horse racing info

Coolmore Classic

The Coolmore Classic is a Group 1 quality handicap race for fillies & mares held annually each March at Rosehill racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales The race is run over a distance of 1500 metres and worth $600,000 in prize money. The 2020 Coolmore Stud Classic was won by Con Te Partiro from Miss Fabulass with Noire third.

The winner of the Coolmore Classic is exempt from ballot for the Doncaster Hcp and the race is held on the first-day of the three-day Golden Slipper Festival at Rosehill during the Sydney autumn racing carnival.

Coolmore Classic info

Date: Saturday 14th March 2020
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1500 metres
Race Type: Fillies & Mares Quality
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $600,000
2020 Winner: Con Te Partiro

The Coolmore Classic is a race for fillies and mares only that is one of only two Group 1 races held for females during the Sydney autumn carnival, the other being the Queen Of The Turf Stakes, which is held on Group 1 ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes day at Randwick.

This race attracts the best fillies & mares available and is always a hotly contested affair with plenty of quality gallopers assembled. The Classic is a handicap event, which theoretically puts the females on equal terms and makes for an exciting race with no real standouts, unless there happens to be an outstanding filly or mare entered.

Some classy females have won the Coolmore, including Typhoon Tracy (2009), Tuesday Joy (2007) and the mighty mare Sunline twice in 2000 & 2002.

Top mare Appearance (2013) was the last galloper to win both the Coolmore Stud Classic & Queen of The Turf Stakes in the same year, while Casino Rose (1999) was the last mare to achieve the double before that.

Dixie Blossoms (2019) finished runner-up in the Group 2 Guy Walter Stakes over 1400m at Randwick before finishing strongly to win this event in quality style for local trainer Ron Quinton.

Recent Coolmore Classic winners include Daysee Doom (2018) and Heavens Above (2017).

2019 Coolmore Classic result

1. $21.00 Dixie Blossoms 56.5 Christian Reith
2. $21.00 El Dorado Dreaming 53.5 Brenton Avdulla
3. $41.00 Princess Posh 55.0 Kerrin McEvoy

then followed
4. $18.00 Mizzy 51.0 Corey Brown
5. $31.00 Aloisia 55.0 Jay Ford
6. $16.00 Oregon's Day 56.0 Michael Walker
7. $26.00 Noire 55.5 Damian Lane
8. $20.00 Invincible Gem 55.0 Jason Collett
9. $17.00 Savatiano 54.0 Adam Hyeronimus
10. $16.00 Manicure 52.0 Robbie Dolan
11. $51.00 White Moss 55.5 Ms Kathy O'Hara
12. $5.00 Jamaican Rain 52.5 Glen Boss
13. $101.00 Savvy Coup 56.5 Opie Bosson
14. $5.00 I Am Serious 55.0 James McDonald
15. $51.00 Eckstein 56.0 Sam Clipperton
16. $51.00 Mandylion 51.0 Andrew Adkins
17. $51.00 Bella Martini 52.0 Jye McNeil
18. $11.00 Moss Trip 52.5 Tommy Berry
19. $17.00 Alassio 55.5 Tim Clark
20. $12.00 Fiesta 53.0 Glyn Schofield

Margins: 2.5 len, 1.3 len
Time: 1:31.97

Bet now on the Coolmore Stud Classic

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Coolmore Stud Classic odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Coolmore Stud Classic winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Con Te Partiro Miss Fabulass Noire 1:35.5
2019 Dixie Blossoms El Dorado Dreaming Princess Posh 1:31.9
2018 Daysee Doom Oregon's Day Silent Sedition 1:28.2
2017 Heavens Above Silent Sedition Danish Twist 1:29.6
2016 Peeping Azkadellia Solicit 1:27.5
2015 Plucky Belle First Seal Diamond Drille 1:29.3
2014 Steps In Time Sweet Idea Catkins 1:28.7
2013 Appearance Red Tracer Norzita 1:28.3
2012 Ofcourseican Secret Admirer King's Rose 1:30.3
2011 Aloha Jersey Lily Melito 1:30.5
2010 Alverta Gold Water Palacio De Cristal 1:28.5
2009 Typhoon Tracy Culminate Gallant Tess 1:29.9
2008 Eskimo Queen Hot Danish Deloraine 1:33.5
2007 Tuesday Joy Doubting Divine Madonna 1:30.7
2006 Regal Cheer Star Shiraz Mnemosyne 1:30.2
2005 Danni Martine Forum Floozie Johan's Toy 1:29.5
2004 Shamekha Private Steer Forum Floozie 1:28.3
2003 Bollinger Lovely Jubly Galapagos Girl 1:29.5
2002 Sunline Gentle Genius Nanny Maroon 1:30.0
2001 Porto Roca Lady Mulan Belle Du Jour 1:28.1
2000 Sunline Beat The Fade Noircir 1:28.8
1999 Camino Rose Bonanova Rainbow Bubbles 1:29.5
1998 Shindig Camino Rose Stella Cadente 1:27.2
1997 Assertive Lass Hello Darl Misty Dawn 1:28.9
1996 Chlorophyll Bionic Bess Shame 1:28.7
1995 Flitter Moment's Pleasure Aragen 1:27.7
1994 Kapchat Mahoenui Lass Flitter 1:31.4
1993 Skating Lovey Tarare 1:29.4
1992 Acushia Marie Let's Hurry Mamzelle Perdu 1:29.7
1991 Quicksilver Cindy Whisked Dual Treasures 1:28.8
1990 Happy Sailing Phillipa Rush A Little Kiss 1:29.9
1989 Red Express Swiftsynd Twining 1:32.0
1988 Strawberry Fair Glory Girl Dinky Flyer 1:29.2