, Queen Of The Turf Stakes - Rosehill - Sydney Autumn Carnival
horse racing info

Queen Of The Turf Stakes

The Queen Of The Turf Stakes is a Group 1 weight-for-age race for fillies & mares held each year in April at Randwick racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres under set weight conditions and worth $1,000,000 in prize money. The 2020 Queen of The Turf Stakes was won by Con Te Partiro from Funstar with Danzdanzdance third.

Moved to the second day of The Championships during the Sydney autumn racing carnival, the Queen Of The Turf Stakes is one of a number of feature races held on the day, with the highlight being the $4 Million Group 1 ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes.

Queen Of The Turf Stakes info

Date: Saturday 10th April 2021
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: Fillies & Mares - Weight for age
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $1,000,000
2020 Winner: Con Te Partiro

The Queen Of The Turf Stakes is a race for fillies & mares only and the weight-for-age conditions gives the better females an advantage, especially if there is an outstanding three-year-old filly in the field.

Generally attracting the best female gallopers going around, the Queen Of The Turf Stakes quite often assembles many of the fillies & mares who contested the recent Group 1 Coolmore Stud Classic earlier in the carnival.

The Coolmore Stud Classic is a handicap event while the Queen Of The Turf is run at weight-for-age race, which suits the better performed mares involved. Appearance (2013) was the last female to win the Queen of The Turf Stakes & Coolmore Stud Classic double in the same year.

Those mares heading north for the Brisbane winter racing carnival may decide to tackles races such as the Group 2 Hollindale Stakes on the Gold Coast in May or the Group 1 Winter Stakes at Eagle Farm in June. Streama (4th in 2014) won the Hollindale Stakes at her next start after finishing fourth in this race, while Red Tracer (2nd in 2013) went on to win the Winter Stakes following her second place finish behind Appearance here.

Kenedna (2019) ran third in the Group 2 Sunline Stakes over 1600m at Moonee Valley in Melbourne before making the trek north to Sydney score an impressive victory for the Ciaron Maher & David Eustace stable.

Recent Queen Of the Turf Stakes winners include Alizee (2018) and Foxplay (2017).

2020 Queen Of The Turf Stakes result

1. $9.00 Con Te Partiro 57.0 Tim Clark
2. $2.50 Funstar 54.5 James McDonald
3. $21.00 Danzdanzdance 57.0 Opie Bosson

then followed
4. $41.00 Delectation Girl 57.0 Jason Collett
5. $17.00 Sweet Deal 57.0 Nash Rawiller
6. $26.00 Noire 57.0 Ms Kathy O'Hara
7. $13.00 Positive Peace 57.0 Adam Hyeronimus
8. $61.00 Invincible Gem 57.0 Ms Rachel King
9. $13.00 Amangiri 57.0 Brenton Avdulla
10. $16.00 Alizee 57.0 Glyn Schofield
11. $91.00 Spanish Reef 57.0 Jay Ford
12. $8.00 Nettoyer 57.0 Glen Boss
13. $19.00 Miss Siska 57.0 Tom Marquand
14. $21.00 Pohutukawa 57.0 Joshua Parr

Margins: 1.8 len, 2 len
Time: 1:39.18

Other group races on Queen Of The Turf Stakes day include the Group 2 Royal Sovereign Stakes, Group 2 Sapphire Stakes and Group 3 Percy Sykes Stakes.

Bet now on the Queen Of The Turf Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Queen Of The Turf Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Queen Of The Turf Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Con Te Partiro Funstar Danzdanzdance 1:39.1
2019 Kenedna Dixie Blossoms Unforgotten 1:35.3
2018 Alizee Prompt Response Heavens Above 1:34.9
2017 Foxplay Zanbagh Dixie Blossoms 1:39.6
2016 Azkadellia Heavens Above Noble Protector 1:35.9
2015 Amanpour Catkins Noble Protector 1:37.7
2014 Diamond Drille Gypsy Diamond Red Tracer 1:35.8
2013 Appearance Red Tracer Streama 1:30.7
2012 More Joyous Miss Keepsake King's Rose 1:28.5
2011 More Joyous Melito Happy Hippy 1:29.2
2010 Typhoon Tracy Illuminates Montana Flyer 1:29.9
2009 Neroli Hot Danish Imananabaa 1:31.2
2008 Forensics Perfect Drop Occurrence 1:31.5
2007 Divine Madonna Cheeky Choice Beauty Watch 1:30.6
2006 Mnemosyne Regal Cheer Shania Dane 1:28.2
2005 Ike's Dream Tui Song Dannu Martine 1:28.7
2004 In A Bound Hec Of A Party Ain't Seen Nothin' 1:28.0
2003 Hosannah Arrabeea Faith Hill 1:27.9
2002 Ugachaka Miss Zoe Snow Hero 1:28.4
2001 Sorrento Poppett Belle Du Jour 1:27.7
2000 Danglissa Glided Angel Zatella 1:28.2
1999 Camino Rose Flickering Fire Staging 1:28.5
1998 Arletty Greeting Camino Rose 1:28.6
1997 Kenbelle Admiring Glances Timeless Winds 1:27.8
1996 Shame Bionic Bess Destruct 1:27.6
1995 Light Up The World Arborea Bionic Bess 1:29.0
1994 The Perfume Garden Lady's Way Flitter 1:29.8
1993 Excited Angel Strokes Romanee Conti 1:27.4
1992 Romance Conti Kinght's Contessa Mamzelle Perdu 1:29.6
1991 Ricochet Rosie Argyle Cut Tessuti 1:28.0
1990 Memphis Blues Just Trish Marathon Star 1:34.1
1989 Special Finish Red Express Graduation 1:32.1
1988 Chez Paree Balmoral Loving Devotion 1:31.8