, WJ Healy Stakes Preview - Eagle Farm - Brisbane Winter Carnival
horse racing info

WJ Healy Stakes

The WJ Healy Stakes is a Group 3 quality handicap race held annually each June at Eagle Farm racecourse in Brisbane, Queensland. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres and worth $175,000 in prize money. The 2019 WJ Healy Stakes was won by Brave Song from Amanaat with Intuition third.

Generally held on the final day of the Eagle Farm racing carnival, the WJ Healy Stakes was held at Doomben for the 2017-18 season, alongside the Gr1 Winter Stakes and Gr3 Tattersall's Cup.

WJ Healy Stakes Stakes info

Date: Saturday 26th June 2021
Track: Eagle Farm racecourse, Brisbane
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Quality Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $175,000
2019 Winner: Brave Song

The WJ Healy Stakes takes place on the final day of the winter carnival and suits improving types who may have got under the handicapper's guard. The race tends to assemble handy local gallopers rather than the upper echelon, although occasionally a quality type may take its place in the field.

Every now and then the WJ Healy Stakes can unearth a more than handy sprinter such as the very classy Hay List (2010) who led all the way to blitz his rivals by 5 lengths in an outstanding performance.

Earlier carnival sprint races run such as the Gr3 BRC Sprint at Doomben or the Gr2 QTC Cup at Eagle Farm could be used as a lead-up race to the WJ Healy Stakes. Both races are run under quality handicap conditions, although over over slightly longer distances than this one

Brave Song (2019) ran second in the QTC Cup over 1200m at Doomben before scoring an impressive victory in this event for the Peter & Paul Snowden stable.

Recent WJ Healy Stakes winners include Spright (2018) and Burning Passion (2017).

2019 WJ Healy Stakes result

1. $3.00 Brave Song 58.0 Blake Shinn
2. $17.00 Amanaat 56.0 Glen Boss
3. $26.00 Intuition 55.0 Jeff Lloyd

then followed
4. $3.60 Victorem 59.0 Ben Looker
5. $201.00 Monsieur Gustave 56.5 Tiffani Brooker
6. $6.50 Isaurian 55.0 Tommy Berry
7. $26.00 Keen Array 54.0 Matthew McGillivray
8. $31.00 Moonlover 54.0 Robbie Fradd
9. $101.00 Freddie Fox Trot 54.0 Sean Cormack
10. $14.00 Whypeeo 54.0 Jim Byrne
11. $15.00 Tactical Advantage 59.0 Michael Cahill
12. $41.00 Split Lip 54.0 Jamie Kah
13. $16.00 Quilista 57.0 Michael Walker
14. $26.00 Alassio 57.0 Tim Clark

Margins: 0.4 len, 0.75 len
Time: 1:10.22

Bet now on the WJ Healy Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best WJ Healy Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

WJ Healy Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Brave Song Amanaat Intuition 1:10.2
2018 Spright Tumbler Havasay 1:09.0
2017 Burning Passion Irish Constabulary Too Good To Refuse 1:09.6
2016 Into The Red Saluter Mogador 1:12.5
2015 Dothraki Target In Sight Rocket To Glory 1:11.3
2014 Big Money Cape Kidnappers Seeking More 1:09.3
2013 Howmuchdoyouloveme River Lad Delago Bolt 1:11.4
2012 River Lad Excellantes Griffon 1:10.0
2011 Pinwheel Metallurgical Swiss Rose 1:09.5
2010 Hay List Pinwheel Ego's Dare 1:08.6
2009 News Alert Wasted Emotions Keano 1:09.3
2008 Nuclear Medicine Rapid Jacko Daunting Lad 1:11.3
2007 The Jackal Sectagonal Flying Alpha 1:09.5
2006 Natural Destiny Starlactic Black Ink 1:10.6
2005 Poetic Papal Takeover Target Lamond 1:09.4
2004 Lamond Sportsman Koochie 1:09.5
2003 Super Elegant Cariboo Super Impressive 1:09.6
2002 Jar Jar Binks Pembleton Treviscay 1:10.4
2001 Citichy Federal Agent Zariz 1:09.2
2000 El Mirada King Lotto Normal Practise 1:09.2
1999 Marstic City Fair Hockney 1:11.5
1998 Quality Kingdom City Fair Mulugwa 1:08.8
1997 Blazing Reality Chief De Beers Notoire 1:14.3
1996 Cangronde Masked Party All Our Mob 1:09.2
1995 Dancing Dynamite Drum Inside Edge 1:09.7
1994 Sublimate Gnusept Bondi 1:09.0
1993 Capestad Bucks Pride Blalocks Bull 1:09.6
1992 Blalocks Bull Baanya Boy Whale Of A Knight 1:10.1
1991 Tinys Finito Rechabite Miss Comanche 1:09.0
1990 McGintys Crown Potrero All Ashore 1:10.8
1989 Clay Hero Temple Front Boasting 1:10.3
1988 Lots Of Rule Rendoo Merry Ruler 1:10.8

The 2017 and 2018 editions of the WJ Healy Stakes were held at Doomben racecourse.