympose 1:05.0
1993 Sublimate Classic Magic Mookta 1:03.6
1992 Schillaci Friends Venture Euclase 1:03.9
1991 Mr Tiz Varikos With Me 1:04.0
1990 Potrero Select Prince Good Old Ted 1:09.1
1989 Targlish Magic Gleam Ima Carpenter 1:06.7
1988 Snippets Isomer Magic Gleam 1:06.5